We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating”

Algonquin East Gate Motel
Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Algonquin East Gate Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whitney
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Family run inn that is in need of updating, however we were given a very warm welcome and the room was clean, good position for Algonquin Park.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    30
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zaragoza
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

I spent two nights on Algonquin East Gate Motel last October.
It´s not a 5 star hotel but neither we intended it to be. The rooms are spatious and you can park your car directly in front of the door. Beds and bathroom are confortable and the location is perfect to explore Algonquin Park along highway 60.

Breakfast was delicious and the owner (David) was extremely nice and helpful. His paintings decorate the main room and are quite interesting. We also loved the collection of photographs of Algonquin wildlife.

If I ever go back to Algonquin I don´t have to think about where to stay.

Luis

  • Liked — Location, owner, breakfast
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton, alberta
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2008

I guess they didn't include pictures on their web site on purpose. We rented the housekeeping cabin for three days. It was supposed to sleep four, a double in the main room and a bedroom with two twin beds. Unfortunately, the bedroom was the size of a large broom closet and the slope of the room was such that I was literally rolling out of bed during the night. The door of the bedroom did not shut, offering no privacy, and the bathroom was a toilet and tiny shower stall, with no sink to even brush your teeth. The kitchenette did have a sink, but the taps kept coming off and the appliances appeared unsafe to use. There was no comfortable chairs or couch to relax in after a long day outdoors, and generally, the cabin lacked comfort and was fairly primitive. The sheets and blankets had seen better days, the towels were skimpy, and overall, the only positive thing I can say was that it was very clean and sort of reasonable in price. I would not recommend this to anyone and would not go back there again.

  • Liked — It was clean
  • Disliked — It was not as described, no room, not comfortable - definately no room for four.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 June 2006

Run by a very friendly welcoming husband and wife team. Location ideal for budget accomodation next to the famous Algonquin National Park.
The accomodation was very disappointing as it had definately seen better days. It was small with a very worn looking carpet and shabby furniture and fittings. It was however reasonably clean.
The breakfast room was an improvement on the accomodation and is decorated with David the husbands paintings which are offered for sale - they are very interesting.
Breakfast was fine. There is not really anywhere to eat that is of any better a standard near by which was disappointing. So probably would not return there or recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2005

My wife and I spent two nights at this great family owned/operated motel located just outside the east gates of Algonquin Park. The staff were very helpful and informative regarding things to see and do in the Whitney area.
Home cooked breakfasts are available in the "breakfast room" of the motel, but no other meals are provided. Menus for other restaurants within walking distance are kept at the main desk.
The room we had was basic but clean and nicely decorated.
The owner of the motel is also an artist and his studio is on the premises.
We will definately return!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney
23.0 mi away
Arowhon Pines
Arowhon Pines
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Provincial Park
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mad Musher
The Mad Musher
#5 of 6 in Whitney
13 reviews
17.2 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#1 of 4 in Madawaska
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
106 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
18.6 mi away
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Spectacle Lake Lodge
#3 of 8 in Barry's Bay
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Algonquin East Gate Motel

Property: Algonquin East Gate Motel
Address: Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whitney
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Algonquin East Gate Hotel
Algonquin East Gate Motel Whitney, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing