We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it so much. Booked same time next year at checkout!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Tranquil rustic lakeside lodge and cottages bordering Hay Lake South of Whitney. On a "busy" Canada Day long weekend, saw 4-5 motorboats at one time at most. Most of the time, however, the birdsong, the breeze in in the birches and the sound of my son laughing and playing outdoors was most of what I heard. The spectacular lake views were complimented every morning with the delivery to our cabin of warm croissants, scones, jams, coffee, fresh fruit, coffee and juice. Heated croissants, hot coffee and an unbeatable lake view, sitting lakeside in a comfy muskoka chair, soaking it all in. That's my kind of Canada Day morning.

The cottage was spotless, efficient, fully equipped, and ours had a mini loft, just big enough for two single mattresses for kids. Great "kids only" space. Screened porch, gas barbecue, deck area next to lake with muskoka chairs to lounge, read and soak in the view. You can self cater, or have "room service" - dinners delivered to your cabin. Do as much or as little as you like!

I've stayed at other resorts near or in Algonquin. But for a family with active kids who want to run around, paddle, fish or just lounge (siesta), then end the day with an evening campfire and marshmallow roast, for us, Hay Lake Lodge is the best!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank familyexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed in Cabin 3 for five nights and enjoyed every minute of it. Cabin was well appointed and comfortable, breakfast and the evening meals we ordered were delicious and good value. Everyone was very friendly and we had great fun with the canoes provided. Location was excellent for exploring Algonquin park and the view from the cabin is wonderful, especially first thing in the morning with the mist rising from the lake.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Phil Stead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Our family started going to Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages 2-3 years ago after my sister found it while looking for a spot that was close to both Toronto and Ottawa, but not unlike the ones where we grew up on Rainy Lake in Northwestern Ontario that we might all go and take our Mother. My sister and her partner have been more times than us (they go in the summer for a week and then in the fall for a long weekend). My wife and I have been for two August long weekends in co-ordination with other family members’ visits.
The Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages amenities are superbe with well equipped and perfectly maintained, clean, functional facilities and in keeping with what one might hope to find near Algonquin on a small lake but seem not to find in a complete package. This place is not Four Seasons luxury, but it is a wonderful experience and is best described as “rustic simplicity”. Erin and her team do a fantastic job, including a breakfast each morning with freshly prepared baked goods and service that, in combination with what is there, take you back to a different time when life was uncomplicated and nature was to be savored rather than just passed through on your hurried way to somewhere else.
We look forward to being there again this August….
Derek Cathcart

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YYZGuy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

location is superb, hosts are wonderful yet respect privacy. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newbondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We Stayed for Four Nights at hay Lake Lodge Canon Nr 3 (lakefront) and it was a fantastic Experience. The Cabin was spacious and Cosy at the Same time. It is very well equipped for cooking and the bbq Gas Grill in Front of the cabin was our Favorite.
Breakfast was very very tasty especially the Home made muffins. Every Day this is brought directly to the cabin which makes breakfast with splendid lakeview possible.
Canoeing was included and is Great spent Time. Not far Away from algoquin Park East Gate (about 15 minutes drive).
Thanks to erin and her Staff for spoiling us dring our stay!
We had an Amazing Time

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2007

Beautiful log cabin with our own terrace overlooking a stunning lake. Canoeing and kayaking is included in the price and well worth doing. Really fantastic breakfast with home made muffins and lots more brought to your cabin every morning and you can order dinner if you want to from the main lodge. A short drive from Algonquin national park which is beautiful at this time of year.
Just wish we'd stayed longer than two nights...

Stayed: October 2007
4  Thank KatUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2006

Beautiful log cabin overlooking lake hay. Our cabin opened unto a beuatiful lake view, with 100 yard walk to a lake side decking area.

Find it on the internet, and see for yourself. Very quiet and tranquel place, miles from anything, really nice for a relaxing break....

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank Aaron&Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney
12.8 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#4 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
112 reviews
15.1 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
169 reviews
18.1 mi away
Sunny Hill Resort
Sunny Hill Resort
#1 of 8 in Barry's Bay
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Mad Musher
The Mad Musher
#5 of 6 in Whitney
17 reviews
7.6 mi away
Algonquin East Gate Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages

Address: 903 McRae-Hay Lake Road, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Whitney
Price Range: £128 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naturally relaxing, first-class log Lakefront cottages, ranging in size from one to four bedrooms. Open May-October. All are completely equipped with full kitchens, gas barbecues, decks overlooking the lake and screened porches. Complimentary breakfast delivered to your cabin each morning. Peaceful, on the edge of Algonquin Park. Park Pass included. Canoes and kayaks included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hay Lake Lodge And Cottages Whitney, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing