We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was truly a magical experience. My husband and I were just there on the week-end for a little get away and we loved it. The cabins really are on the lake, each with their privagte own deck on the lake. The place is serene, the cabins are clean, quaint, and comfortable with lots of attention to detail. Nice soap, thick towels, soft sheets. There are comfortable chairs next to the electric fireplace and anything you could want in the kitchen in the way of utensils and dishes. We were in cabin 2 and my only complaint is that the fridge was very noisy....all night long. I am also a princess when it comes to my bed and while the bed (mattress) was adequate it wasn't opulent and it was a wee bit noisy so if your partner moves around at night you will be kept awake. The breakfast was served to us in our cabin and consisted of croissants, muffins, boiled eggs, juice, coffee, yogurt, and fruit, very substantial and good. I would have loved to stay longer and we will next time. This is a wonderful place for a get-a-way with a good book. You can get your supper as long as you give notice in advance that you will be requesting meals. We took great steaks and salads from a local deli and gilled them ourselves on the bbq provided at each cabin. Canoes are provided as well if you don't have your own. We will go back for sure!!!!!

Room Tip: Plan on arriving 5 minutes before check in time and staying until 5 minutes after check out time, do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Tranquil rustic lakeside lodge and cottages bordering Hay Lake South of Whitney. On a "busy" Canada Day long weekend, saw 4-5 motorboats at one time at most. Most of the time, however, the birdsong, the breeze in in the birches and the sound of my son laughing and playing outdoors was most of what I heard. The spectacular lake views were complimented every morning with the delivery to our cabin of warm croissants, scones, jams, coffee, fresh fruit, coffee and juice. Heated croissants, hot coffee and an unbeatable lake view, sitting lakeside in a comfy muskoka chair, soaking it all in. That's my kind of Canada Day morning.

The cottage was spotless, efficient, fully equipped, and ours had a mini loft, just big enough for two single mattresses for kids. Great "kids only" space. Screened porch, gas barbecue, deck area next to lake with muskoka chairs to lounge, read and soak in the view. You can self cater, or have "room service" - dinners delivered to your cabin. Do as much or as little as you like!

I've stayed at other resorts near or in Algonquin. But for a family with active kids who want to run around, paddle, fish or just lounge (siesta), then end the day with an evening campfire and marshmallow roast, for us, Hay Lake Lodge is the best!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank familyexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Cabin 3 for five nights and enjoyed every minute of it. Cabin was well appointed and comfortable, breakfast and the evening meals we ordered were delicious and good value. Everyone was very friendly and we had great fun with the canoes provided. Location was excellent for exploring Algonquin park and the view from the cabin is wonderful, especially first thing in the morning with the mist rising from the lake.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil Stead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Our family started going to Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages 2-3 years ago after my sister found it while looking for a spot that was close to both Toronto and Ottawa, but not unlike the ones where we grew up on Rainy Lake in Northwestern Ontario that we might all go and take our Mother. My sister and her partner have been more times than us (they go in the summer for a week and then in the fall for a long weekend). My wife and I have been for two August long weekends in co-ordination with other family members’ visits.
The Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages amenities are superbe with well equipped and perfectly maintained, clean, functional facilities and in keeping with what one might hope to find near Algonquin on a small lake but seem not to find in a complete package. This place is not Four Seasons luxury, but it is a wonderful experience and is best described as “rustic simplicity”. Erin and her team do a fantastic job, including a breakfast each morning with freshly prepared baked goods and service that, in combination with what is there, take you back to a different time when life was uncomplicated and nature was to be savored rather than just passed through on your hurried way to somewhere else.
We look forward to being there again this August….
Derek Cathcart

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YYZGuy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

location is superb, hosts are wonderful yet respect privacy. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newbondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Austria, Austria
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We Stayed for Four Nights at hay Lake Lodge Canon Nr 3 (lakefront) and it was a fantastic Experience. The Cabin was spacious and Cosy at the Same time. It is very well equipped for cooking and the bbq Gas Grill in Front of the cabin was our Favorite.
Breakfast was very very tasty especially the Home made muffins. Every Day this is brought directly to the cabin which makes breakfast with splendid lakeview possible.
Canoeing was included and is Great spent Time. Not far Away from algoquin Park East Gate (about 15 minutes drive).
Thanks to erin and her Staff for spoiling us dring our stay!
We had an Amazing Time

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

Beautiful log cabin with our own terrace overlooking a stunning lake. Canoeing and kayaking is included in the price and well worth doing. Really fantastic breakfast with home made muffins and lots more brought to your cabin every morning and you can order dinner if you want to from the main lodge. A short drive from Algonquin national park which is beautiful at this time of year.
Just wish we'd stayed longer than two nights...

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank KatUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitney
12.8 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
24.5 mi away
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
7.8 mi away
The Mad Musher
The Mad Musher
#5 of 6 in Whitney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Silver Springs Cottage Resort
22.5 mi away
Footprints Resort
Footprints Resort
#1 of 5 in Bancroft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
23.2 mi away
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
#1 of 2 in Eagle Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages

Property: Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages
Address: 903 McRae-Hay Lake Road, Whitney, Ontario K0J 2M0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Whitney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Whitney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naturally relaxing, first-class log Lakefront cottages, ranging in size from one to four bedrooms. Open May-October. All are completely equipped with full kitchens, gas barbecues, decks overlooking the lake and screened porches. Complimentary breakfast delivered to your cabin each morning. Peaceful, on the edge of Algonquin Park. Park Pass included. Canoes and kayaks included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hay Lake Lodge and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hay Lake Lodge And Cottages Whitney, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing