We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality in a lovely setting”
Review of Ardross House

Ardross House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amberley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardross House
Ranked #4 of 5 Amberley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We happened upon the Ardross House when our plans changed due to the ChCh earthquake. Are we ever glad we found this lovely rural retreat! Michael was a wonderful host and was able to accommodate our last-minute request. We stayed in a large king room with a modern and gorgeous bathroom. There is a little fridge with an electric tea kettle with a large selection of tea, both in the room and in the guest wing. There is a huge sitting room for guests with a large TV (with 40 channels of Sky TV), comfy couches and lots to read - and Michael lit a wonderful fire for us.

The B&B is located on quite a large parcel of land with gardens, chickens and lots of sheep (belonging to the neighbors). The views are fantastic.

Breakfast was served in a large and sunny room. Michael offered us eggs that his chickens laid that morning - talk about fresh and organic! They were delicious with amazing orange yolks. He also had a selection of cereals, yogurt, bacon and homemade organic preserves - my favorite was a tasty rhubarb. You will not leave hungry!

Michael and Kathyn were warm and genial hosts and we had some great conversations with them about the history of the house, good places to eat, etc. They are respectful of your privacy if you don't feel like chatting though. We were sad to leave after only one night. I would not hesitate to return to this charming place!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustMe3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2011

Ardross House is a spacious period home where the guest bedrooms and en suites are larger than most. The charming hosts, Michael and Kathryn, give a warm and friendly welcome making you feel very much at home and relaxed. They serve an excellent breakfast and the evening dinners (by arrangement) are an absolute delight.
We felt very lucky that they were able to accommodate us again at the end of our holiday when because of the devastation in Christchurch we had to make alternative arrangements. It made a very pleasant end to our holiday in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDGYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Our stay was only for one night to break a longer journey but we were warmly welcomed by Kathryn and Michael Ward who have provided comfortable and quiet accommodation in an historic home built in the 1870's. Our room was large and comfortable and provided an extensive rural outlook. A full breakfast in the lounge was excellent and set us up for the day's travel. We would happily recommend this B & B to anybody wanting a longer stay in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roumain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Michael and Kathryn who own this huge historical house are perfect hosts. It's a little bit hard to find, but worth it. Our bedroom was spacious, and beautifully funished. Bath is newly updated, and has everything you need. Breakfast is whatever you want, and generous.

Michael is a railroad buff, having spent most of his working career in railroad management. Both he and Katheryn are interesting conversationalists; just plain fun to talk to.

Accomodation in and around ChCh is a little difficult to find since the 22/2 earthquake, so we were thrilled to find anyplace to stay, but we stumbled into a wonderful situation.

I recommend this highly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joeweiss13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Ardross House is very easy to find - it is right on the main road north out of Christchurch. Surprisingly, it is nestled into the side of the road and the traffic noise is nil. The rooms look out over charming meadows. We breathed in the peace and tranquility.
Hosts Michael and Kathryn were friendly and good cooks to. Brekky was delicious.
The house is beautifully maintained, especially the breakfast room which was very inviting in the morning. We really found it hard to get up from the table.
It is only a two minute drive from town, so it was easy to go to town for dinner and there were many restaurants to choose from.
As gardeners we found the surrounds very interesting, especially the vegie patch.
The only drawback for us was that perhaps the bedrom could have been larger (but the bathroom was huge and very upmarket). Others may find the many stairs a drawback.
Overall, we loved it. We do not normally chose b & b's but on this occasion we are glad we did.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoldestMoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed here for one night in February 2011 and had a very comfortable stay. The house itself is a beautiful building and we were warmly welcomed into the home. The rooms were spacious with good facilities and with beautiful views across the farmland. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and served a delicious breakfast in the morning using eggs from their own hens. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiBets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

i found here a real little paradise ,the house is very nice, the garden full af flowers, and the accomodation is so cosy! And the hostes are very hepfull and smily.
thank you so much!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claire187175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ardross House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardross House

Address: 259 Glasnevin Road, Amberley 7482, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Amberley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Price Range: £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing