We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stop for Waipara wine explorers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ardross House

Ardross House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amberley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ardross House
Ranked #4 of 6 Amberley B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for Waipara wine explorers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Waipara is a fun little place to stop for wine tasting and Ardross house is right smack in the middle of it. Pegasus bay is right there and most vineyard are just a few minutes drive. This is also closer to the only good food in the area which is at Pegasus bay or in Amberley (Waipara is not a town for visitors....) than if you stay closer to Waipara "town" centre.

If you are doing wine stay for two nights. There are many excellent wineries to visit.

Michael and Kathryn are very friendly and helpful hosts. They serve a good breakfast with tasty local ingredients and jams. The rooms are large and in very good condition, as are the bathrooms. There is plenty of space to run around in the grounds, or indoors in the lounge. The old house is also quite the charmer.

If you have children the chickens (about 20 of them) are great fun, as is the lonely alpaca next door and the sheep nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snabelfisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at Ardross House B&B in Amberley from 12 March 2012. We arrived a little late due to a flight delay but Michael and Kathryn gave us a very warm welcome. They suggested that we should quickly make our way to a local restaurant which they rated very highly. The Nor’ Wester Café proved to be a wonderful place to eat so we dined there the next night as well.

Michael said that when they decided to open a B&B, they wanted to get all the really important things right. We found that they have succeeded very well by providing a very friendly B&B that is very clean, has a large modern room with a spacious bathroom and shower. The bed was very comfortable bed and there was no road or rail noise due to the double glazed windows. Michael also provided a delicious breakfast including cereal, juice, jams and tea as well as cooked eggs, bacon, mushrooms and tomato. He also ensured that a gluten free breakfast was available for my wife including Vogel’s bread. The parking was conveniently located off the road inside the fence in the front of the house.

Ardross House is a great place to stay within 40 minutes of Christchurch Airport. We were glad we stayed 2 nights as it is also located in easy driving distance for a day trip to Hanmer Springs which we did the day after we arrived following a recommendation from Michael. It is also ideally located near the Waipara wine district and close to the Mud House and Pegasus Bay wineries which are both worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeACTCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We spent two nights here while exploring the Waipara wine region. The hosts were most genial, informative, and accommodating. The delicious cooked breakfasts were a special treat. Highly recommended, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here on an unscheduled stop over on our Christmas Holidays; great value for money. Our hosts were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was lovely If we ever get a chance to travel back to New Zealand this is a ''Must Stay Accommodation''. Also if you ever stay here and want a quality evening meal in the village, we assure you you will not get better, ask the host for details!!

H & Y

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Expatman1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

When our home was made a disaster area by the February earthquake in Christchurch, Michael and Kathryn came to our rescue with a safe and beautiful place to stay, they put us up in the accomodation normally reserved for their family members because they felt sorry for us. We ended up staying a couple of weeks and moving into one of their delightful rooms with views of fields and mountains from our window. We were also lucky enough to be included in a dinner party our hosts were providing for guests - what can I say the food was amazing you two should open a restaurant. These people are amazing and I am more than happy to recommend them.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

We were traveling all the way from California and had an aggressive itinerary to hit 6 cities across New Zealand and Australia in 13 days. We needed a place to stay between Kaikoura (after our dolphin swim) and on our way to the Christchurch airport. Ardross House was the perfect place. It was right next to the Pegasus Bay Winery & Restaurant which was one of our favorite places to eat on our trip. The Ardross House was conveniently located next to the winery and close enough to the airport for our morning drive to our flight (about 40 minutes). The owners were friendly but also let you rest in private. A perfect combination for a peaceful, amicable stay. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chathill
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

Arduous House is a country house, located on the North Canterbury plain, and is ideally located for Christchurch. The accommodation is comfotable and spacious, with an excellent breakfast provided. Michael and Kathryn were first class hosts and could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukwanderer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
5.8 mi away
Annie's Loft And Studio
Annie's Loft And Studio
#1 of 3 in Waipara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
5.0 mi away
Barb's Place
Barb's Place
#1 of 3 in Waipara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
7.1 mi away
Terrace Lodge
Terrace Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leithfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Dunnolly Cottage
Dunnolly Cottage
#2 of 3 in Waipara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Ardross House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardross House

Property: Ardross House
Address: 259 Glasnevin Road, Amberley 7482, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Amberley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing