We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hosts”
Review of Awen Lodge B&B

Awen Lodge B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amberley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Awen Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Amberley B&B and Inns
melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Meeting Karen and Roger at the end of our holiday in NZ was a real treat. They were wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome. Awen Lodge is located in a peaceful rural setting and our large attic room had everything we could need as well as a beautiful view of the nearby forest and 'monroe'. Excellent breakfast, great conversation and very friendly dogs too! We would definitely recommend Awen Lodge to anyone looking for a good rest and recharge in the Amberley region.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lilac Room which was a large sunny room with modern ensuite, great views and we esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frquntflyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We are very glad that we made the decision to stay at Awen Lodge for the 4 days we were visiting Canterbury for business. Although it meant we had to travel a little further, it is all worth it. The hosts, Roger and Karen and their 2 friendly dogs were very welcoming, made us felt like home at the end of a busy day. The room is luxurious and cozy at the same time, with a nice spacious attached bathroom. We like the relaxing lounge corner with a broad view of the rural setting. Breakfast was generous and thoughtfully prepared. The organic cereals was a nice touch. Will definitely be back to Awen Lodge when we visit Canterbury again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Roger and Karen were great hosts, very friendly and interesting. The room was so warm and welcoming. All the essentials were provided and the room and ensuite were very clean and modern. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The breakfasts were amazing. Roger was very patient and assisted us in finding our way back (over the phone) late one night when we got lost in the forest (even when the GPS didn't know where we were. Karen and Roger even offered to drop us off and pick us up from a party in Waipara, the next night. We politely declined the offer and this time the GPS worked. A nice offer that you wouldn't usually get.
Thanks' Roger for removing the snow from the car before we left.
Thanks to Roger, Karen and two dogs for such great hospitality. One of the better B and B's that we have stayed at.

Room Tip: If you are using a GPS enter the location as Broomfield not Amberley
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monty339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 April 2013

After struggling to find a place to stay in Christchurch Awen lodge saved the day. Roger and Karen were so accommodating and welcoming. The room was lovely and very cosy. Roger and Karen also gave us plenty of information about the South Island and New Zealand in general. Myself and my partner had a great time talking with them, so much so we felt sad to leave the next day. We received an amazing breakfast in the morning after a peaceful, relaxing rest in our room. The shower was fantastic too. Overall it was one of the best places we have stayed in during our travels and I definitely recommend it to anyone who is near Christchurch and needs a place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranTwiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2013

They should rename this the Good Samaritan Lodge. My wife and I, in our 70s, were desperate for a bed in a booked-out Christchurch when we made contact with Awen Lodge. Though closed for the night and on their way to bed, owners Roger and Karen agreed to make a room available after hearing of our predicament, and then waited up for an hour (till 11pm) for our arrival.
That in itself was worth the very modest rate they charged. But as well, we got a lovely comfortable bed with a beautifully-appointed bathroom, plus a leisurely cooked breakfast with the chance to chat with our hosts about all sorts of local issues and things to see and do in this very scenic part of the world. . We can see now why New Zealanders are considered so friendly and helpful. Awen Lodge is a perfect example.
Mike Heard, Sydney

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeH255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

After a long journey to the Land of the long white cloud, I found Awen Lodge to be the perfect antidote. I was picked up from the airport and transported to the wilds of the south island where my pulse rate, after a huge flight returned to normal. In fact, so relaxed and content was I that I sat outside looking out overlooking the stunning vista of Mount Grey in a near continual daydream. Relaxation is the name of the game at Awen Lodge. Karen and Roger, the owners, are lovely and incredibly friendly. Their local knowledge of things to see and do also came in hand when planning our itinerary. I would heartily recommend Awen Lodge for all people looking at either staying in the local area for business or pleasure, I for one, long to return there one day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCM2477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amberley
8.4 mi away
Terrace Lodge
Terrace Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leithfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
9.9 mi away
Barb's Place
Barb's Place
#1 of 3 in Waipara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
9.8 mi away
Annie's Loft And Studio
Annie's Loft And Studio
#1 of 3 in Waipara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Teviot View Accommodation
Show Prices

Been to Awen Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awen Lodge B&B

Property: Awen Lodge B&B
Address: 480 Cramptons Bush Road, Amberley 7482, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Amberley
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Amberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awen Lodge is set in 25 acres of farmland adjoining Ashley Forest in the foothills of the Southern Alps. We offer a full cooked breakfast and are happy to cater for special diets. Situated just 45 minutes north of Christchurch airport we are also ideally placed for day trips to the thermal pools at Hanmer Springs. Sample the award winning wines of the Waipara Valley vineyards and the culinary delights of Amberley’s restaurants, all of which are about a 15 minute drive away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing