We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget with bad attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Arthurs Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arthur's Pass National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Arthurs Chalet
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Budget with bad attitude”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This place is pretty budget which is ok and it might even have been charming if the attitude of the receptionist come waitress come prison warden, hadn't been so awful. I was constantly being berated for misdemeanours including setting off the alarm (and waking herself) at 8am when I went to put luggage in the car. Seems they lock you in and don't allow you to leave the building before 8.30am. So don't dream of taking an early morning walk or anything.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    35
    20
    8
    6
See reviews for
6
59
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The rooms were reasonably sized and comfortable and the friendly atmosphere in the pub made us feel like we were at home. The bed was rather hard and this did not give the best sleep for the night.

Dinner was large and very cheap but this was only in price. The burger was large enough to feed an entire village while the mussels were very nice and well cooked without being overcooked. Seeing the pie that went out to another table showed that the meals were large across the menu.

A continental breakfast was included in the room rate and this had a reasonable variety. Ernie the resident feline was still around at breakfast but is not in the way at all and is very well behaved.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gnuthad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We travelled from the West Coast and were late. We rang the Chalet from one hour away and said we needed a bed - arriving around 10pm. The host said he would stay up for us. We arrived at 10pm to a snowy Arthurs Pass village. The host had kept the cosy bar with open fire and pool table open especially for us. He showed us to our room. The room was clean and warm. It had a little balcony over looking the pretty village. We joined the host for a drink along with some locals. The wine was great and the atmosphere very friendly. In the morning we made tea in the room and there was fresh milk in the fridge down the hall. The bathroom was cold and the hot water pressure was low, so shower was a bit of an issue being luke warm!
That said we had a good sleep and will definitely be using this as a future stop over.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with decent hot water pressure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We spent one night at Arthurs Chalet having arrived at about 5pm with no booking. Staff were very friendly and so was their cat. As other reviewers have mentioned it is in need of a little maintenance in places but overall was good. We had the Pea, Pie, Pud for dinner (homemade Arthurs Chalet pie on a bed of mashed potato surrounded by peas and gravy)....very nice. There were plenty of board games to play and pool. Breakfast was the best continental we had on our 5 day trip down the West Coast and back home so great value for money.
We had the front room (4) and as someone else mentioned it can be noisy if you want an early night as you can hear all the music from the bar. Also the trucks going by from the middle of the night kept waking us up as they rumbled by. Would have been nice to have the fire lit in the dining room in the morning for breakfast but the area was warm.
Would certainly stay again but try and get a room at the back away from the bar and road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayneBlenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

On a day out in the mountains we opted to try Arthurs Chalet for lunch as we hadn't been there for a while. It was only just on lunch time when we went inside. The place was very cold, but the welcome was warm and they were very helpful with my lunch restrictions (Coeliac), though it was determined that all I could have was the Sunday Roast (minus the gravy). The food was lovely, well cooked & hot, but it was all spoilt because the building was so cold.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
122 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Once again trip advisor proved to be spot on. In the middle of the southern Alps, in winter, poor accommodation would have been a disaster. Arthurs Chalet was great. Right from the start when we were picked up from the station to being dropped off there at the end of the stay it was quality. Although the actual Chalet is only a bit up from a "backpackers" it was warm and friendly. We had a room that slept the 3 of us and came with a ensuite. Downstairs were all the essentials ie bar, big fire, pool table lounge area and an outstanding restaurant- seriously the best food in Arthurs Pass-. The prices were really reasonable for everything and great value for money. It was a great time- even the snow arrived on cue.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the nearby hiking is fantastic. The food was delicious - try the seafood chowder! The pub and restaurant have a relaxed atmosphere and are a great place to meet the locals. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. When my husband needed medical care for his sciatic pain, they quickly found a rural nurse to help. What an excellent place to start our two-week trip in New Zealand!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
0.8 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
238 reviews
4.9 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
180 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
61 reviews
24.2 mi away
Aldamere Lodge
Aldamere Lodge
#1 of 3 in Moana
69 reviews
23.7 mi away
Lake Brunner Lodge
Lake Brunner Lodge
#666 of 1,015 in South Island
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthurs Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthurs Chalet

Property: Arthurs Chalet
Address: 131 Main Highway, SH73, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthurs Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation, Restaurant - open daily for lunch and dinner, Cafe and Bar with big screen TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arthurs Chalet Hotel Arthurs Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing