We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best private hotel in New Zealand. Awesome malt whisky collection too.”
Review of Grasmere Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grasmere Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“The best private hotel in New Zealand. Awesome malt whisky collection too.”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This is how hotels should be run. It's centred on the extended main house of a working sheep station in an area, as the name implies, like the UK's Lake District.

Tom and the team upgraded us from a basic room to the owners's house where we were accommodated in the most luxurious surroundings with breathtaking views, particularly from the bath, and our own private golf buggy for getting around the station. "Help yourself to wines and spirits in the room" which we did, without taking the mickey.

Dinner menus are discussed at breakfast with the chef. Breakfast itself is very sustaining, so much so we ate only fruit for lunch. Lovely walks around the station and a nice sheltered private heated pool. Tom does a Land Rover mounted tour around Lake Grasmere and the station down to Cass and its rail head and back. Look out for the Rata trees that give the trees a red sugar icing look and are quite special.

Dinner (lamb available!) is like a private dinner party for eight in the lodge's dining room with lovely Kiwi wines and fascinating conversations with the mainly US guests. After dinner have few drams of single malt (from a really awesome collection that would not disgrace Speyside) in the tartan-carpeted bar and snug, just like a shooting lodge in the Scottish Highlands.

Our only regret, we only had two nights on our sixty day round the world stay!



yourself to

Room Tip: Book a basic room and keep your fingers crossed for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Defiance, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

If you haven't noticed, this isn't a cheap deal, but if you want to splurge anywhere in New Zealand, this would be the spot.

We took the train from Christchurch which was a joy in itself and off loaded at Cass. Cass is a "town" near the Lodge that has one full time resident and a train station that looks like it has been there a while. Interestingly, we later discovered that one of NZ's most famous paintings was of that train station. The painting was created in 1941 and little has changed.

As others have mentioned, Tom was waiting for us in his Range Rover and with bags loaded we were off for two glorious days of horse back riding, hiking, fabulous meals, good company and rest and blissful sleep.

How relaxed is the atmosphere? On our second morning, we awoke and looked out our window to see Agnes and Clyde our horses from the previous days ride munching on grass next to our patio. We opened the sliding glass door and Agnes sauntered over for a pat on the nose.

Our trip to the South Island was over three weeks long. We didn't see everything and there are some things we wouldn't redo, but if we return we will spend time at Grasmere.

Jack and Lois

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackandlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We really enjoyed ourselves at Grasmere. The accommodations were beautiful and the hills and mountains that you overlook with the cows and sheep are just astounding. Everyone makes you feel right at home and any special requests were handled with ease. You couldn't get much better. It was a perfect place to relax, do some horseback riding, hike, and take in the beauty of the area with great food and wine.We would highly recommend spending time at Grasmere.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We were met at the train by Tom, the owner of Grasmere, and in very few minutes our bags were loaded and we were on our way. When we drove up the long driveway I had a feeling we were in for something special and we were not disappointed. Jo, the manager, met us at the door of the lodge, told us we would be in the chalet and told us about the lodge. She asked about any requests, food restrictions or desires for special service. The chalet was beyond expectations..large bedroom, sitting area, deck, bath and closet space, a complimentary mini bar, free wifi, etc. Dinner that night was a delicious three course meal cooked to perfection and breakfast the next day was the same as were the meals during the next day. We were taken for a four wheel drive tour of the property and had a variety of options for activity.. The pool was the perfect temperature and we enjoyed the hilltop location. We also explored Arthur's pass with a guide at a nominal cost and enjoyed luxurious treatments in the spa..when we reluctantly left after a great two day stay I realised I had forgotten a very important package. I emailed Jo and she promptly posted it to our next destination. Service above and beyond and an unforgettably good experience over all.

Room Tip: I think if you describe the type of room you want Tom and Jo will do their best to make you happy..I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucille G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

The South Island of New Zealand doesn't get any nicer than this. Surrounded by lakes and mountains, Grasmere Lodge is perfectly situated to enjoy the breathtaking landscape, excellent food, and an introduction to a sheep station. There are hikes, kayaking, horseback riding, and fishing options. For those so inclined, massage therapy is available as are great spots for reading and relaxing. This is a first class lodge with great hosts.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug41099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

My husband and I stayed at Grasmere on our 3 week honeymoon odyssey to New Zealand and Australia in November of 2012. Over the course of our trip we stayed at 13 different hotels, resorts and B&Bs all around the 2 countries. At the end we asked each other what our favorite place of the entire honeymoon was and we both agreed without hesitation - Grasmere was it!
It was so different than we expected – more luxurious, more small and intimate. We were extremely fortunate to find that during our midweek stay we were the only guests there and we were given a complimentary upgrade to a private cabin with the most extraordinary, breathtaking views we have ever beheld. The fact that the owner Tom did this for us really meant so much to us, being it was the first place we were staying on our honeymoon. It really showed the character of the ownership- generous and eager to please, as we found out in more detail as our stay went on. We absolutely felt like celebrities with Tom catering to our every need, treating us as friends and hosting us before the most wonderful intimate and delicious dinners every night by a roaring fire. We felt like we had our own private chef to wait on us hand and foot. The food was incredible from breakfast to dinner and the little details were not overlooked. Tom also gave us a 4wd tour of the property which was a wonderful time and we really appreciated that they do this for their guests. In our leisure time we hiked around the property, absolutely worth it, and opted for a horse trek with Heather. Our horseback ride was THE HIGHLIGHT of our entire honeymoon. The scenery was so gorgeous that I actually had to pinch myself in spots to appreciate that it was actually real and we were actually there. Heather was the best guide, knowing every inch of the land and more importantly, she was able to gauge our comfort level perfectly to cater the ride to it. She took us through the ponds (asking us first) which was absolutely thrilling, and let us try cantering. It was so much fun and so memorable. We cannot recommend Grasmere more- the experience is worth every penny and our only regret was that we could not stay longer!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Tom and his staff are remarkably friendly and efficient. The service and food were great and the surrounding landscape is magnificent. Great place to chill out or enjoy the outdoor activities. The tour of the farm and surrounding area is very interesting

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
11.4 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
12.1 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
12.5 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
21.3 mi away
Springfield Motel & Lodge
Springfield Motel & Lodge
#1 of 2 in Springfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
24.0 mi away
Lake Coleridge Lodge
Lake Coleridge Lodge
#2 of 10 in Methven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Lodge

Property: Grasmere Lodge
Address: State H'way 73 Near Arthur's Pass Canterbury | Private Bag 55009, Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grasmere Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Grasmere Lodge is at the heart of an operational 6,000 hectare grand pastoral station (ranch) surrounded by stunning alpine scenery. 100% purely Kiwi owned and operated Grasmere has been a proud member of Small Luxury Hotels since 1995. The 150 year old Homestead houses character rooms such as the library, lounge, bar and evening dining rooms. Thirteen guest rooms spread through the lodge, chalet and cottage boast panoramic views of lakes, rivers or rugged mountains. Meals feature the best of New Zealand produce and may include farm-raised venison, lamb or salmon or regional delicacies in season, such as whitebait from the West Coast. They are accompanied by an extensive wine list, which comprises award-winning New Zealand wines, including a number from the local Canterbury region. Carefully trained staff embody traditional southern hospitality, and are well-informed about the region and all it offers. From the lodge enjoy horseback riding, walking, kayaking, mountain biking, clay bird shooting or taking part in the daily 4WD station tour. Relax and rejuvenate in Mountain Spa or by the heated outdoor swimming pool. Gin-clear streams and lakes challenge the fly-fisherman while scenic flights from the airstrip entertain further afield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grasmere Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing