We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful lodge with much more”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Arthur's Pass National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a great room with a lovely view. The best thing was no t.v. on site. Peaceful stay. Second best was the free laundry room. Needed to do laundry and even the powder was included. Third best was the food. Very nice presentation, great taste, good portions and nice variety. Dinner menu changes nightly. You need to slow down and enjoy the outdoors in this great enviornment. Clare and Micheal are lovely siblings running this hideaway. Guided walks are offered, some free and some at a cost NO need to spend on the ones that cost if you can read the well placed signs along the tracks. However, the guided walks that are included are fun and informational. Michael's sheep sheering demo is wonderful. Go and have some peaceful fun.Only suggestion for improvement is Wi Fi. It is very restrictive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the tracks. Upstairs the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Computernana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Computernana,

Thanks for taking the time to share your Wilderness Lodge Experience. We appreciate that, while not particularly exciting, doing the washing is a necessary part of travelling and at both New Zealand’s Wilderness Lodges we make a point of providing complimentary laundry facilities.

It is excellent that you made the most of the activities and walking options on offer. We realize that the WiFi is quite slow and that this can be frustrating. Unfortunately the reality in remote New Zealand is that the only option for connecting to the internet is via a private satellite link and this does come with some limitations.

I will pass on your positive feedback on the food to our head chef.

Kind regards,

Michael McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Not only are the facilities first class, but what made this stay so special was Michael McSweeney, the manager, and his sister. Also, the meals were especially noteworthy. We had just come off a cruise ship the day before and were used to great food, but we were amazed at the wonderful quality of the meals served in the lodge's dining room. Another highlight was Michael and his sheep dogs rounding up the sheep and showing us how he shears them with a hand (not electric) clipper. We spent two nights there and wish we could have stayed longer. Michael also took us star gazing one clear night and pointed out the "Southern Cross". We stayed in a number of lodges in New Zealand, but this was the best.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gitanherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Gitanherm,

Greetings from the Southern Alps and many thanks for your review. It is an honour sharing what we do with our guests and we’re glad you enjoyed the food, the activities and exploring the property. Our chefs do a brilliant job in the kitchen and especially enjoy using fresh produce from the farm. Our guides love to share the area with visitors and sheepdogs Meg & Tess take great pleasure in showing off their shepherding skills on the ‘sheep farm discovery walks’ offered every second afternoon.

We hope the rest of your New Zealand travels were a success.

Best Wishes,

Michael & Claire McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

You know that when you walk in the door for the first time and the person behind the desk greets you by name that you've arrived in a good place.
This place is well named; it's not near anything else. It (the resort, not the farm) has two main buildings. The main lodge has a large, comfortable lounge, the dining area, the bar, and a library. There are many nature books, which is in keeping with the natural theme of the place. The other building is four suites (more about that below). The resort is on the side of a mountain, and in the middle of a large, working sheep ranch. It's modern, lovely, well maintained, and a very nice place to spend a couple of days. There is no TV or radio, and limited internet access, which is fine.
The best thing about the place is the people. It's run by siblings, Michael and Claire. Everyone who works there lives up to the steretype of New Zealanders: they are friendly and helpful. Michael is very knowledgeable and he runs the nature ativities.
You get breakfast and dinner with your room, and they are so big and good that I easily did without lunch. The lamb that's on the menu everyother night is from the farm.
There are scheduled activities every day (some free ad some at additional cost). There's bird watching before breakfast, walks before dinner, and star gazing at night.
The suites in the second building are exceptionally nice and large. The king sized bed is on a raised platform so you get a wonderful view of the mountains out the two huge windows. The bathroom towel bar is heated. There is a spa tub in the bathroom.
This is a great place to put away your car keys and computer access, and just relax a couple of days. We found this resort on of the most exceptional places we've stayed.

Room Tip: In the suite, ask for room 21 or 22. In the main lodge, ask for an upstairs room. Those rooms have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustJohnPortageMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear JustJohnPortageMI,

Thanks very much for sharing your Wilderness Lodge experience with the TripAdvisor community. It was a pleasure hosting you and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We work hard to make sure that every aspect of what we offer our guests is special and hopefully we succeed in this. We would love to see you back again if you ever return to this part of the world.

Warm regards,

Claire and Michael McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were only there for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. Every aspect of a "lodge" environment was above what I would have imagined. The staff, the meals, the views, and the hospitality were all exceptional. Hopefully, we will again one day visit The Wilderness Lodge in Arthur's Pass, New Zealand. What a treat!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 656debbieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear 656debbieg,

Thanks for your review and if you do return to New Zealand one day we would love to host again. Hopefully next time you can spend a little longer with us!

Kind wishes,

Michael & Claire McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We (family of four) enjoyed the many personal touches that Michael and team displayed during our 2 day stay. Food, room, ambiance, walks in the woods and sheep shearing experience made the entire stay very relaxing and enjoyable for all. Hard to go wrong with a stay at This Wilderness Lodge with the personal approach and engagement that Michael and Claire display throughout.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Tom D,

It was a pleasure hosting you and having the chance to help make your family holiday special. The 'Wilderness Lodge Experience' combines excellent food, comfort and warm hospitality with guided nature and sheep farm adventures and it great to receive feedback from guests who appreciate this combination. We work hard to make sure all our guests receive personal attention even during the busy holiday period.

Hope to see you again one day!

Claire & Michael McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

What a great place to stay in the Arthur's Pass area. The lodge, rooms, views, food and hospitality were all wonderful. We were torn between hanging out in our comfy room or exploring outdoors. The highlight just may have been watching the sheepherding. Border collies Tess and Meg did not disappoint and Michael was an awesome guide. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gberkowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Gberkowitz,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the comfort, food and wild setting of the Wilderness Lodge and that exploring the merino sheep farm was a highlight. We'd love to host you again and the sheepdogs Meg and Tess would love to have you back one day.

Kind Wishes,

Michael McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay if you want to get away from it all. Nestled in the woods, in the middle of the mountains, the lodge is a perfect place to get in touch with nature. The view from the lobby is amazing. While we were there, it was raining most of the time but every now and again the sun comes out to a breath taking view.

The rooms are clean and quite comfortable. Please note that there is no TV in the rooms or in the lobby and internet is only accessible in the lobby.

The food is very good. The lamb they offered was from their own farm which is absolutely delicious. The area is perfect for hiking, there are many different trails you can take.

The hosts were super helpful, they made our stay more remarkable. They were helpful in every way possible and catered to our needs.

I highly recommend this place if you are in the area, this is a must do in the southern island.

Room Tip: The private lodges offer more privacy with larger space and a bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmansouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear hmansouri,

Thanks for sharing your Wilderness Lodge experience with the Tripadvisor community. It was a pleasure hosting you and have the opportunity to help make your honeymoon special. We were all very impressed by how you didn't let a little rain stop you from kayaking, hiking and exploring with chief nature guide Nicky.

I have passed on your positive comments about the food to our chef.

Warm Regards,

Michael McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arthur's Pass National Park hotels
7.3 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
261 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
190 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Grasmere Lodge
Grasmere Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
78 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass

Address: Cora Lynn Road | 16km east of Arthurs Pass Village, Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range: £257 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish accommodation, fine food, and an exciting and diverse programme of guided nature and sheep farming adventures in the heart of the Southern Alps. The lodge sits on a 4000 acre working sheep farm and nature reserve, surrounded by the peaks of Arthur's Pass National Park. Guests can unwind in comfort or choose more active relaxation. Explore private trails or join an expert guide to hike alpine valleys, search for wildlife, and kayak upon mountain lakes. A highlight for guests are the sheep farm discovery trips every second afternoon. Join a farmer guide to watch sheepdogs working, hand feed lambs and learn about sheep shearing and merino wool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass Hotel Arthurs Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing