We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but a unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our particular room had an amazing view. We took a wilderness trek with Nicky and found it well worth the time. She is an amazing resource of information. The meals were first rate and well presented. Michael gave the guests a tour of the sheep farm and performed a shearing with a very cooperative sheep who left none the worse for losing its coat. Is it expensive, yes and we could probably have saved some money at a venue in the area. But, I believe unique experiences are worth the occasional splurge. This lodge was worth the extra fees spent.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Murray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Murray R,

Thanks for posting your review here on TripAdvisor. We always like to hear from guests who have enjoyed their time with us. I will pass on your positive comments regarding the food to head chef Jonny and let nature guide Nicky know that you really enjoyed your day spent exploring with her.

Offering a comprehensive and high quality experience in a wilderness location does mean that a stay at the Wilderness Lodge costs more than a roadside motel or large city hotel. We appreciate that in your opinion the experience provided value-for-money.

Kind wishes,

Michael & Claire McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

One of the many highlights of our trip to the South Island was a night at Wilderness Lodge. It is a beautiful place, the food was excellent, the room was great and the tour of the sheep operation was wonderful. Next time we will stay for a few nights and use this as a base for the many outdoors activities in the area.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary_Gotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Gary_Gotto,

Glad to hear your South Island travels were a success and that your Wilderness Lodge stay was a part of this. Combining quality accommodation, hospitality, food and guided activities in a remote location does have its challenges but also offers rewards in terms of providing guests with a memorable wilderness experience.

We really like sharing what happens on the Wilderness Lodge sheep farm with our guests. As a visitor getting the chance to experience life on a real working farm, meet the merino sheep and watch the sheepdogs work is often a highlight so it’s great that you enjoyed this.

We’d love to host you for a few days next time if you do return.

Best wishes,

Michael and Claire McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Claire and Michael certainly gave us a warm welcome along with the rest of the staff.
Room perfect, spacious with a glorious view of the mountains with an added touch of a fresh arrangement picked from their surroundings. Terrific shower and room service.!
Michael's evening walk was a wonderful way to start our visit and experience this incredible property.
I was rather sick with a terrible cold and missed out on most of the hiking. Claire took very good care of me serving tea and making me comfortable.
Sheep farm is incredible....Dinners were gourmet. Wonderful lodge. You will enjoy yourself!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Sandyj70,

Thanks for taking the time to review your Wilderness Lodge stay. We know from personal experience that being unwell while travelling is never much fun, so we’re glad we could help you to be more comfortable. It was great that you were still able to get out and enjoy yourself!

Warm Regards,

Claire & Michael McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We liked everything about this lodge. We were warmly welcomed by Michael and Clare and all of the other staff. We stayed in one of the Alpine Huts (I think that's what they are called) and loved the comfort and the quiet. A particular highlight were the hikes with Nikky who was both enthusiastic and very knowledgable. We went out with her five times. They make the most of their unique environment and it was impressive to see how well they care for it and the creatures who live on it. Michael taught us a lot about caring for and shearing sheep. The food was very good, with a good selection of wines. It got a bit crowded near the end of our stay as two separate groups arrived but this was handled in a way that did not at all disturb our stay. This is a location and an experience we will recommend very highly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleo5244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Cleo5244,

We really appreciate your comments – it doesn’t get much better than hearing our guests say “We liked everything about this lodge”! The guided nature and sheep farm activities are a highlight of a Wilderness Lodge stay and it’s great that you managed to participate in a number of these and learn something along the way.

Kind wishes and we hope we can host you again one day.

Michael & Claire McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Arthurs Pass lodge is located in the mountains in a beautiful setting. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. The food was the best we had in NZ, both breakfast (don't miss the pancakes!) and dinner (both included in the price).
Best of all was the exceptional hospitality by Michael and Claire, the proprietors. They are so helpful and friendly! The day we arrived we missed the activity of visiting the sheep farm on the premises. The next day, instead of the scheduled walk, Michael offered to give another tour, and this was approved by the other guests on the tour. It was an absolute highlight: enlightening, interesting a fun (with the help of sheep dog Maggie).
We couldn't recommend this place highly enough. I would give it more than 5 stars if I could!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Mayasl,

Thanks for taking the time to share your Wilderness Lodge experience with the TripAdvisor community. It is great to hear we succeeded in making your stay with us a memorable one. Glad we could share our special part of the world with you and that you managed to join us to discover the Wilderness Lodge sheep farm.

Kind wishes,

Claire and Michael McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights and everything was excellent - room, food, staff, location. There are lots of walks in the area in all sorts of landscapes. And we did see a lot of different birds.

The reason for the 'But...' however is that we are not 100% sure about their actual eco-credentials despite all the words in the literature. During a walk we discovered a pit full of bottles and cans and when we asked were told that they dumped them rather than recycle. Of course this will not be relevant to many who stay at the hotel buy we found it disappointing and contradictory.

Room Tip: our room was on the first floor and we had great views from it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peb747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Peb747,

Thanks for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, the food and the location of the Wilderness Lodge (as well as the birds). Thank you also for raising the question about recycling as conservation and the environment are at the core of what we do.

The Wilderness Lodge holds a prestigious ‘Enviro-Gold’ award under the New Zealand hospitality rating system and in 2012 was chosen by CNN as one of the world’s top ten eco-hotels. Half of the 6000 acre Wilderness Lodge farm has been protected as a nature reserve and we actively involve our guests in practical conservation work.

Waste management is also important and we run a comprehensive waste reduction and recycling programme. In New Zealand there is limited demand for recycled glass due to the country’s sparse population and limited industry. As such glass ‘bottle banks’ such as ours are commonly used as a temporary storage solution. This allows enough glass to be collected so that economies of scale can allow for its reuse. Typically this involves crushing to create material that can be used in road construction etc.

I hope this clarifies things and our apologies for not explaining this at the time.

Best Wishes,

Michael McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had a great room with a lovely view. The best thing was no t.v. on site. Peaceful stay. Second best was the free laundry room. Needed to do laundry and even the powder was included. Third best was the food. Very nice presentation, great taste, good portions and nice variety. Dinner menu changes nightly. You need to slow down and enjoy the outdoors in this great enviornment. Clare and Micheal are lovely siblings running this hideaway. Guided walks are offered, some free and some at a cost NO need to spend on the ones that cost if you can read the well placed signs along the tracks. However, the guided walks that are included are fun and informational. Michael's sheep sheering demo is wonderful. Go and have some peaceful fun.Only suggestion for improvement is Wi Fi. It is very restrictive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the tracks. Upstairs the views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Computernana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawaki, Owner at Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Computernana,

Thanks for taking the time to share your Wilderness Lodge Experience. We appreciate that, while not particularly exciting, doing the washing is a necessary part of travelling and at both New Zealand’s Wilderness Lodges we make a point of providing complimentary laundry facilities.

It is excellent that you made the most of the activities and walking options on offer. We realize that the WiFi is quite slow and that this can be frustrating. Unfortunately the reality in remote New Zealand is that the only option for connecting to the internet is via a private satellite link and this does come with some limitations.

I will pass on your positive feedback on the food to our head chef.

Kind regards,

Michael McSweeney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
7.3 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
258 reviews
6.5 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
188 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
68 reviews
23.4 mi away
Lake Coleridge Lodge
Lake Coleridge Lodge
#1 of 4 in Darfield
45 reviews
5.7 mi away
Grasmere Lodge
Grasmere Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass

Address: Cora Lynn Road | 16km east of Arthurs Pass Village, Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range: £270 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy stylish accommodation, fine food, and an exciting and diverse programme of guided nature and sheep farming adventures in the heart of the Southern Alps. The lodge sits on a 4000 acre working sheep farm and nature reserve, surrounded by the peaks of Arthur's Pass National Park. Guests can unwind in comfort or choose more active relaxation. Explore private trails or join an expert guide to hike alpine valleys, search for wildlife, and kayak upon mountain lakes. A highlight for guests are the sheep farm discovery trips every second afternoon. Join a farmer guide to watch sheepdogs working, hand feed lambs and learn about sheep shearing and merino wool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass Hotel Arthurs Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing