We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
15
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
2
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2017

Super lovely to arrive at rata lodge after a long day's drive. Small enough to have a yarn with all the guests, great price, well supplied kitchen and super comfy beds! Solid dvd collection for the rainy night!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauraellenmelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and the place is just lovely. There is hitting in the rooms, a very clean kitchen with a variety of kitchenware. Also a nice lounge with tv and dvds!

The hostess is very nice! Always available, and welcoming! Recommend this for backpackers!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank 37halel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Such a lovely place to stay! The owners are incredibly lovely and very accommodating! They took great care to make our group feel at home when we arrived and we had the place to ourselves which was a real treat! Great kitchen set up! Solid as WiFi! And beautiful scenery ☺ wish we could have stayed longer! Thanks!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank 177fairyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Neat and tidy rooms. New ensuite, great hosts. Wifi a bit sketchy but you get that.

About 10-15km west of Arthur's pass on a hillside by itself.

Have a beer at the Otira pub down the road, it's an experience!

.......................................

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We stayed for one night at the beginning of November in the double ensuite. Quite small room, but clean and equipped with everything you need (even had a TV). We made good use of the heater. When we arrived, nobody was there, but the keys and a very friendly note welcomed us. We had the whole hostel to ourselves, so we enjoyed the common room. They have some boardgames, books, a small kitchen and a big gas heater. The location is really cool. You are in the middle of Arthur's Pass NP and if you decide to stay longer (which I would definitely recommend), you can explore the NP. There is a Glowworm Walk just behind the Hostel.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiriamNiessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews