We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained and clean cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Well maintained and clean cabin”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The cabin is very clean and the price is good. We first stayed in cabin #3 (the medium size one) and asked to see the bigger one that comes with a gas fireplace, cabin #5. Glad we switched as the cabin with the fireplace warmed up very quickly. Although they have 2 other portable heaters to use but we didn't need to use them. The beds were nice and firm, very comfortable (in both cabin). The shower water pressure was very weak in cabin #5 but was good in cabin #3. There's a portable electric stove with 2 burner. Cabin #3 came with 2 queen beds and cabin #5 came with 1 queen bed and 2 twin beds. Dining table with 4 chairs. Microwave, electric kettle, small refrigerator, TV and DVD player. We brought our e-readers so we didn't really watch TV after we hiked all day. We received 2 free internet coupons from Grant (the owner, a super nice guy) worth NZD$5 each from Zenbu (internet provider) for only 50 MB each. Barely enough to check your emails. You can purchase additional 50MB for NZD$5. Internet reception was not bad surprisingly, just not cheap. The train noise didn't bother us at all. I'm a light sleeper and it's not a big deal. It's not like they run every hours, just a few times a day and less at night.

Room Tip: Get the cabin with a fireplace, especially when the weather is cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World Passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    105
    27
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
147
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here on our way from Franz Josef to Kaikoura during our tour of New Zealand. The Alpine Motel is a small chalet park in Arthur’s Pass National Park on the side of Highway 73 in Arthur’s Pass Village. There isn’t a lot of accommodation to choose from but we were very satisfied with our chalet. Although we were only 2, I chose a family unit to sleep 4, for the extra space.

The chalet was very clean and comfortable with two bedrooms (1 all in with dining/kitchenette), settee, table & chairs and a big kitchenette. The TV looked a little precarious perched on a bracket but it was fine and we even borrowed a DVD to watch. The shower room was a little on the small side and a bit spartan but there was plenty of hot water and that’s the main thing. Free wifi is provided.

The setting is wonderful as you are surrounded by mountains; the only thing that might bother some people is the proximity to the railway. If you are the sort of person who is easily disturbed at night, then don’t stay in Arthur’s Pass Village as the railway passes all the way along the village and trains run at night. We soon got used to them though and they didn’t wake us up.

As previous reviewers have pointed out, there aren’t many facilities at Arthur’s Pass Village, so make sure you fill up with petrol and either bring provisions or be prepared to eat early. We ate at the Wobbly Kea and it was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Considering the village consists of 4 places to sleep and 3 to eat, there isnt much choice you have. The hotel itself was quite clean and comfortable, if slightly old. As the earlier reviews have said, it's very close to the rail tracks and the Trans Alpine runs all night.
Also, if you are planning to come into the Arthurs pass late at night, beware! Nothing is open after 8pm or before 8am. So, carry food. Like me, you might almost die otherwise!
The hotel also has a small kitchenette, so if you are cutting across the island, make sure you at least pick up some groceries.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Global_Traveller_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012 via mobile

Found the accommodation clean and adequate if rather dated. Not a place for light sleepers as the main line greymouth to christchurch passes very close and he Kiwi Rail night coal trains are frequent and noisy. The only type of kiwi likely to be seen.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Okay so these may not be the newest cabins, but they have lots of character. If they were brand new somehow I think they would be less attractive. The fact that they feel lived in (some have wood fires) means that you kinda look forward to settling under the blankets and staying all toasty and warm when it is sooo cold outside. There is a little kitchenette, bathrooms are on the smaller side (but have everything you need), and beds are comfy. I didn't notice any road noise and yes as others have noticed the occasional diesel train comes past but really, they are so loud the WHOLE valley hears their dull rumble. Anyway, my wife and I enjoyed staying here and would happily do so again. Rates were very decent.

Room Tip: Get one with the log fire if you can (in winter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This motel is really better than average but not quite very good. The staff are excellent. The cabin was very clean, even the windows were spotless. The views are great although the cabins are close to the road. There is some traffic during the day but none at night so noise is not an issue. Trains pass from time to time but we found this interesting rather than annoying. The cabins are 60s vintage I would say. My only gripe was that there was a queen bed in the lounge of our one bedroom cabin, plus two single beds in the bedroom. This left little room in the lounge for other furniture and the TV was suspended from the ceiling in rather an alarming way. That aside, there isn't much accommodation at Arthurs Pass and I think this is the best of it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizfromNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

The people were great from booking to leaving nothing can be faulted. They have dvds and books for hire and told us about all the locations and things to do in Arthurs Pass. Weather was rough but that made the stay all that much better, the rooms were warm and cozy and cooking facities were great as well. Had a blast. The parking even had room for our massive Dodge car.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Havick007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
0.8 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
186 reviews
8.0 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
66 reviews
23.4 mi away
Aldamere Lodge
Aldamere Lodge
#1 of 3 in Moana
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Lake Brunner Lodge
Lake Brunner Lodge
#700 of 1,039 in South Island
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel

Property: Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Address: 13969 West Coast Road | Arthur's Pass Village, Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High in the Southern Alps, nestled amongst mountains and beech forest, is Arthur's Pass Village. A comfortable two hour drive from Christchurch, Arthur's Pass offers some of the best unspoilt hiking and scenery in New Zealand. The hiking/walking tracks vary from a one-hour walk up to the Punchbowl Falls, to a multi-day hike in the mountains.Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, conveniently situated in the village, offers fantastic self contained Motel accommodation, complete with your own bathroom and kitchen. A recent upgrade has seen the installation of double glazed windows and doors to the majority of our units to increase warmth and decrease noise. We also offer free WIFI. Our warm, cosy cabins (some with gas fires) sleep 1-5 people. With a hotel and restaurant a short walk from our motel, it is the perfect location to base yourself for some leisurely walking and tramping, or a hike up to Avalanche Peak for a grand view of the Southern Alps. You can even meet some cheeky kea or listen to the kiwi call at night. Your hosts and owners, Pete and Fi Neale, have a wealth of knowledge about the area, having holidayed in the area for the past 40+ years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthur`s Pass Alpine Hotel Arthurs Pass
Arthurs Pass Alpine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing