We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Spent 1 night here, would definitely be back. Such a relaxing and beautiful spot. Simple cosy rooms with a nice feel. Excellent service. DVDs to choose from, which was a welcome touch on the rainy night we stayed there. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 546mariannee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

Pete and Fiona were incredible hosts. They provided excellent hiking advice, they assisted in our every need, and they were attentive to detail. The accommodation itself was a perfect fit for us, a couple and our adult daughter, with two separate rooms. We had a beautiful gas fireplace, kitchen, dining table, skylight and deck. We highly recommend! Thank you, Pete and Fi, for a perfect first night in New Zealand.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front cottage. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Small motel operation in a great location; in the middle of Arthurs Pass National Park, with a lot of mountain scenery and hiking trails. Our cabin was rustic; but had all the amenities we needed to be comfortable. The gas fireplace and electric blankets kept us warm; the beds were comfortable; and the kitchen had everything we needed to fix meals. The new owners were friendly and helpful; I appreciated their advice on restaurants and hiking. The motel is about 100 yards across the road from the railroad tracks; but we hardly noticed the noise of trains passing by.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HI_TRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great value for money. Very clean and supplied everything you could need. Quiet location - lovely wild life close by. Near to restaurant/pub. Would recommend this to anyone who just needs a bed for the night on the way across Arthurs Pass or for a longer stay if walking in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueMM186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had the last unit available and it a family cabin so it had plenty of space. It was clean and tidy but the decor and furnishings are quite old and the room had a mustiness to it. To be fair, the new owners have only recently taken over and are intending making improvements - new window units, for instance but, for now, I think the place only warrants an average rating.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Hi and thanks for your feedback. You will be pleased to know we have tracked down and solved the cause of the musty smell. New joinery is being installed on May the 10th, in time to make everything nice and cosy for winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Arrived on a cold wet New Years Day to a warm welcome and a cute little cabin. Facilities are basic but clean, warm and comfortable. The shower was a bit of a challenge with a slight lean on! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The cabin we had was really small and cosy... toilet was also very small for the both of us. My other half usually has a lot of cosmetic stuff that she brings around so plenty of space in the toilet would have helped to hold her things. Like shelves and sink area. The sink was really too small and the toilet very cramped.

Although it was summer when we travelled there, it was still very cold at night but the cabin did it's job to keep the cold out of the room.

There were cooking facilities provided however the utensils provided were not very clean and we had to wash them before using. Perhaps the previous user did not clean them very well after use. The cleaning brush was peppered with hair so we didn't use it to wash/clean the utensils.

The owner was very friendly and waited for us as we arrived later than expected. Ample parking space if you have your own car.

The cabin was generally clean but not of a hotel standard - it's a motel afterall, so our expectations were not very high. Overall 3 stars for an ok night's stay and if you want to make Arthur's pass a stopover for you.

Room Tip: If travelling with family, you might want to get a bigger room rather than a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greasystains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
0.8 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
145 reviews
8 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 16 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Aldamere Lodge
Aldamere Lodge
#1 of 3 in Moana
71 reviews
12.1 mi away
Grasmere Lodge
Grasmere Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel

Address: 13969 West Coast Road | Arthur's Pass Village, Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range: £56 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High in the Southern Alps, nestled amongst mountains and beech forest, is Arthur's Pass Village. A comfortable two hour drive from Christchurch, Arthur's Pass offers some of the best unspoilt hiking and scenery in New Zealand. The hiking/walking tracks vary from a one-hour walk up to the Punchbowl Falls, to a multi-day hike in the mountains.Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, conveniently situated in the village, offers fantastic self contained Motel accommodation, complete with your own bathroom and kitchen. A recent upgrade has seen the installation of double glazed windows and doors to the majority of our units to increase warmth and decrease noise. We also offer free WIFI. Our warm, cosy cabins (some with gas fires) sleep 1-5 people. With a hotel and restaurant a short walk from our motel, it is the perfect location to base yourself for some leisurely walking and tramping, or a hike up to Avalanche Peak for a grand view of the Southern Alps. You can even meet some cheeky kea or listen to the kiwi call at night. Your hosts and owners, Pete and Fi Neale, have a wealth of knowledge about the area, having holidayed in the area for the past 40+ years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthur`s Pass Alpine Hotel Arthurs Pass
Arthurs Pass Alpine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing