We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location and value.”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Located in the heart of the village with easy walking access to all amenities and track heads this motel provides clean, functional accommodation at a reasonable price. Room was spacious with all amenities adequately provided for. Staff were friendly and accommodating
with excellent local knowledge. Recommended!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ocassi0nal_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    105
    27
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
146
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have stayed here previously and love the location of this place. The new owners are very friendly and the cabins clean, comfortable and well equipped. Fiona is knowledgable about the area and hikes and we'll definitely be back.

PS: return time to Avalanche Peak 3 hours 35 mins ;-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainGoatSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Spent 1 night here, would definitely be back. Such a relaxing and beautiful spot. Simple cosy rooms with a nice feel. Excellent service. DVDs to choose from, which was a welcome touch on the rainy night we stayed there. Bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 546mariannee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Pete and Fiona were incredible hosts. They provided excellent hiking advice, they assisted in our every need, and they were attentive to detail. The accommodation itself was a perfect fit for us, a couple and our adult daughter, with two separate rooms. We had a beautiful gas fireplace, kitchen, dining table, skylight and deck. We highly recommend! Thank you, Pete and Fi, for a perfect first night in New Zealand.

Room Tip: We stayed in the front cottage. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Small motel operation in a great location; in the middle of Arthurs Pass National Park, with a lot of mountain scenery and hiking trails. Our cabin was rustic; but had all the amenities we needed to be comfortable. The gas fireplace and electric blankets kept us warm; the beds were comfortable; and the kitchen had everything we needed to fix meals. The new owners were friendly and helpful; I appreciated their advice on restaurants and hiking. The motel is about 100 yards across the road from the railroad tracks; but we hardly noticed the noise of trains passing by.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HI_TRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great value for money. Very clean and supplied everything you could need. Quiet location - lovely wild life close by. Near to restaurant/pub. Would recommend this to anyone who just needs a bed for the night on the way across Arthurs Pass or for a longer stay if walking in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueMM186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had the last unit available and it a family cabin so it had plenty of space. It was clean and tidy but the decor and furnishings are quite old and the room had a mustiness to it. To be fair, the new owners have only recently taken over and are intending making improvements - new window units, for instance but, for now, I think the place only warrants an average rating.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter N, Owner at Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hi and thanks for your feedback. You will be pleased to know we have tracked down and solved the cause of the musty smell. New joinery is being installed on May the 10th, in time to make everything nice and cosy for winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
0.8 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
142 reviews
8.0 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Aldamere Lodge
Aldamere Lodge
#1 of 3 in Moana
69 reviews
22.9 mi away
Lake Brunner Lodge
Lake Brunner Lodge
#705 of 1,033 in South Island
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel

Property: Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Address: 13969 West Coast Road | Arthur's Pass Village, Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High in the Southern Alps, nestled amongst mountains and beech forest, is Arthur's Pass Village. A comfortable two hour drive from Christchurch, Arthur's Pass offers some of the best unspoilt hiking and scenery in New Zealand. The hiking/walking tracks vary from a one-hour walk up to the Punchbowl Falls, to a multi-day hike in the mountains.Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel, conveniently situated in the village, offers fantastic self contained Motel accommodation, complete with your own bathroom and kitchen. A recent upgrade has seen the installation of double glazed windows and doors to the majority of our units to increase warmth and decrease noise. We also offer free WIFI. Our warm, cosy cabins (some with gas fires) sleep 1-5 people. With a hotel and restaurant a short walk from our motel, it is the perfect location to base yourself for some leisurely walking and tramping, or a hike up to Avalanche Peak for a grand view of the Southern Alps. You can even meet some cheeky kea or listen to the kiwi call at night. Your hosts and owners, Pete and Fi Neale, have a wealth of knowledge about the area, having holidayed in the area for the past 40+ years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthur`s Pass Alpine Hotel Arthurs Pass
Arthurs Pass Alpine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing