We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs improovment”
Review of Bealey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bealey Hotel
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“needs improovment”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

stayed there for 1 night with my wife and baby.
the room was very basic and tired.
also not very clean.
location was good with a nice view .
all in all a place to put the head and sleep and nothing beyond that.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yaron1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    56
    38
    34
    12
See reviews for
47
108
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Bealey Hotel is a great place for an overnight stop - excellent and very clean and roomy accommodation with the hotel's dining room providing really nice meals in a warm and comfortable environment. The staff are friendly and helpful and sitting around the bar for a drink is a very entertaining and fun experience. Added to this, the stunning views of the southern alps are wonderful. We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Stay in the cabin area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharro6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The cabin rooms are rustic. However, the bed was comfortable and the shower was strong and hot -- always key for me. We spotted lots of bug carcases around some windows, so a potential problem there in warmer weather (no screens on main windows). Also we expect the room would be hot and stuffy in summer (but mid autumn was fine).
Loved the view from our room out over the Waimakariri River and mountains. Easy walk to the river bed (though just a stream when we visited). See photos.
Wifi is available, but the signal is good only in the main lodge (and does not carry to the cabins).
Hotel provides better value than alternatives in Arthur's Pass village, and very quiet with very friendly staff.
The food that the Czech cook provided from the main lodge kitchen was absolutely outstanding(!) and compensated for any concerns about the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fred_cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Friendly, helpful staff. They pointed us to a great spot to see a Kea, and we saw one immediately. We were the only ones in the restaurant for breakfast (we went during shoulder season) and they whipped up the best eggs Benedict I've had in a long time, complete with herbs from the herb garden!

Rooms were very clean, with comfortable beds and shared kitchen/living spaces with a few other rooms.

Great location, very scenic.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IonIonIon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Called in for lunch Easter Monday 2013. Fed the family. I had a home made pie which was delicious. The views are fantastic everywhere you look up in here in the Southern alps. This is a great spot to stay with everything on site, restaurant, bar with a pool table and some of the best views in the world from the outdoor area. National park walks nearby

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyCGWHowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Overall we would recommend this hotel. The only realistic alternatives are the hotels in Arthurs pass, unless you can afford the 2 expensive Lodges which are in the vicinity. Arthurs pass is nice for a visit but it is a very busy little place and Bealey's which is a few miles outside is a much quieter and more peaceful location. The views from the lodges are fantastic, certainly better than anything in Arthurs Pass, but we would have to agree with other reviewers that the rooms do let it down a bit. Our room and Kitchen area were ok, but the crockery/cutlery was not very clean and we had to wash everything before we used it. The shower was the worst aspect of the whole stay - it did not look like it had ever been cleaned! I used it and survived! but my wife did not fancy it, she reckoned she could survive without a shower for one day. The hotel staff were all very nice and friendly and the food provided in the Hotel bar was really quite nice, although the smell of cooking was a little off putting (investing in an extractor fan for the kitchen would be a great idea). None the less it was a good meal one of the better ones from a month long trip. The price was above average, which was entirely appropriate for the location, but not for the standard of the room. Overall it was a very enjoyable stay, but it would be greatly improved by a little freshening up in the rooms.

Room Tip: The lodges all have similar views although the extreme end one is best, there are also rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

As soon as we saw this place, and especially our cabin (#1), we looked at our schedule to see whether we could stay longer than we had initially planned. This was the best view of any place we stayed in New Zealand - I could have lived in our cabin to write or paint for weeks, watching the light and the colors change across the stunning valley and mountains.

Our cabin was spacious (as has been previously described: one double bed and three singles) and had good kitchen facilities, including a nice covered electric cooking pan. All the kitchen stuff was clean and in good shape.

The bathroom did look a bit "tired," as others have commented, but it seemed perfectly clean.

The staff were just terrific - friendly and solicitous. My partner got into good conversations with several of them, and tells stories about the conversation to illustrate how wonderful Kiwis are.

We would love to come back and stay for longer next time.

Room Tip: Cabin #1, for sure - on the end so that you have views in two directions, and fewer neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat_L_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
0.8 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
8.7 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 mi away
Lake Coleridge Lodge
Lake Coleridge Lodge
#2 of 10 in Methven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bealey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bealey Hotel

Property: Bealey Hotel
Address: SH 73, | (12km east of Arthur's Pass), Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bealey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Bealey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bealey Hotel Arthurs Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing