We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location in the NZ high country”
Review of Bealey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bealey Hotel
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic location in the NZ high country”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The staff here were really friendly and happy to chat. Our unit below the hotel had lovely views down the valley along the river and the river was close enough to visit.
Cosy rooms (with the heater on) and very handy having the bar & restaurant on the property.

It was lacking some cooking and dinning supplies and the bathroom was lacking a fan.

This was a great base for us to get into the many skifields nearby

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PenLea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    56
    38
    34
    12
See reviews for
48
108
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We've just moved to the south island and this was the first place we had visited since arriving. While the rooms themselves, are simple, they're clean and tidy, and the views are what make the stay worth while. The staff we delt with were friendly, and nice to talk to and the food in the restaurant was FANTASTIC!!!! (We had chicken and a shank as well as breakfast which they knew i was GF and accomodated me nicely) Will be staying here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We stopped overnight here on our tour of South Island.

Very friendly - the food in the restaurant was excellent. The scenery is absolutely stunning.

The accommodation is pretty basic but it is clean and affordable. I would definitely recommend a stop here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dbell679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Home away from home. This is what holidaying in NZ is all about. Fabulous views, comfortable clean accomodation and great food. The owners Marshall and Debbie and staff Kim were fantastic, friendly and helpful. Hotel and area history makes this place truly unique and special. Thank you for a truly wonderful and memorable time.

Room Tip: Chalets have a small deck and are fabulous.. Or if a few of you the backpackers accomodation is cosy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trisha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I would recommend highly to anyone. The units are great, cosy and warm, everything you need coupled with a stunning view. The restaurant / bar was really welcoming, a lovely warm fire and brilliant food (amongst the best food I had on my holiday). Also the prices were very reasonable. The manager/owner and his staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in unit 1 - we had great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A group of 36 photographers stayed at the Bealey Hotel - all part of our mid winter Christmas trip. Hosts Marshal and Debbie went out of their way to look after us both in terms of accommodation and the hotel/restaurant part of the complex.

We were there two nights and the Saturday night was the mid winter Christmas feast - which was designed to be like a Victorian banquet. The Bealey team really did a fine job and delivered a delicious banquet - including Hansel the wee pig.

We got snowed in on the Sunday and many of us had to stay an extra night.

I would have no hesitation in recommending The Bealey - it is a great location - and is now being run by a husband and wife team who really want to make a difference.

Room Tip: There are two types of accommodation - choose the ones with the en suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreekTraveller94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The hotel was a good place to sleep and put your head down but not much more. The rooms were very basic and in need of modernisation. I also felt the room was not overly clean. The view from the room was very good and look straight out over the Waimakariri River and mountains. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food in the hotel restaurant was excellent.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mik1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
0.8 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#1 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
253 reviews
8.7 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
67 reviews
24.2 mi away
Aldamere Lodge
Aldamere Lodge
#1 of 3 in Moana
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Lake Brunner Lodge
Lake Brunner Lodge
#551 of 1,042 in South Island
23 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
142 reviews
11.4 mi away
Grasmere Lodge
Grasmere Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bealey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bealey Hotel

Property: Bealey Hotel
Address: Sh 73, | (12km east of Arthur's Pass), Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bealey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bealey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bealey Hotel Arthurs Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing