We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shared facilities, private room, great views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bealey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bealey Hotel
Cleveland, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Shared facilities, private room, great views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Due to bad weather entering Arthur's Pass with temps due to drop to zero we opted for accommodation over tent! Rocked up and took the last private room in the Lodge. Shared kitchen and bathroom. Great views, very clean. The room was very small and the double was somewhat 'camp like' but it was clean and dry and warm. Basic would sum it up.
Thankfully most of the other guests eat in the Hotel so meant the kitchen, dining area wasn't to cramped and allowed us to prepare food and eat reasonably comfortable. Otherwise would have been very cramped.
Would stay here again based on price and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    55
    37
    32
    10
See reviews for
44
106
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Debby was a wonderful host.
She made a point of making sure that we were settled and comfortable in our cabin at The Bealey Hotel in Arthur's Pass.
The view from the patio was absolutely breath taking.
The cabin was well set out and very comfortable.
All in all a wonderful and memorable stay and highly recommended.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackpackerUniverseCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

this was our next to last night stay while travelling around the south island and out of 15 other places we stayed this was the worst. We stayed in unit No 2 and my parents had No 1. Both units were full of biting insects and dirty, dead flies on all the window cills and surrounds, the kitchen light fitting was full of dead insects and had not been wiped clean. We had to disinfect everything before using it, if felt that dirty. If it hadn't have been for having our parents with us we would have left, even though we had already paid $180 each room via the AA site. Rooms are very basic which is what we expected after reading other reviews but they could have been cleaner, our room had some sort of breatheasy machine left on, obviously trying to get rid of some previous smells, but this left us both with bad heads. We had to collect our keys from the bar, weren't informed anything about the area, what was available in the restaurant or anything about the complimentary breakfast. We ate in the restaurant that evening and the food was adequate and nicely presented, but is wasn't good to them watch there dog being fed our scraps. Me & my husband went up for breakfast, parents didn't want theirs, when we sat at a table in the restaurant we were presented with a chargeable menu, and I just said we would like the complimentary continental breakfast included in the room, we were asked what cereal we would like, after about 20 mins waiting a couple of packets of cereal, 4 slices of toast with a selection of jams & plastic potted bought fruit was delivered to our table, very poor, we weren't even offered a drink of tea or coffee. We couldn't wait to leave so straight after breakfast we took the keys back up to the bar area, this time having to leave them with the guy behind the kitchen counter making the salads for the day. This place really does need to be inspected by the AA our authorities for hygiene reasons. Will never been going back, worst place we have ever stayed and compared to others that we paid a lot less for this holiday was the most expensive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pharologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This was probably the poorest place we stayed in in 3 weeks around the South Island. The cabin is very basic but adequate. It was clean but is now rather dated.The view down the valley is dramatic but rather spoilt by the power cables right outside our Cabin but this would have been better in the cabins 1 to 5. We did not eat here except for the continental breakfast that could not have been simpler. On the plus side the owners were most helpful and friendly but the cabins do need a refit if they want to keep up with the generally high standard of accommodation we found in NZ

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happilyretired060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Accommodation was clean and tidy with a lovely view and the river bed easily accessible. The owner operators were friendly, helpful and welcoming. The food was beautiful! Thoroughly recommend eating there. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank princessanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stumbled upon this lovely restaurant in the historic Bealey Hotel just outside of the eastern boundary of Author’s Pass National Park. We weren’t expecting much in terms of food. Thought it would be usual deep fried pub fare. The bar area wasn’t that exciting, but….the quality of the food and the gracious chefs was outstanding and a complete surprise. If you are in the area, don’t hesitate to stop here for a lovely meal. Go for the food! We had a beer too, but the food was terrific – and in the middle of nowhere! We had a fresh excellent large salad and soup of the day – fresh, delicate, and so tasty. My husband had the daily special of lasagna and salad. It was scrumptious and portions were large. Lovely surprise! We want to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajb6335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

stayed there in january with my brother and his girlfriend

+the location is great with fantastic views

- overpriced
- the cabins are too old need a total upgrade, little bit dirty
- the beds were too soft, neither of us slept well
- better to eat somewhere else or never try the italian food from the menu, the breakfast was ok

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
5.7 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
6.2 mi away
Mountain House YHA
Mountain House YHA
#1 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
13.4 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 19 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Lake Coleridge Lodge
Lake Coleridge Lodge
#2 of 11 in Methven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bealey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bealey Hotel

Property: Bealey Hotel
Address: SH 73, | (12km east of Arthur's Pass), Arthur's Pass National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bealey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bealey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bealey Hotel Arthurs Pass

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing