We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable time”
Review of Mountain House YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain House YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We loved this YHA, staff was great and all of the great people we met too. This place was a little slice of home. Loved the lounge upstairs, terrific that it had a small kitchen in the lounge. no need to run down to the main kitchen to make coffee and take it upstairs to the lounge. We stayed two nights and loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wineman1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

It is the best hostel in the arthur's pass village!
Clean and a well equiped kitchen for being located in the alps.

Area hint:
You should definitely bring your own food as the supermarket is quite expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Loved this little cottage! off the main road which was much better for us as we have 4 active children with a sunny porch and wonderful views. whilst the road access to the cottage is outside edge of village there is a walkway that takes you to the main path into the village. No TV if your inclined for this but we enjoyed our toasty fire and played cards that were provided :0) On our arrival the cottage was neat and clean and the fire was on to welcome us!
Beds were very comfortable and warm enough through a cold night. I woke to a beautiful morning and walked up to bush line of avalanche peak .. just lovely and i could see the kids in the garden from above! :0) My family would be more than happy to enjoy the retreat from the more commercial spots that is Arthurs Pass.. Awesome :0)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyd247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

The place is great, it's super clean, there's a huge kitchen where you and your peeps can hang out, the showers are really nice, the location is amazing - the Avalanche peak trail is just a 30 second walk away. Pretty much every view is fantastic. The only downside is that 4-bed rooms are small - but if you're tired, not high maintenance, and enjoy Tetris - it's all good. If you're not, are, and don't - then you should really focus on self-improvement.

The most important thing - the workers are a buncha pleasant blokes. Bob really isn't insane; a Canadian full of hilarity and jeer. If you have to stop for the night - do it here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Vitalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the one bedroom unit with kitchen in the Mountain House on 01 March this year.
The hotel is only away from the "Arthur's Pass Walking Track" for 5 minutes of walking distance.The unit is clean and quiet though close to the main road. The reception is very polite and helpful during our stay.

Room Tip: Choose the unit with kitchen and private parking space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bedroom house. Bedrooms good size. Beds all made up. Kitchen roomy with plenty of utensils. Comfortable living area. Plenty of wood for fire if wanted. A good bike shelter safe from attacking keas. An easy walk to village. Would stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank PrueF145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed in a 3 bed house. It was clean and comfy but quite old. Extremely impressed with the wifi connection given our location. Not many places to stay so we were overall happy with our choice. We stayed he for 2 nights but to be honest 1 night is more then enough unless you are a serious hiker...

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arthur's Pass National Park
0.5 mi away
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
Arthur's Pass Alpine Motel
#2 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
258 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bealey Hotel
Bealey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
188 reviews
7.5 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Aldamere Lodge
Aldamere Lodge
#1 of 3 in Moana
69 reviews
12.5 mi away
Grasmere Lodge
Grasmere Lodge
#2 of 4 in Arthur's Pass National Park
78 reviews
7.8 mi away
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
Wilderness Lodge Arthurs Pass
#1 of 3 in Arthur's Pass National Park
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain House YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain House YHA

Address: PO Box 12, Arthur's Pass National Park 7654, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Arthur's Pass National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Arthur's Pass National Park
Price Range: £17 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Arthur’s Pass Mountain House is situated in the alpine village of Arthur's Pass, right on the Main Divide of the Southern Alps, just two hours from Christchurch and ninety minutes from Greymouth. Accommodation consists of the main backpacker lodge set in the centre of town, a modern, heated, suntrap with great views, but still with a small hostel feel. Just opposite the Lodge is the historic YHA building with multi-share rooms perfect for backpacking groups. We also offer self contained cottages with log fires set in beautiful gardens and Motel units next door to our Lodges ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain House YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing