We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ribbonwood Country House
Ranked #1 of 5 Cheviot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We spent a lovely evening at Ribbonwood, but if we had known it would be such a wonderful experience we would have stayed longer!!
We arrived in the evening to be greeted at the door by Gary. He was so welcoming, making us immediately feel at home.
Our room was modern and spacious with a huge comfy bed and sliding doors that showed off the amazing views. We also loved the bathroom which was colour coordinated with an amazing floral glass splashback in the shower.
After we settled in, we were treated to pre dinner drinks while listening to relaxing jazz before we were treated to an amazing 3 course meal cooked by Gary himself. This is an optional extra but well worth it. We also enjoyed a bottle of local wine.
The next morning after sleeping on a cloud, we enjoyed a cooked breakfast followed by toast and crumpets with Garys homemade jam, during which we really got to appreciate the magnificent views of the snowy mountains.
The entire time during our stay, Gary was attentive and friendly, but also left us alone, the perfect host. He also went above and beyond by checking the roads were open where we were going, and suggesting a scenic route we would never have known about otherwise.
Excellent in every way.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hope454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Ribbonwood Country House is set amongst stunning Cheviot scenery.
Out of all the places I've stayed in, Ribbonwood has definitely been the most relaxing and tranquil!
Gary and Robert's attention to guests comfort and care is evident, from the stunning stained glass detail that greets you at the front door, individual colour themed bathroom, huge comfy bed with quality linens and the house was spotlessly clean throughout. I loved their personal touch with their homemade jams and veggies fresh from the garden. Yum!
Thanks for a fantastically relaxing stay. Can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcpercys5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Ribbonwood Country House is a lovely place and has a amazing countryside. Gary and Robert, the hosts, are wonderful people and very accommodating. My two friends and I stayed there for a few days in January 2014 due the fact that we wwoofed there and it was a fantastic experience under these circumstances.
I hope we can visit the Ribbonwood Country House in the next few year again.
- Cheers Elias

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elias W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Ribbonwood Country House, as part of our Honeymoon tour of New Zealand. We were first overwhelmed by the amazing views surrounding the house. The views were so stunning, you could spend a fortnight just staring out of the windows. Then there was the wonderful reception we were given by owners, Gary and Rob. They were extremely welcoming and treated you, as if you were one of the family. The rooms are luxuriously decorated and themed around native New Zealand plants. We stayed in the Koromiko suite, which meant our bathroom had beautiful glasswork with pictures of the plant and the rest of the room had a purple colour scheme. We had the best night's sleep of our stay at Ribbonwood (not only due to the comfy bed, but also down to Gary's magic massage) and would highly recommend anyone travelling to South Island should go and visit.

Room Tip: If you have a favourite colour, pick the room to suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

In researching somewhere different to stay in the south island I discovered Ribbonwood prior to its completion. Luckily it was finished by the time we visited from Sydney around Christmas 2013. Having had a busy time with family in Christchurch, including a 60th birthday celebration, some alone for my partner and I was paramount. Driving up to the house, being greeted by Gary and the dog, I realised we'd made the best choice. Luxurious and homely with space to spread out and take in all the environs, stunning views and the most comfortable beds ever! Wholesome and substantial breakfast set us up for the day and relaxed delicious dinners in the evening with time to wind down and chat about the day. Left us feeling very relaxed after two excellent nights. A great home base to have while travelling and to give yourself some special, self care time with warm hospitality from Gary and Robert.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had heard about Ribbonwood from friends and just had to visit now that everything is up and running. Although a brand new venture for the incredible hosts, there is no shortage of hospitality experience in their backgrounds - this just shines through in their warm and friendly welcome. Rooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean. The option of dinner as well as B&B was very welcome and of an incredibly high standard. Ribbonwood is not simply a convenient stop-over but a destination in it's own right, with lots to explore in the North Canterbury region. A return visit is definitely on the cards!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winkleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A superb location. A beautiful environment inside and out, peace and quiet along with a wonderful warm hospitality and delicious food. I look forward to being able to return and repeat the experience. The hosts Gary and Robert deserve their excellent reputation in the industry, it certainly shows at Ribbonwood.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ribbonwood Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribbonwood Country House

Property: Ribbonwood Country House
Address: 124 Cheviot Heights | RD 2, Cheviot 7382, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Cheviot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cheviot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ribbonwood Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ribbonwood Country House and Spa provides luxury accommodation in a relaxing environment. We are located in Cheviot, North Canterbury which is approx 120 km north of Christchurch and takes approx 1 hour and 20 minutes to drive and approx 70 km south of Kaikoura with a drive time of approx 50 minutes. Our purpose built guest house is designed to pamper you in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ribbonwood Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing