We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotlessly Clean”
Review of Aorangi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aorangi Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Just came back from our holiday in South Island New Zealand. It’s free & easy; drove to our destinations without any bookings for accommodation. So when we stayed in Aorangi Motel, it was a pleasant surprise to see a well maintained, very clean, spacious room for the price we paid for. And among all the different motels we stayed in for ten days in NZ, I would rate this as the best. The kitchen is well equipped with “clean utensils, water heater, & stove”. When we arrived, the room was already warm, as the underfloor heating was already on. The free wireless internet was a bonus and reliable. The host was welcoming & helpful. It's convenient that a grocery is nearby. It is a good place to stay for the night on the way to Lake Tekapo.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceto8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2011

A very quiet pretty town away from CHRISTCHURCH
THE motel room was very very clean and the owner very helpful WE ONLY STAYED ONE NIGHT BECAUSE WE WERE EN ROUTE BUT WE WOULD DEFINTELY LIKE TO STAY AND SPEND MORE TIME THERE

OUR unit was 2 bedrooms large lounge didning room and a kitchen parking located right outside the unit

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Located roughly about 25 minutes from Lake Tekapo. This motel is easily spotted on the right side if driving to fairlie from geraldine. We book the 1 bedroom with 1 single bed in the lounge. The price was average and affordable.
It was a grey, chilly day during our visit in the late autumn but when we stepped in the room, the floor were warm, preheated before our arrival. I like everything about the room, it was spotlessly clean, simple and very comfortable.
The kitchen is fully equipped with electric stove, utensils etc. The toilet is clean too, they also provide free towels and give soaps..nice.
The beds were comfortable. Iron is provided too. However, the only dull looking thing in the room are the bed sheets. The whole room will look more cheerful if the bed sheet is change :) Internet service wasn't really good..
Other than that, everything is just nice for our vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purplela7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this motel, located just off main road between Christchurch & Queenstown. I guess it 'does what it says on the tin' - it is indeed clean, dry & warm - not always a given in NZ. I'm afraid there really isn't a lot else to get excited about. The decor is minimal & very dated. The kitchen units look like a throw back to something from the 60's. It could also have been more competitively priced - it was priced at $115, but $20 got added for each child - I thought that was unreasonable; others just charge flat room rate. Also, though there was a big sign outside advertising 'special rate', I just wonder if that is maybe always there?!
Fair dues, we got allowed free wifi (an uncommon occurence in NZ - usually charge; sometimes pricy & unreliable). Host was welcoming & helpful.
Not the worst place we stayed, by far, but not the best.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martingerardkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The hotel is nothing special, very basic but good value for money.
I would recommend heaters in every room as NZ can be cold .
The underfloor heating is not doing the job straight away so having it on before the customers come will be good.
Free wireless internet is a bonus.

Room Tip: If cold call and ask the rooms to be heated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwiroau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Small motel but good place to stay between Christchurch and Tekapo. 10$ charge for breakfast which was more than adequate. Free Wifi which is always a bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We stayed here towards the end of our trip as it was striking distance from Christchurch on our last day. The hosts are very friendly and accommodating and the motel is very clean and well kept. It’s an older motel but has been well maintained and updated with flat screen tvs and free wifi.

Our unit was spacious and well equipped, although some of the furniture is now getting past its use by date. Our only comment was that it smelt a bit musty/stale and this detracted from our experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wing6rider-Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlie
0.1 mi away
Pinewood Motels
Pinewood Motels
#2 of 4 in Fairlie
129 reviews
18.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,239 reviews
18.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Musterer's High Country Accomodation
20.6 mi away
ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge
5 mi away
Mt Dobson Motel
Mt Dobson Motel
#3 of 4 in Fairlie
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aorangi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aorangi Motel

Address: 26 Denmark Street, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Price Range: £65 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aorangi Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAIRLIE'S QUIETEST MOTEL ACCOMMODATION Welcome to our family owned, QUIET, spacious, cosy, motel accommodation complex, being 100 meters off the main highway, & only 200 meters from town centre, home of the amazing " Fairlie Bakehouse" Lake Tekapo is only 42km ( 30 minute drive ) We offer quality & affordable, fully self contained ground floor, Studio, One bedroom & Two bedroom units. Serviced daily. Full kitchen in all units. Also microwaves, Ensuite's with heated floors, hair dryers in all units. Breakfast available. Free Wireless Internet, 5 Sky TV Channels / 32" LCD TVs, DVD player's. Safe off street parking outside unit. Guest BBQ and Childrens Playground Enjoy & Relax with your own patio. Carports available. A great base or overnight stop, between Christchurch & Queenstown & for all the activities the Mackenzie District offers, and to enjoy the tranquility, peace and quiet of our beautiful Fairlie township / Restaurants / cafe's . Halfway stop-over between Christchurch and Aoraki/Mt Cook, Queenstown and Wanaka. Ski Mt Dobson, Fox Peak, Round Hill. Boating/fishing at Lake Opuha. Enjoy warm hospitality and comfort. All major credit cards accepted... Like us on Facebook "Aorangi Motel" or follow us on Instagram "aorangimotel" We look forward to meeting you :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Aorangi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing