We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first stainless steel shower cubicle!”
Review of Aorangi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aorangi Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is a quiet motel complex 100 metres off the main highway and only 200 metres to the town centre, run as a family enterprise by a friendly and helpful couple.
Rooms have comfortable beds, adequate self-catering facilities, heated floors, 32" LCD flat screen TV's with Freeview but only limited Sky and Free Wireless. However, the rooms are very old-fashioned and ‘dated’, roughly in the 1950’s character. I even experienced my first stainless steel shower compartment!
A useful overnight stopover between Christchurch & Mt Cook (only 25 minute drive to Lake Tekapo) but wouldn’t want to stay longer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

It was a rainy day and they provided wifi, a DVD player and dvd selection free of charge. Great service, a large lounge room, with comfy couches and a good tv. Fantastic. Great advice too, recommended a great steak place close by

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelseyE90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed one night en route from Christchurch to Queenstown. The unit was spotless and well equipped. The hosts were so helpful even to the point of posting on my credit card I left behind when paying. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed at Aorangi Motel with my elderly mother. The owner was very helpful and friendly and had excellent recommendations for meals etc. The motel was clean, warm, well-equipped and spacious. It was very peaceful. The beds were so comfortable - I slept for 10 hours solid! We'd spent the previous night in another motel beside the main road and train line! This is an excellent stopover if you're travelling from Christchurch to Queenstown or Wanaka. Excellent value for money. I will definitely be recommending this motel. Thank you so much. Your hospitality was so much appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just spent 4 nights here to ski with my teenagers. thank you very much for a lovely clean,comfortable and quiet facility. Will come again!! loved the underfloor heating!! highly recommend the Silverstream hotel for an awesome night of Kiwi hospitality- good food,company,atmosphere plus plus

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This place is in the style of older NZ motels - i.e. heaps of space, comfortable, and quiet, with friendly owners who told us about Fairlie, and where to get a good feed.
It was immaculately clean, and warm and we'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jones499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stopped here overnight to break our drive down from Christchurch.. Friendly welcoming staff.. Clean, super warm rooms.. We had a two bedroom unit, with everything you need.. And reasonably priced.. Highly recommend.. And if your after a delicious home style meal, head to the red stag restaurant just down the road.. As a treat

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlie
18.7 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinewood Motels
Pinewood Motels
#2 of 4 in Fairlie
123 reviews
18.5 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
18.7 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#13 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
149 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mt Dobson Motel
Mt Dobson Motel
#4 of 4 in Fairlie
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aorangi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aorangi Motel

Address: 26 Denmark Street, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Price Range: £64 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aorangi Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FAIRLIE'S QUIETEST MOTEL ACCOMMODATION Welcome to our family owned, QUIET, spacious, cosy, motel accommodation complex, being 100 meters off the main highway, & only 200 meters from town centre, home of the amazing " Fairlie Bakehouse" Lake Tekapo is only 42km ( 30 minute drive ) We offer quality & affordable, fully self contained ground floor, Studio, One bedroom & Two bedroom units. Serviced daily. Full kitchen in all units. Also microwaves, Ensuite's with heated floors, hair dryers in all units. Breakfast available. Free Wireless Internet, 5 Sky TV Channels / 32" LCD TVs, DVD player's. Safe off street parking outside unit. Guest BBQ and Childrens Playground Enjoy & Relax with your own patio. Carports available. A great base or overnight stop, between Christchurch & Queenstown & for all the activities the Mackenzie District offers, and to enjoy the tranquility, peace and quiet of our beautiful Fairlie township / Restaurants / cafe's . Halfway stop-over between Christchurch and Aoraki/Mt Cook, Queenstown and Wanaka. Ski Mt Dobson, Fox Peak, Round Hill. Boating/fishing at Lake Opuha. Enjoy warm hospitality and comfort. All major credit cards accepted... Like us on Facebook "Aorangi Motel" or follow us on Instagram "aorangimotel" We look forward to meeting you :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Aorangi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing