We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way...”
Review of Pinewood Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pinewood Motels
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2012

From the moment we arrived the owner greeted us and took us straight to our room. Showed us how to us the heater, electric blankets and operate the sky tv. We then got shown a map detailing all of the best places to see and where to find good restaurants. Even gave us the opening and closing times for each... The room itself was perfectly clean and the bed unbelievably comfortable. The room even had a kitchenette with everything possible in it, right down to a little brush n shovel and hot plate element. We loved it there, the warm friendly reception made us feel right at home and the rooms were very well sound proofed, didn't hear a single peep from either neighbor. Would defiantly not hesitate to return, in fact we are already planning our return trip...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodTravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

We really enjoyed our overnight stay in the lovely little town of Fairlie. Extremely clean, able to cook there if you wish, great affordable accommodation Lovely friendly owners with helpful advice on points of interest nearby. Would definitely stay again if in Fairlie.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay. Appreciated the great advice we got re good places to eat out. Very clean and well presented

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I visited Fairlie for a wedding from Melbourne. Including myself our party was three adults being my mum, aunty and myself. I had booked a studio which slept three configured as one double and one single. Once our host saw that we were three adult females he offered us a larger room with a double bed and two singles so we would be more comfortable. We were so humbled and enjoyed our stay so much as the rooms were super clean, we had internet, tv and kitchen facilities also that we stayed another night.

During my stay i left behind a pair of sunglasses. Our host was kind enough to send them back to me with no trouble at all.

If you are stopping by Fairlie i would highly recommend Pinewood Motels as your choice of stay.

Amber

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Nice and clean well equipped basic bright Motel room. Free internet and modern TV plus a
spotlessly kept Barbeque. Very helpful and honest staff and in particular who recovered my phone after I had left it there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bollards2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Friendly staff, excellent rooms. clean, tidy excellent value for money as it also included internet (50mb). The only thing is that the staff should know what is open in the area in regards to restaurants/pubs (we were there on boxing day).

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights and found unit quite depressing - there were no pictures at all on the walls and minimal furnishings. Fridge and bench top tiny cooker were really old and there was no microwave. On the positive side the unit was spotless.The bathroom had rot in the wall near the shower though so there was a leak in the wall/flooring somewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bianca5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinewoodmotels, Owner at Pinewood Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Thank you for your comments. You must have stayed in one of our units that has yet to be renovated, we apologize for that fact, but that was probably what unit we had left to sell at the time (Sorry). Most of our units have been completely refurnshed, including adding micowaves, wall art etc, etc. The independant review system managed by AA have our clients giving our motels an 9 out of 10 rating. And we pride ourselves of offering a very affordable alternative to Tekapo, which is known for being expensive in comparison.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlie
0.1 mi away
Aorangi Motel
Aorangi Motel
#1 of 4 in Fairlie
140 reviews
18.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,239 reviews
18.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Mt Dobson Motel
Mt Dobson Motel
#3 of 4 in Fairlie
42 reviews
17.6 mi away
Three Rivers Lodge
Three Rivers Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Tekapo
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Musterer's High Country Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Motels

Address: 25 Mount Cook Road, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Price Range: £61 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinewood Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our comfortable, friendly, family owned and operated motel, situated a short walk from the centre of town, is the perfect base for travellers wishing to explore Fairlie, Tekapo, and the many attractions that the Mackenzie district has to offer. We have a wide range of rooms available, all with fast free unlimited Wifi, cooking facilities, bathrooms and outdoor seating areas. Your hosts, Chris & Leanne are on hand to ensure you have everything you need to make your stay comfortable, and we can provide information and bookings for most local attractions. Continental breakfast is available for a small extra charge. Children will love the playground! DVD players, DVD's and board games are available on loan from reception. Enjoy outdoor dining with our complimentary gas BBQ. A guest laundry with washer, dryer and a drying room for ski gear are available for a small charge. Cot and high-chair are provided on request (no charge). Pinewood Motels is also the ideal location for business and corporate clients being centrally located between Timaru, Geraldine and Tekapo. Contact us for the best corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pinewood Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing