We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pinewood Motels Fairlie”
Review of Pinewood Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pinewood Motels
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

After a glorious few days in central Otago my friend and I were returning to Christchurch via Tekapo. We decided to break our trip in Fairlie. The weather had turned quite cold. We booked into The Pinewood Motels.
The owner was really friendly. The motel was clean cosy, and excellent heating. It was only a few minutes from the town centre. WIFI was excellent compared to some of the more pricey motels we had stayed in.So close to Tekapo and other more touristy places and a lot less pricey.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

This was such a reasonably priced motel with all you could ask for and only half half an hour away from Lake Tekapo. The studio units were spacious, clean and light. The owner was very helpful. We were very pleased wih our choice and so were our English visitors. If ever in the area again would definitely stay there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda and Ala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinewoodmotels, Owner at Pinewood Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Hi Linda and Ala. Thank you very much for your great review of our motels and the high rating, most appreciated. We aim to provide the best service in all these areas and are very pleased to hear you had such a good stay. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Kind Regards, Charlie & Bronny Paterson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We arrived very late in the evening and the owner still took time out to show us around the motel room, how to use the heating etc, which I thought was very nice of him. The motel was clean and cosy - plenty of extra bedding and pillows which I always appreciate.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloudPixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We agree with the available reviews. Charlie obviously prides himself with the standard of his accomadation and the quality of his services which are very commendable. Our room was clean, spacious and well maintained. Our host had placed notices in the room and also mentioned on booking in his concern at cooking anything in the room which may leave a bad odour such as fish/curries with the penalty of being charged an extra nights fee. He kindly leant me a large frying pan so that I could cook my steak on the free outside large barbecue. Charlie was able to recommend the Red Stag Restaurant and pointed us in the right direction to a country pub up the road towards Lake Tekapo which we thoroughly enjoyed. Suspect that a nearby Salmon Farm may have caused some concerns before. The kitchen also had a microwave and such fish can be steamed for 3 minutes without any odour problems!!!
Off road parking in front of our room and it was easy to find being on the main road through Fairlie. Can imagine this is a very popular stop off on the way to Lake Tekapo which is only 30 minutes down the road and means you can get to the church before the tourist coaches arrive.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brave-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed here twice - both on a night's break during a long and weary journey to Christchurch on the last leg of my South Island trip.
The motel is located centrally in Fairlie, right beside the highway and features all the spoils of a typical mid range motel. The units are clean, spacious and well maintained. The service extended by the motel host Charlie is commendable and added a personal touch to my stay experience.

This place makes for an economy stay for families and friends alike while visiting the regions around Lake Tekapo or simply on an overnight break while headed northwards to Christchurch.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nandu_forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The Pinewoods Motel is exactly what we have come to expect traveling through the countryside of New Zealand, friendly, clean and reasonably priced accomodatons. Why were we in Fairlie? We were driving from Queenstown to Christchurch and after consulting Trip Advisor for a restaurant enroute with great reviews we decided on Fairlie and the Red Stag restaurant. Unfortunately, they do not have a website and therefore we were unaware that they are closed on Tuesdays. We were told at the Pinewoods that there was only one place open for dinner, Pappa G's Pizza (see review).

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We are chinese and were provided a rice cooker at the time we checked in. Quite close to a supermarket and downtown. Room is clean and tidy and well equipped to prepare meal. d ul Feeling very well and peaceful during one night stay. huighly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgehongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlie
0.1 mi away
Aorangi Motel
Aorangi Motel
#1 of 4 in Fairlie
135 reviews
18.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,011 reviews
18.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
181 reviews
19.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
18.6 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#13 of 15 in Lake Tekapo
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Motels

Address: 25 Mount Cook Road, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Price Range: £60 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinewood Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our comfortable, friendly, family owned and operated motel, situated a short walk from the centre of town, is the perfect base for travellers wishing to explore Fairlie, Tekapo, and the many attractions that the Mackenzie district has to offer. We have a wide range of rooms available, all with fast free unlimited Wifi, cooking facilities, bathrooms and outdoor seating areas. Your hosts, Chris & Leanne are on hand to ensure you have everything you need to make your stay comfortable, and we can provide information and bookings for most local attractions. Continental breakfast is available for a small extra charge. Children will love the playground! DVD players, DVD's and board games are available on loan from reception. Enjoy outdoor dining with our complimentary gas BBQ. A guest laundry with washer, dryer and a drying room for ski gear are available for a small charge. Cot and high-chair are provided on request (no charge). Pinewood Motels is also the ideal location for business and corporate clients being centrally located between Timaru, Geraldine and Tekapo. Contact us for the best corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pinewood Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing