We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little gem”
Review of Pinewood Motels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pinewood Motels
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Another night, another motel. This one only has 10 rooms, split into 2 sizes. We stayed in a 2 person room. good facilities in the room, 10 minutes from the town centre. Small compact kitchn, don't expect to cook a 4 course meal, but for a quick meal its ideal. Why stay indoors though there is good food available in town. The owners hve only been here for less than a year, but they are very helpful. Our friends stayed in an adjacent room, and felt as we did, a good place for the night.
would we go again, of course we would.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank barry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

My parents and I stayed at Pinewood motel during our trip to the Mackenzie district. Alvin and Brenda was super friendly and accommodating. The family unit was very spacious. The kitchen was comprehensive too. Beddings were fresh and clean and beds were comfy. My parents and i truely felt at home :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Iris X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Perfect choice for a one night stay with children or teenagers. The owners are lovely people. The place is very clean and spacious. Beds comfortable, free wifi, rather large shower, very soft towels, easy parking. We did not use the kitchen but went to a local pizzeria (Papag's)..pretty good.
Well priced. Will recommand.

Room Tip: Reception close at 8.30 pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandrine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is nice and cozy place with nice apartment. We got 2 bedroom spacious apartment and were overall pretty satisfied. The owners are very nice couple and treated us well. It was perfect for our needs. (Which was to spend the night while traveling and sight seeing from Queenstown to Chirstchurch).
Fairlie is a very small town with everything (including restaurants) closes by 7:00 pm. So please take note of that.
One minor thing was the Dishes in the kitchen were not very clean. We cleaned them used them and cleaned them back. Overall a very good experience. Will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashprag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed here one night. Nice place with lovely people running it. Rooms were a bit basic and chilly. Host showed us how to use the heater as it wasn't straight forward and it warmed the room quickly. Unfortunately we had trouble turning the heater on early the next morning and worried we had woken the neighbours with the loud clicking of the switches. We were in Unit 8 so worth checking the heater is ok if booking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed only one night at Pinewood Motel but found the owners to be lovely people who informed us on directions up to the lakes and most important as we wanted to go up to Mt Cook that day, that when we got to the main car park at Lake Pukaki that if you could not see Mt Cook because of cloud cover it was pointless driving the 50k up there. The Unit was very spacious and very clean. Beds comfortable with heaters in rooms. Free wifi as well. Would recommend as a stay over on way to snow fields. Well priced.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed 1 night at Pinewood in order to explore the lakes & Mt Cook, before heading to Christchurch.
Booked through Agoda.com, it was a pleasant surprise.
Very friendly & helpful management and easy access to everything else around town.
Walking distance to a great restaurant a few hundred metres up the road called Red Stag.
Bakery just down the road with yummy goods fresh from the oven.
Very comfortable for two or more.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ibu1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlie
0.1 mi away
Aorangi Motel
Aorangi Motel
#1 of 4 in Fairlie
138 reviews
18.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,140 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mt Dobson Motel
Mt Dobson Motel
#3 of 4 in Fairlie
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Musterer's High Country Accomodation
19.2 mi away
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
LakeFront Backpackers Lodge
#13 of 16 in Lake Tekapo
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Motels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Motels

Address: 25 Mount Cook Road, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Price Range: £61 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinewood Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our comfortable, friendly, family owned and operated motel, situated a short walk from the centre of town, is the perfect base for travellers wishing to explore Fairlie, Tekapo, and the many attractions that the Mackenzie district has to offer. We have a wide range of rooms available, all with fast free unlimited Wifi, cooking facilities, bathrooms and outdoor seating areas. Your hosts, Chris & Leanne are on hand to ensure you have everything you need to make your stay comfortable, and we can provide information and bookings for most local attractions. Continental breakfast is available for a small extra charge. Children will love the playground! DVD players, DVD's and board games are available on loan from reception. Enjoy outdoor dining with our complimentary gas BBQ. A guest laundry with washer, dryer and a drying room for ski gear are available for a small charge. Cot and high-chair are provided on request (no charge). Pinewood Motels is also the ideal location for business and corporate clients being centrally located between Timaru, Geraldine and Tekapo. Contact us for the best corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pinewood Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing