We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very gracious and helpful hostess”
Review of Pinewood Motels

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pinewood Motels
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very gracious and helpful hostess”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Fairlie is definitely a better place (budget wise) than overpriced and overbooked Tekapo.

Very gracious hostess who went out of her way to assist us in amending our booking dates, when we encountered last minute problems with dates.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH... from Singapore.
We will definitely recommend Pinewood Motels, Fairlie.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    53
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
61
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We chose to stay here after reading Trip Advisor reviews and being unable to book accommodation in Lake Tekapo. It was a good choice. We had a warm welcome from our hostess and an apology for the room being near the road. The motel room was spotlessly clean and tidy and well equipped with every thing needed. The beds were comfortable and we slept well. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again when visiting the area. Lake Tekapo is an easy 25 min drive away and Fairlie is a better place to stay in my opinion, especially when combined with a meal at the Red Stag Restaurant near the Pinewood.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights in March. It is reasonably priced, well equipped and spacious. The owners are friendly and helpful. The units must have been very impressive when new but, if ours was typical, could do with a bit of renovation. It was all looking a little tired and below the standard that we found in the better ones during our six week tour. Having said that it is fair to note that it was also cheaper.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Nice motel, comfortable bed and excellent heating which you need in the middle of the south island. The studio unit I had was spotlessly clean and spacious. The provision of plunger coffee was a bonus as lots of motels don't offer that. There was no iron or ironing board - you had to go to the laundry room to use one which is a shame as nearly all motels provide this in the units. The lady at the motel was very friendly and helpful. It would be great if the towels were upgraded - mine were past their used by date and a drab brown colour.

Room Tip: units facing Mt Cook have lovely sunset views from outside patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed 3x nights at Pinewood Motels. Extremely helpful owners. Arrived Saturday mid-afternoon and Brenda, finding we planned to visit the Observatory the following evening, recommended phoning there and then to check weather and availability - she phoned, very kind. Motel is well equipped, comfortable bed, loads of hot water, hair dryer, shampoo and soap in large containers (very good idea). Good heating if needed. Just a 5 minute walk to the Fairlie Bakery.....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washougal, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed only one night. The room met our expectations. There are laundry facilities but they seemed a little pricey and we thought we would be able to do it at our next stay at no charge. The owners/managers exceeded our expectations with their friendliness and helpfulness. Bottom line is that we would stay there again if in Fairlie.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Another night, another motel. This one only has 10 rooms, split into 2 sizes. We stayed in a 2 person room. good facilities in the room, 10 minutes from the town centre. Small compact kitchn, don't expect to cook a 4 course meal, but for a quick meal its ideal. Why stay indoors though there is good food available in town. The owners hve only been here for less than a year, but they are very helpful. Our friends stayed in an adjacent room, and felt as we did, a good place for the night.
would we go again, of course we would.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairlie
0.1 mi away
Aorangi Motel
Aorangi Motel
#1 of 4 in Fairlie
129 reviews
18.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,729 reviews
18.4 mi away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
17.8 mi away
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
Lake Tekapo Holiday Homes
#4 of 14 in Lake Tekapo
174 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mt Dobson Motel
Mt Dobson Motel
#4 of 4 in Fairlie
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Pinewood Motels

Property: Pinewood Motels
Address: 25 Mount Cook Road, Fairlie 7925, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Fairlie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fairlie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinewood Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our comfortable, friendly, family owned and operated motel, situated a short walk from the centre of town, is the perfect base for travellers wishing to explore Fairlie, Tekapo, and the many attractions that the Mackenzie district has to offer. We have a wide range of rooms available, all with fast free unlimited Wifi, cooking facilities, bathrooms and outdoor seating areas. Your hosts, Chris & Leanne are on hand to ensure you have everything you need to make your stay comfortable, and we can provide information and bookings for most local attractions. Continental breakfast is available for a small extra charge. Children will love the playground! DVD players, DVD's and board games are available on loan from reception. Enjoy outdoor dining with our complimentary gas BBQ. A guest laundry with washer, dryer and a drying room for ski gear are available for a small charge. Cot and high-chair are provided on request (no charge). Pinewood Motels is also the ideal location for business and corporate clients being centrally located between Timaru, Geraldine and Tekapo. Contact us for the best corporate rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pinewood Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing