We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bakery”
Review of Fairlie Bakehouse

Fairlie Bakehouse
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Fairlie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: At the Fairlie Bakehouse we believe fresh is best and in friendly efficient service.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
796 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
“Bakery”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We bought quite a few treats here. I had the American Donut which was absolutely amazing, our daughters had the creamy chicken pie and a raspberry brownie which were delicious, the blueberry crumble was good but our youngest wasn't sure about the lamington as the sponge was chocolate not vanilla one. Definitely would stop here again and get the American donut...already missing it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    79
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Such a Treat”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Fabulous array of freshly cooked goodies from scrumptious pies with a good arrangement of cookies and sweets.
My favorite was the Salmon and Bacon pie it was delicious. My husband had two meat pies the meat was in large chunks. Most enjoyable and very well priced.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 523lync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolleston
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Andrew of Rolleston”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we were passing through and decided to find a nice place for lunch as we were walking along we could see heaps of people going in and out of this place so decided that must be a good place for lunch. The biggest problem was what to choose the selection is so big and every think was so nice looking. 3 of us had mince pies and one of us had a salmon and potato pie they were fantastic and so filled with meat the salmon was also filled with salmon. I had a cappuccino my wife and sister-in-law hot chocolate and brother in law tea all the drinks were hot and were also fantastic the staff very friendly and helpful also recommend the custard squares and American donuts best custard square I have had. would highly recommend and so easy to finds

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewRolleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favourite cafe”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The pies are really something else! I have different pies both times I have visited, and they are quite exceptional!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank malachi456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stopped here for coffee & lunch, food was great, coffee was nice but had better. Was very poplar as very busy for a cafe out the way, had to sit outside which was OK as some shelter

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steph_Chch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fairlie Bakehouse also viewed

Fairlie, Mackenzie District
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
 
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Fairlie Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing