We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place, feels very expensive but bed affordable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Stag Restaurant

Red Stag Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Fairlie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$21
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A La Carte dining in a relaxing environment in our sunny conservatory or in our elegant dining room.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming place, feels very expensive but bed affordable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Great service, went on a Sunday where you ordered meat and they had a very fancy salad bar and delicious complimentary dessert. Would highly recommend. Staff excellent

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KelseyE90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    24
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sanur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm & Welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Warm & friendly staff, with all the country charm one would wish.
Food selection was limited as it was Sunday night and they only have a Sunday night specials menu available, and not the full regular menu.
But that was ok and we chose different things from the menu available.
I chose the Venison as had never had it before & had decided sometime on my trip to New Zealand that I would. It did not disappoint & was cooked to perfection.
Wine selection excellent and a good night had by all.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ibu1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
2 reviews
“The Red Stage - Must go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We came across the Red Stag at Fairlie by acccident. So pleased we did. We had dinner on the first night of our holiday and found the food outstanding, the service wonderful (casual but welcoming and friendly) and the ambience delightful. It was so good we went back again the next night and it was just as good. Certainly wasn't expecting to find such fine food in Fairlie, food that my 9 year old daughter not only ate but raved about. Definitely recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fine dining in stunning surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed an evening of excellent food in authentic surroundings.
The service was friendly & efficient and Ruth went out of her way to welcome us.
Would thoroughly recommed this outstanding restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank judy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
“Going the Extra Mile”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Recently travelling through Fairlie my partner and I called in to The Red Stag. It was a beautiful day and the conservatory was sundrenched, the gardens looked a picture and there was even a little bowl outside where we parked the car for the dog to use. Inside we were greeted by a lovely lady, our host. She offered us a place to wait in the sun, where with wine in hand we unwound from the trip. We were offered menus, wine list etc. It was a real treat. The food was wonderful, lovely groper and salmon.

The same host makes her own desert - a cheesecake - too divine for words. Lovely place, wonderful food and a real New Zealand welcome form the host. Worth a look if travelling that way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chilton2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Stag Restaurant also viewed

Fairlie, Mackenzie District
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
 
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Red Stag Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing