We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop”
Review of Farm Barn Cafe

Farm Barn Cafe
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Fairlie
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: The Farm Barn is a wonderful cafe in the country, surrounded by stunning mountains and farm land. We offer a variety of foods, drinks, baking and light meals including the famous Fairlie Bakehouse Pies and Denheath Custard Squares. Everything is homemade using the best quality ingredients. We also have a great selection of New Zealand made clothing and souvenirs including possum/merino knitwear and much more. Relax in the country atmosphere and enjoy the warmth of our logburner fire in the Winter. We provide a large car parking area. FREE WIFI is also a bonus!
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stop”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Loverly homemade food, relaxing country atmosphere & it was slightly cold outside & they had the fire going- fabulous!!

Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    22
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Dona Paula, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Simply outstanding!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

As soon as you enter this cafe, you get a feel-good factor. Very very good and amazing hot chocolate. I loved swinging in their backyard. Dont forget to stroll on the field that is just on left when you enter the cafe. You HAVE to stop here for your tea /coffee /snack when driving to Tekapo or Pukaki.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrincyMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stop”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Awesome lunch at the Farm Barn Cafe 10 days ago while visiting family and friends in New Zealand - great location, superb food, friendly people. Was recommended by a friend and will definitely go back next trip downunder.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raewyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“relax”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

nice cafe to have a rest a few km before Fairlie - when driving from Geraldine - the souvenir shop has a wide offer of books and objects, Not a great selection of food, but comfortable armchairs to read a book and have an afternoon tea. The hosts are very friendly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank alfonso p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“One of the best meals from our entire trip”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We actually deliberately stopped here due to a recommendation from a relative who visited prior. The owner was very friendly and we ordered the bacon soup and seafood chowder, both of which were great value for money. They were both absolutely divine, full of flavour and the bread was soft and freshly baked. The cafe itself was nice and had a lovely country feel, and the view was gorgeous as well. It did not disappoint and we'd love to visit again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eltania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farm Barn Cafe also viewed

Fairlie, Mackenzie District
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
 
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
 
Fairlie, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Farm Barn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing