We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Geraldine Heritage Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Geraldine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Geraldine Heritage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Geraldine B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Where do you start, Rooms not bad, Booking wrong, Food terrible, ate twice at hotel, had pork chops for evening meal, they were dry and came with chips when menu clearly stated it was severed with mash. Breakfast, was a disaster bacon was not so much burnt but so badly cooked that it was snappable, hash browns soggy, We were asked what flavour the juice was, all we could come up with was "watered down something." We were on a time limit, food arrived 6 mins before we had to leave, after the staff were informed of our plans for the day. When these matters were raised with the hotel manager, it was never his fault, or you got the old "you should have told me line", when we did, he got his back up and said you have moaned about everything since you got here. Maybe if he ran the place better we would not have had to "moan" as he put it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bomber13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    14
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
14
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stayed overnight without prior booking to break up a long journey.Our room overlooked the main road.Large airy clean and comfy.Recently renovated.Tea coffee in room.Ate in hotel restaurant.Food was good and reasonably priced.Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, null, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Was looking for a bed for the night to break my journey from Queenstown to Mt Hutt, and this place could accommodate me even though I didn't turn up til 9.30pm and hadn't made a prior booking. I had a single room which was an adequate size, and the bed was comfy with an electric blanket and there was plenty of tea and coffee. The decor was tired though, and in some places the hotel could do with a good coat of paint.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We stayed here one night when touring New Zealand by car - well situated on the main street.
Don't expect the Hilton but clean, comfortable and friendly staff. Parking no problem.
Rooms had en suite and plenty of coffee!

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CumbriaAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Geraldine hotels
0.2 mi away
ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Geraldine Top 10 Holiday Park
1.1 mi away
The Downs B & B
The Downs B & B
#2 of 9 in Geraldine
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fourpeaks Motel
Fourpeaks Motel
#3 of 4 in Geraldine
20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Andorra Motel
Andorra Motel
#2 of 4 in Geraldine
62 reviews
13.4 mi away
Peel Forest Homestays
Peel Forest Homestays
#8 of 9 in Geraldine
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geraldine Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geraldine Heritage Hotel

Property: Geraldine Heritage Hotel
Address: 31 Talbot Street, Geraldine 7930, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Geraldine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Geraldine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing