We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for the family”
other traveller has booked this property
Peel Forest Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peel Forest Lodge
Relax by the open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Peel Forest Lodge
Relax by the open fire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Geraldine, Canterbury Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bill B
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
1 review
“Perfect for the family”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

My wife and children meet my brother and his family. With four children aged from 4 to 16 we often find it hard to find a place where everyone is catered for. However at Peel Forest lodge there was ample space for the children to explore and kick the rugby ball around leaving us to enjoy the hot tub in peace.

The 2nd day of our stay the weather was overcast, the children were able to entertain themselves in the living room whilst we had the lounge to enjoy the fire and our books.

Peel Forest is a hidden secret only an hour and half from Christchurch, allowing for a weekend getaway from all the construction and stress of town

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The serinity
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Thank you and so pleased your family enjoyed Peel Fort Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Was great to get to know your family and share our part of New Zealand. We look forward to your return one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Splash135
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What an incredible place!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We only had time to stay one night but we will most certainly be back! The lodge is stunning and the scenery around the lodge incredible. Peel forest is so very close it's easy to just pop over to the walking trails within a few minutes. Spending the night in an authentic log cabin, cuddling up in front of a roaring fireplace, having a dip in the outdoor jacuzzi...it doesn't seem like it can get much better than that, right? But it did. The family that owns the lodge made our stay extra special. Penny cooked us the most beautiful dinner and breakfast and Bret came and helped get that lovely fire going (since us city-slickers really struggled). We were fortunate enough to chat with them both and get to know them which in itself was a treat. We can't thank them enough and really hope to return one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locations
Liked least: That we only stayed one night!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2016
Peel Forest is a great location for all to enjoy. Bert and I thoroughly enjoy meeting new guests ,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaerbelW1...
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015
Google Translation

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Das Holzhaus und die Aussicht auf jede Menge Wild.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$288
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing