We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Geraldine
Certificate of Excellence
jl_ck
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good for one night”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here on enroute from Chrristchurch to Twizel. We rang up and made the booking about half an hour from Gerladine. I found the staff very helpful and she went on put on the heating for us. The rooms are well appointed, we were in a two room apartment and my mum was in a standard room. Both were good and spacious. The motel is close to all amenities. we did not run into the grumpy man mentioned but a lovely lady helped us both inthe evening and morning. She even helped my husband practice putting on the snow chains on what was a rather cold morning. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Sorry cant take off rating for pool and fittness centre but did not see either!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jl_ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    66
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
83
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

highest standard of cleanliness and the rooms are very well appointed. This is the newest motel facility in the beautiful little town of Geraldine. very nice staying here but have to agree with other comnents that the welcome mat could do with a shake out!!! Not sure why someone who quite obviously dislikes dealing with people would choose to run a motel and be so unwelcoming....and is quite possibly the owner? Best to be aware of that before choosing to stay. There are other older but equally clean renovated motels in town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4myxtc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2013

When the unwelcoming man at reception was informed that the heater was noisy&disturbing he stated 'I know, I know everything about the units'...perhaps could have fixed the problem? I presume he also 'knew' about the offensive urine smell in the bathroom too? Poor form.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmathompso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This was ideally placed for us. My husband was doing business and needed our car, so I chose this motel as a base. I left our bags there before we checked in properly so that I could explore the township. No problem with doing this.It was an easy walk to the lovey little shops and food stores. just as well because I was ladened down with all of the little bits and pieces I had bought, including some delicious cheese and chutney. The supermarket was very close so that I could also get the crackers and lovely wine to make our evening treat complete.
The units are comfortable, and had all we needed, but no extras. It is a motel, and there are facilities to cook simply if you are planning to do so. We enjoyed a meal in town at the Country cafe, and breakfast at Verde, both close by.
One draw back is that the fan goes on in the bathroom as soon as you turn the light on, and this was enough to wake me in the early hours.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillMM_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Unit was very clean and in excellent condition. Rather elderly person in style with the fitout being very average in quality. Quiet for a main road position. Nice and warm.
The man at the desk was not very friendly, was on the phone when I entered the office and he was more interested in his phone contact than me as he did not hang up but left the caller listening to our conversation. He quickly gave me the key pointed at where the unit was and returned to his phone call. This very rude behaviour is not acceptable.
A point that may save other Geraldine visitors some frustration is not to go to the local fish and chip shop unless you have plenty of time to kill as it took over an hour from placing my tiny order till it was ready. Wasn't that busy that it should have taken this long.
Not some where I would return to other than when passing through.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here en route to Christchurch and arrived late in the day. We were shown to a nice modern unit which was reasonably priced.
Although the motel is situated on the main road, we did not notice any traffic noise. We enjoyed a short walk into the shopping area to the supermarket and a restaurant for dinner. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nix51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This accommodation was well appointed and as stated in many reviews very clean and well maintained. We spent our last night in New Zealand in Geraldine and this completed our stay on a very positive and enjoyable note.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geraldine
0.4 mi away
Andorra Motel
Andorra Motel
#2 of 4 in Geraldine
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geraldine Top 10 Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Fourpeaks Motel
Fourpeaks Motel
#3 of 4 in Geraldine
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Downs B & B
The Downs B & B
#2 of 9 in Geraldine
24 reviews
20.6 mi away
Aorangi Motel
Aorangi Motel
#1 of 4 in Fairlie
129 reviews
10.5 mi away
Phoenix Motel
Phoenix Motel
#1 of 1 in Temuka
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge

Property: ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge
Address: 28 Waihi Terrace, Geraldine 7930, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Geraldine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Geraldine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star self contained quality accommodation, 10 air conditioned units, 3 spa bath units,3 two bedroom apartments, newest motel in Geraldine. Continental breakfast available. 5 Minute walk to restaurants and shopping centre. 1 Hour 45 from Christchurch airport. Make us your first or last stop when exploring the south and lakes area. Tekapo an easy drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing