We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Geraldine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed overnight on our way back to Christchurch from down south. The room we had was comfortable and well-appointed. The bed was comfy and we slept really well. The Scenic Route was handily placed for all the places we wanted to see in Geraldine township and it was a great stopping off point. The welcome was warm, and it was nice that there was a spa bath. Very relaxing and good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Had a very nice stay here, room was spotless and well designed, lovely staff, great location. Our six week old baby wasn't charged for, I have found some motels charge for infants even though no bedding I used, this Is not the case here. Well done! Great to see its not all about a dollar in the back pocket at this complex. Thanks very much

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steeevo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eftpos, Owner at ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time that guests take to have input into our business.

We hope that baby is well, and we look forward to having you to stay when baby is a little older.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stopped enroute ChCh to Queenstown. Met by very helpful staff who provided local map and ideas of where to eat. Room was fairly large compared with some we stopped in and had all that was needed for a comfortable stay. Bed was med firm and very comfortable - shower room was tidy and spacious. All in all a good stay and good VFM - no wifi otherwise it would have been 5*s.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eftpos, Owner at ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your input.
We do have free Wifi available, and I am sorry that you were not aware of this service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Our room was clean, tidy, well equipped and the bed was comfortable. The motel is well placed for access to everything Geraldine has to offer.

The soundproofing of the rooms is very effective although we had to open the windows as there is no air con which obviously negated the effect.

The only downside - but quite a big one for us - was our inability to get into the wifi network despite having a valid password.

When we mentioned it to the owner his explanation was that it was a very secure system to stop illegal downloads. All well and good but we couldn't get into it at all.

He said it must be the settings on our computer but we explained we hadn't had a problem elsewhere. He then said about 1 in 10 have problems. Having tried with an iPhone, an iPad and a Smartphone, that must make us very unlucky!

He really couldn't care less. As others have pointed out, clearly not a people person.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eftpos, Owner at ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your comments
Last week we had a new WiFi system installed. When some guests commented that they were unable to access our system we went back to our provider who assured us that our system was running correctly, and that the problem was with the guest and the way that they were endeavouring to access the system.
After much frustration we now find that the providers have not installed our system correctly, and we are having to wait for this to be remedied.
The down side for us is that we are left with frustrated and disgruntled guests, who perceive that we are not interested in their problems, when in fact we have spent a considerable amount of time with people attempting to resolve problems that we have no training in.
We apologise for the inconvenience to you, and hope that should you return to New Zealand we will have an opportunity to extend a warm welcome to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We are a family of four and stopped here on the way from christchurch to queenstown. Looks like a brand new establishment. Very clean, neat and tidy and there is fresh feel to this place. The staff were very friendly and our one night stay was lovely. We would stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Hollyajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

spacious room and comfortable bed, the small kitchen has everything necessary. Very clean, and quiet. Of course, "scenic" is the route, not the motel, each room has a small table with two chairs outside, in front of the parked cars. in my room one the bulb of the table light was burnt, I changed with the other one. the switch in the bathroom turns on the fan together with the light, and your partner will wake up with you. Also there is only one switch for all the lamps in the room, so no chance to prepare a tea or a coffe while your partner is asleep. basic accommodation, the best thing is the small walking distance to very good restaurants, where you can have your wine and don't have to drive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfonso p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We thought the rooms were large and the unit was exactly as promised. Make sure to walk the talbot forest and go to Verde! The service was ok and there is nothing really open after 9 pm. However it is quite a lovely town.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geraldine
21.3 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
270 reviews
1.7 mi away
Black on Grey Motel
Black on Grey Motel
#3 of 5 in Geraldine
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Andorra Motel
Andorra Motel
#2 of 5 in Geraldine
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Geraldine motels
Geraldine motels
#165 of 261 in Canterbury Region
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fourpeaks Motel
Fourpeaks Motel
#4 of 5 in Geraldine
23 reviews
20.6 mi away
Aorangi Motel
Aorangi Motel
#1 of 4 in Fairlie
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge

Address: 28 Waihi Terrace, Geraldine 7930, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Geraldine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Geraldine
Price Range: £75 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star self contained quality accommodation, 10 air conditioned units, 3 spa bath units,3 two bedroom apartments, newest motel in Geraldine. Continental breakfast available. 5 Minute walk to restaurants and shopping centre. 1 Hour 45 from Christchurch airport. Make us your first or last stop when exploring the south and lakes area. Tekapo an easy drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing