We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Geraldine
Certificate of Excellence
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This unplanned stop gave us a decent clean room with a king bed, but at $140, we found it pricier than others we stayed in that were similar. Perhaps that's what we get for walking in off the street rather than booking ahead. Location convenient to walk into town for supper.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace28, Owner at ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Hi Patricia,

Patricia thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you felt that we were overpriced.
We are a 4 Star Qualmarked property, and believe that our pricing is in line with other similar 4 Star Qualmarked motels.

We do have some lower priced Studios (not Spa or the larger two bed Studios). Our policy is to offer all available Studios to our walk-in guests. I believe that these lower priced Studios were not available on the night that you stayed with us.

Patricia we hope that you enjoyed your time in New Zealand, and that one day you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    63
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
78
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I stayed here with my two teenage daughters after selecting the accommodation through Trip Advisor. The hosts are a lovely couple who recently took over this motel but are not new to the motel industry and their experience shows. Everything was just as it should be, clean with comfortable beds, close to the Geraldine township, warm, free wifi, modern, and I would agree with other reviewers who commented it is immaculate. I would definitely stay here again and happily recommend to others without any hesitation. My daughter accidentally knocked the lamp over beside her bed and broke the shade. I have never come across a motel that wouldn't charge for a replacement lamp but instead we were treated with kindness and understanding by our hostess who said not to worry, she would find another lamp for the room without charging. Definitely deserves it's ranking as #1 in Geraldine. Additionally, the wifi was easy to connect to and worked perfectly throughout our stay, much to the satisfaction of my teenage daughters!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondie896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace28, Owner at ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We enjoy providing hospitality for our guests, and we appreciate that accidents do happen.
We would love to have you all to stay again.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Very modern and immaculate motel within walking distance from the town centre and restaurants.
Friendly staff keep this facility top notch, and they are obviously proud of it.
Unit had king bed, sofa, dining table as well as business desk. Usual immaculate kitchen facility, and bathroom had spa bath. Quality at an affordable price, we'll be back

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a spa bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace28, Owner at ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Many thanks Kevin we appreciate your comments.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed overnight. The location was convenient for walking around Geraldine. The room was clean and tidy. There was free wifi, and plenty of parking.

Good value. We couldn't have asked for much more.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dave2412nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The rooms are clean and modern and sound proofing is very effective. Comfy beds and a large clean bathroom.Being just a short walk into town for the evening meal was very handy as we didnt need to use the car.Visited on 6th February and I felt sorry for the owner who had serious internet problems. He couldn't even get on the system from his main computer and tried hard to be helpful but to no avail. Fortunately I had a perfect internet connection in the cafe just a few steps away. I felt that air con would have made our stay a perfect one as it was a very hot day when we arrived but I imagine that for most of the year the rooms will be fine

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 68IanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed overnight on our way back to Christchurch from down south. The room we had was comfortable and well-appointed. The bed was comfy and we slept really well. The Scenic Route was handily placed for all the places we wanted to see in Geraldine township and it was a great stopping off point. The welcome was warm, and it was nice that there was a spa bath. Very relaxing and good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akaroa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Had a very nice stay here, room was spotless and well designed, lovely staff, great location. Our six week old baby wasn't charged for, I have found some motels charge for infants even though no bedding I used, this Is not the case here. Well done! Great to see its not all about a dollar in the back pocket at this complex. Thanks very much

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steeevo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eftpos, Owner at ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time that guests take to have input into our business.

We hope that baby is well, and we look forward to having you to stay when baby is a little older.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Geraldine
22.0 mi away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
21.3 mi away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geraldine Kiwi Holiday Park & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fourpeaks Motel
Fourpeaks Motel
#4 of 4 in Geraldine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Downs B & B
The Downs B & B
#2 of 9 in Geraldine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
13.2 mi away
Peel Forest Homestays
Peel Forest Homestays
#8 of 9 in Geraldine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge

Property: ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge
Address: 28 Waihi Terrace, Geraldine 7930, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Geraldine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Geraldine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star self contained quality accommodation, 10 air conditioned units, 3 spa bath units,3 two bedroom apartments, newest motel in Geraldine. Continental breakfast available. 5 Minute walk to restaurants and shopping centre. 1 Hour 45 from Christchurch airport. Make us your first or last stop when exploring the south and lakes area. Tekapo an easy drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your ASURE Scenic Route Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing