We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!”
Review of The Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lodge
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed one night. Really friendly and extremely helpful Owners and Staff, exceptionally clean room, very comfortable bed, great attention to detail (hand towel tied in ribbon). Very reasonable rates. Only sorry it was such a short visit this time. Can highly recommend to anyone thinking of staying in Methven.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LouandKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge-methven, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Many thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback,

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

This is a great place to stay we have stayed 4 times over this winter , very clean and tidy and warm every time, nice people and well priced, no Kitchen but lots of good eating places about,
I would recomend room we had was 1 single and 1 double bed

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spikechch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge-methven, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Thanks for your review. We've worked very hard to keep our rates at a reasonable level.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Im not sure why I liked this lace so much. The bedrooms are nicely furnished with wooden furniture and it's obvious it was not done on the cheap. Methven can be a very cold place but the room was really warm and cosy. A touch I really liked was that the hand towel in the bathroom was tied and presented with a gauze ribbon. Small country hotels don't need to do this so it was an indication of the attention to detail. Everywhere was spotless. The hotel was excellent value and the owner threw in free wifi access without being asked.
The bonus for this hotel is that there is a restaurant off the lobby. After a longndaybtravellingmyou don't want to go out of the hotel. The food was delicious and the portions indicate they cater for the appetites of hungry skiers!
Stay here if you go to Methven

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Declan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge-methven, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Many thanks for your review.

We really appreciate your feedback,

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Nice rooms, newish hotel with good family restaurant.
Large family rooms avail, nice bath, good heating, walk to everything in town.
Lovely friendly service.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lbw1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge-methven, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Many thanks for your kind review.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Second time I've stayed. Rooms are very generously sized. Wireless broadband available at $2 per stay. No satellite TV if that's important. Adjoining bar & restaurant very friendly and good food. Bus at $18 return stops right outside to take you up to Mount Hutt. Will stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MainlanderNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge-methven, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Many thanks for your review.

We now offer free WIFI throughout the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back,

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

We stayed here for our 2nd stop on out Ski NZ holiday.
It is in a great location for the Mt Hutt ski field.
The Lodge on Chertsey is located right in the middle of town and within walking distance of all shops and the Blue Pub.
Shuttles can be arranged to pick you up from outside each morning to take you to Mt Hutt.
Service was fantastic and had a very homely feel. The rooms are large and very clean.
The Lodge has its own restaurant and bar downstairs and the pizza's are fantastic! Went two nights in a row, a must do!
Great atmosphere and occasionally has poker nights out near the wood fire.
I would deffinately be back if i was skiing at Mt Hutt.

1  Thank rose_e86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodge-methven, Owner at The Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

Thanks for a great review. We've worked hard to get our pizzas just right.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Luca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Methven
0.3 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
129 reviews
10.2 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
267 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#3 of 20 in Methven
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Abisko Lodge and Apartments
0.5 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 20 in Methven
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge

Address: 1 Methven Chertsey Rd | Cnr Chertsey Rd. and Kilwork St., Methven 7730, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Methven
Price Range: £70 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing