We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such wonderful owners !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pinedale Lodge & Apartment
Ranked #8 of 9 Methven B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Beautifully renovated hostel in an old style cottage. Warm open fire, Plenty of kitchen space, and social space. Very friendly, genuine and helpful owners. Great base for back country tramping or the snow fields of Mt Hutt.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treeadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2010

I recently stayed at the Pinedale Lodge in Methven.
I stayed for just under 3 weeks. From the moment that I arrived I experienced the most friendly service from the owners Penny and Tim.
Pinedale is a clean and comfortable boutique lodge style hostel with a very homely atmosphere, not your typical backpackers lodge in that respect.
Penny and Tim did everything they could to ensure my stay was as enjoyable as possible. They even personally ensured that I have transport to the mountain every day.
I will be definitely returning to stay with them again and would highly recommend Pinedale to all of my friends travelling to Methven.
One of the best backpacking experiences that I have had due to the outstanding service supplied.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

The service was the best thing about this place. From the moment we walked in we were welcomed with smiles of the owners and the warmth of the place. Tim and Penny are really helpfull and they know alot about local activities. All in all very nice.
Ville, Finland

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrWille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

Tim and Penny are two switched on folks that really enjoy having their guests happy. Well know in the community, they know who's who and where to go for everything. The pit is great for watching a vid or reading a book or having a beer with another backpacker. There's also the pool table and a nice selection of books. The kitchen provides enough equipment to prepare your fest for the evening.

Pinedale Lodge was my favorite backpacker's lodge on the South Island.

If you're in Methven, you ARE staying with Tim and Penny...and now little Freda!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonkieTube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed for a couple of nights last winter. LOVED the roaring fires, especially the one in the conversation pit. The owners, Penny and Tim, were great hosts and made us feel really welcome, as well as providing lots of useful information including early morning snow reports. And Penny baked post skiing cookies! The dorm room we stayed in was really clean, as were the bathrooms and kitchens. Pinedale is well set up for skiiers and boarders - with good storage and drying areas. We thought Pinedale was a great place to stay, and plan to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyMcCoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

I stayed at Pinedale Lodge in the winter of 08 - I was meant to stay just one night but ended up making it my base for my travels around the south island. Clean, friendly, comfortable - great lounge area with pool table, tv, films etc. Roaring fire perfect after a day at Hutt or one of the club fields. Loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saljufalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Methven hotels
0.2 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Whitestone Cottages
Whitestone Cottages
#3 of 9 in Methven
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Pub Methven
Blue Pub Methven
#9 of 9 in Methven
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 19 in Methven
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#3 of 19 in Methven
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinedale Lodge & Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinedale Lodge & Apartment

Address: 11 Alford Street, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Methven
Price Range: £56 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinedale Lodge & Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP Pinedale Lodge is Methven's largest holiday home and perfect for groups from 8 - 24 people, with 4 large family bedrooms and 1 twin bedroom and a tiered room rate for flexibility. Insulated and warm with 2 large living areas each with a fire place to relax around, pool table, long dining tables, high-definition freeview TV, video and DVD players. Large book and video libraries. If your group is 4 or less, then the Pinedale Apartment would suit you - a family friendly, fully self contained 2 bedroom space. Both holiday houses come with iPod docking stations, fully equipped kitchen with lots of storage space and a dishwasher. Plenty of off-street parking, a lockable shed for sports gear/bikes, WiFi access available for extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pinedale Lodge & Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing