We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hosts, great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pinedale Lodge & Apartment
Ranked #8 of 9 Methven B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 December 2010

We stayed in the apartment for 2 nights. The apartment was cozy and spacious, with a well equipped kitchen. As the apartment is situated separately from the lodge, it offers plenty of privacy as well. It comes with 2 bedrooms and a small garden. Perfect for small families in my opinion. Tim and Penny (the hosts) were warm, friendly and very helpful. If you are heading up to Mt Hutt, you could get them to help you book tickets for the bus. The location is also rather centralized with a Foursquare supermarket just round the corner and also lots of ski rental places. Methven is a small town, but a great gateway to many world class ski resorts with really warm people all round. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia_jng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2010

The Pinedale apartment has a really homely feel to it and provides all the little extras that make holidaying so much easier. The kitchen is decked out with all you need to cook for yourself and apartment is quite spacious. We had an awesome week there - and couldn't fault anything.

Penny and Tim are great hosts and nothing is too much trouble. To top a great week, when we left, they discovered I had left my passport behind. They managed to get it to the Christchurch airport before I even knew I had left it behind. Now that's amazing service!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brentlammas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

My daughter and I loved our stay in the Apartment and the hospitality shown to us by Penny and her husband Tim. The Apartment was spacious, clean and modern. Right in the centre of Methven. If you were going skiing up Mt Hutt, a bus would pick you up out the front.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princessmuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed at the Lodge on a recent trip to methven as a base for a day at Mt Hutt. The staff were fantatsic and the accomodation was very good. The facilities were also great. We wouldnt hesitate staying here again on our next trip to the snow!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reganol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

My friends and I stayed at Pinedale for four nights in the Ski Season this year and had a great time. Everyone was really friendly and not having a car didn't matter because they managed to take us everywhere we wanted to go in the Pinedale Van at a cheaper price than renting a car.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_Style_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Beautifully renovated hostel in an old style cottage. Warm open fire, Plenty of kitchen space, and social space. Very friendly, genuine and helpful owners. Great base for back country tramping or the snow fields of Mt Hutt.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treeadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

I recently stayed at the Pinedale Lodge in Methven.
I stayed for just under 3 weeks. From the moment that I arrived I experienced the most friendly service from the owners Penny and Tim.
Pinedale is a clean and comfortable boutique lodge style hostel with a very homely atmosphere, not your typical backpackers lodge in that respect.
Penny and Tim did everything they could to ensure my stay was as enjoyable as possible. They even personally ensured that I have transport to the mountain every day.
I will be definitely returning to stay with them again and would highly recommend Pinedale to all of my friends travelling to Methven.
One of the best backpacking experiences that I have had due to the outstanding service supplied.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Methven hotels
0.2 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Whitestone Cottages
Whitestone Cottages
#3 of 9 in Methven
22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Pub Methven
Blue Pub Methven
#9 of 9 in Methven
74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 19 in Methven
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#3 of 19 in Methven
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinedale Lodge & Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinedale Lodge & Apartment

Address: 11 Alford Street, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Methven
Price Range: £56 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pinedale Lodge & Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP Pinedale Lodge is Methven's largest holiday home and perfect for groups from 8 - 24 people, with 4 large family bedrooms and 1 twin bedroom and a tiered room rate for flexibility. Insulated and warm with 2 large living areas each with a fire place to relax around, pool table, long dining tables, high-definition freeview TV, video and DVD players. Large book and video libraries. If your group is 4 or less, then the Pinedale Apartment would suit you - a family friendly, fully self contained 2 bedroom space. Both holiday houses come with iPod docking stations, fully equipped kitchen with lots of storage space and a dishwasher. Plenty of off-street parking, a lockable shed for sports gear/bikes, WiFi access available for extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pinedale Lodge & Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing