We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first stop in New Zealand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Methven Motels & Apartments
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Methven
San Jose
Level Contributor
418 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Our first stop in New Zealand”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

More than adequate hotel. Greeted by wintery conditions in the area. Rooms took a while to heat up. Bring your slippers as the tile floors in the kitchenette and bathroom were never warm!

Great to have kitchenette facilities as we adjusted to the time change and woke up very early.

Family friendly bed arrangements.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100countries_or_bust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mocksey, Owner at Methven Motels & Apartments, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Our bathroom's all have underfloor heating. Sorry you missed the switch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    14
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed one night here looking for a quiet night in a two bedroom apartment. It cost one hundred dollars and was perfect. Spacious with lounge, kitchen etc, spotlessly clean just a bit older. I wish we could find more accommodation like this for such a great price. Very friendly owner and easy walk to shops, pubs, resturants.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Enjoyed our stay. Nice spacious and clean rooms with good amenities and in walking distance of town. Everything worked and washing facilities and drier helped make the stay hassle free. Internet access intermittent but a basic service that was functional.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sawtell, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

we stayed here for our 3 days skiing at Mt Hutt...we drove around looking for somewhere to stay and this motel was excellent value for money and clean.
It was quiet,peaceful and rooms were very spacious for our family of 5.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiemum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This is a comfortable motel, easy walking distance to restaurants; we had a good, quiet unit down the back of the complex. Standard motel with friendly service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otagotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed over in Methven to break our trip. Clean, quiet, comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rat1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akaroa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Spent one night here with my daughter in April. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was really nice. Loved the electric blankets! We'll be back for some skiing this winter. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Methven
0.6 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
122 reviews
8.9 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Pub Methven
Blue Pub Methven
#3 of 10 in Methven
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abisko Lodge and Apartments
0.2 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#4 of 20 in Methven
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 20 in Methven
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methven Motels & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methven Motels & Apartments

Property: Methven Motels & Apartments
Address: 197 Main Street, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Methven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Methven Motels & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Methven Motels & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing