We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Redwood Lodge
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We booked in with Redwood Lodge to stay when we first got to Methven after getting jobs at Mt Hutt Ski Area. From day one, Martin and Liz were the most helpful and kind people we have come across. I've been to a lot of places in a lot of countries over the past few years and I have never felt so welcome and happy as I have in Redwood Lodge. Martin has gone out of his way to try and find us accommodation and took us hillwalking before the season started, and joined in with poker games and shared stories with us. They've made our move to Methven as easy as it could have been. The hotel itself is lovely. They've done-up most of the rooms since they took over and they're lovely, cosy, warm rooms. The living room and kitchen are the best I've seen. A great fire and large living room and a great kitchen with loads of pots and pans and fridge space. If you're coming skiing in Mt Hutt or just passing through Methven, I'd highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alecpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
17
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

It has been the second time that we've stayed with Liz and Martin and we will definitely come back. This couple is extremely welcoming and friendly and the facilities make you feel at home. The beds are comfortable, everything is clean and an extremely cozy communal area (that includes a fantastic fire place) is the cherry on top of the cake. Don't look any further!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TiagoLamySilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

In the 6 weeks we have been in NZ we have stayed all sorts of places, camper vans, huts, homes, nice b&bs, but Redwood has some of the most comfortable beds. The accommodations were clean and everyone was very friendly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We were looking for a place in Methven that would hold 20+ people and Martin kindly agreed to let us have the whole of Redwood Lodge for the weekend exclusively. It could'nt have been better, Martin was a great host nothing was too much trouble and he even joined in the karaoke with us for a few songs, great voice by the way Martin. The whole place was extremely clean, nice modern bedding and towels, all we needed to take was ourselves, clothes and food. He had lit the fire for us in the morning but it got too hot so we asked if he could put the fire out and re-light it again later which he did. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed, the garden was lovely to sit in and had plenty of seating for everyone, there was even a BBQ we could have used if we wanted to. We all had an awesome time and have already asked to book again for next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlelockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was our favourite place in New Zealand. The living area is comfortable, the kitchen is very well equipped, the bed is very comfortable and everything is very clean. Liz and Martin are wonderful hosts - very friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We were there in January/February at the beginning and end of our time in New Zealand and enjoyed the quiet peacefulness. It is an hour or so from Christchurch so for us was a good option on arrival rather than staying in the city. We arrived cold and tired to find a pot-bellied stove warming the living room, Martin waiting to greet us and help us with our luggage, and the heater making our room cosy and warm. We had an ensuite room and linen and towels are included. We woke next morning to sunshine and views of snow-capped mountains from the kitchen. It was a perfect start to our time in New Zealand and we were very happy to return near the end of our travels. An ideal place to stay for a week in the summer or in the ski season.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 578SusanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staunton, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Excellent value and quality accommodation I have made Methven a base in South Island because of Redwood Lodge. Liz and Martin are wonderful hosts. Cleanliness is 5 star, as are kitchen facilities; quiet location; coziness of lounge; en suite facilities; amenities..(T.V. bike use, patio and B.B.Q area; library ). SUPERB!

Room Tip: All rooms slept in (3) excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yeldivad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night, with our 7month old baby with us. They were very helpful, setting up a portacot for us, which made our late night arrival much easier. The facilities were very clean & tidy, and we appreciated the comfy beds & linen.

The kitchen is well equipped and there is a very comfy lounge to relax in. Well stocked book exchange :).

Would not hesitate to recommend.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mcfnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Methven
0.2 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
9.5 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abisko Lodge and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Skibo house B&B
Skibo house B&B
#1 of 11 in Methven
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 21 in Methven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Pub Methven
Blue Pub Methven
#3 of 11 in Methven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Lodge

Property: Redwood Lodge
Address: 3 Wayne Place, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Methven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Redwood Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Redwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing