We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and relaxed”
Review of Alpenhorn Chalet

Alpenhorn Chalet
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Methven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpenhorn Chalet
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic and relaxed”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We are towards the end of a six week stay in NZ and this lovely and rustic single storey cottage was one of the very best budget places we have stayed in. It is very clean, characterful, has great facilities and also very warm hosts. The kitchen is the best equipped we have come across and the conservatory and garden are perfect for kicking back and relaxing. The bedrooms are cosy and very comfortable. There's not a lot to do around Methven in the summer apart from some nice walks in the nearby hills, but that's the point really. Come here for three nights minimum and switch off !

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Overview-
Basic lodge style accommodation, 3 min walk to the town centre but in a residential street so it's very quiet. Very casual and relaxed, you check yourself in if there's no one home when you arrive! Clean and well maintained. Linen included. Cosy decor, especially the shared kitchen (comfy couches and wooden floors). Methven is the closest town to Mt Hutt. 2 supermarkets in town centre for self catering. Owners are friendly but they have day jobs so you are pretty much left to your own devices. This place is not for people who need lots of coddling.

Rooms (we stayed in the ensuite double)-
Powderhounds describes Methven is "cheap as chips", but it's definitely not. most places we found on the internet are at least NZD120-150 for an ensuite double in winter, so we were very lucky to get the ensuite at Alpenhorn. Beds are soft and comfy, with plenty of space to unpack your stuff. Shower room is separate from the toilet. Shower pressure considered medium, and takes a while to get hot but after that it's fine. Towels are provided. No toiletries provided, obviously. Do note that the ensuite double is next to the solar (where the hot tub is) and the main entrance so there will be people banging the door on their way in and out at peak times. We are totally fine with that but if you are a fusspot you should take note.

Facilities-
The shared kitchen is well stocked with crockery/cutlery/utensils, dishwasher (!!!) and whatever misc. condiments/seasonings previous guests have left behind. Small hot tub is located in the solar and good enough for 2-3pax at a time. The lodge was quite empty during our stay so we had it all to ourselves after a big group departed! Wifi was NZD5 per day or NZD10 per week and accessible throughout the lodge. Enough parking space for a couple of cars, but it's also safe to park on the street.

Prices-
Prices as at Aug2013: NZD30 for a dorm bed (2 dorms with 5 or 6 beds), 2 double rooms without ensuite (NZD65 or 75), 1 double with ensuite (NZD85). These are all stated on the website.

Room Tip: only 1 ensuite double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeyondBanalityBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I will definitely come back to this hostel. I was solo on this trip so stayed in a dorm. The dorm had 5 beds and was very clean and comfortable. There was the option of staying in one of three double bedrooms which I will do when I come back with my husband. The bathrooms are clean. The best part is the open plan kitchen and living area which you share with the very friendly hosts. This is very social and has a fire and lots of friendly talk while people cook their meals. There is also a sunroom with a spa. I spent an afternoon basking in the sun when the skifield shut for the afternoon. A large tabby cat kept me company. This is excellent accomadation for the price.

Room Tip: For added privacy you could get a double room with ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Very charming very small hostel. My husband and I had a double room equal to a fine B&B. The kitchen is the owners kitchen also so it is huge and spotless. Bathrooms are clean and well equipped although coed. Set on a quiet residential street with a solarium and nice yard. Well worth the stay.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We hadn't intended to stay overnight in Methven but after a day on the road in our camper in the freezing and pouring rain we decided we really needed a bit of luxury for the evening. Prices for accommodation in Methven were astonishingly high (due to the proximity to Mt Hutt and the demand from skiers/snowboarders) but we'd read about Alpenhorn in our lonely planet guide as a budget option so we stopped by to check it out.

When we arrived the owners weren't home but there was a sign on the door showing availability and offering for potential guests to let themselves in and have a look around, which we thought was a nice touch.

We checked out the available rooms - the cheapest of which was $65 and was a fair size, clean and next to the bathroom. We left to check out other places around Methven but Alpenhorn was by far the cheapest so we headed back and found one of the owners had just returned home and helped us get checked in. He was nice enough but a bit awkward around us and with none of the other guests being home this is turn made us feel a bit awkward...a bit like we were intruding in someone else's home.

We spent some time hanging out in the lounge reading in front of the big log fire as we found the bedroom a bit cold until the heating kicked in during the late afternoon. A big bonus was having the free-to-use hot tub in the conservatory from 4pm which helped us warm up!

When the other guests returned home in the evening we had a great time socialising with them in the lounge, but we still felt a bit awkward around the owner when he joined us for dinner. He was fine with the other guests but admittedly many had been there for the winter season and we had only arrived that day, still, I felt that the fact we weren't skiers or snowboarders meant we were kind of marked as outsiders!

We only caught a glimpse of the co-owner Emma when she returned home from work that evening and unfortunately she seemed to have had a bad day (fair enough, we all have them!) so after a brief hello both owners disappeared back upstairs to their own accommodation.

Overall, Alpenhorn offers clean, good-value accommodation and the free coffee and hot tub is an obvious bonus - particularly in an area where decent priced accommodation seems hard to come by. Based on our experience though I probably wouldn't stay there again - I guess we just weren't quite the usual guests and maybe caught the owners on an off day!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenorchy, null, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

A small, friendly, family run hostel with a great atmosphere and good facilities. Slightly out of the town centre which is nice, and the hot tub is great especially after a hard days skiing!! the rooms were clean, well kept and the beds were comfy. Free internet and tea and coffee was also a bonus!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olivia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Louth, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My daughter and I had a fantastic night here , on our 2nd last night in the South Island. We wanted one final quiet spot before we went on to Christchurch and Wellington. It is a little haven of comfort and homeliness. We arrived on a lovely sunny afternoon and sat out on the lawn at the back of the house. There is sun room and a beautiful kitchen with a wood stove and free internet. Probably one of the more memorable places we stayed during our 5 weeks in NZealand - many thanks to Emma the co-owner/hostess - she is doing a great job!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Methven hotels
0.6 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Snow Denn Lodge
Snow Denn Lodge
#17 of 20 in Methven
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#3 of 20 in Methven
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 20 in Methven
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Big Tree Lodge Methven
Big Tree Lodge Methven
#13 of 20 in Methven
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhorn Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhorn Chalet

Property: Alpenhorn Chalet
Address: 44 Allen Street, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Methven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpenhorn has a distinct alpine and homely rustic feel. Fabulous facilities include, central heating & log burner, free spa, internet, espresso coffee & fresh linen. Fully equipped kitchen & laundry. We are a small, friendly backpackers that sleeps a maximum of 17 people, so if you're looking to get away from the bustle of a larger backpackers or are a larger group wanting to have the place to yourselves, we are what you are looking for. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing