We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just love it!”
Review of Glenview Farmstay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Methven
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenview Farmstay
Ranked #7 of 10 Methven B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just love it!”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I just love to visit Helen and Mike! Been there once then fell in love with them totally... couldnt help myself to just go back to visit them all the time. Most friendly kiwis, love people and REAL farmers! They do it simply for interest not income! I had took friends and family to their place to visit as well, they all wanna go back just like me.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We had a small wedding ceremony on their property and spent two nights in their cottage. The location is absolutely stunning with amazing views and sounds. Helen and Mike looked after us very well and even went beyond what we expected. Being friendly and always willing to help. It doesn't hurt that they have adorable and friendly pets. They have a great knowledge of the area and gave us great tips and suggestions on how to spend our time. The farm tour was really interesting and we learned a lot about the animals and their farm. They were very accomodating to our dietary requirements and overall we felt very well looked after more like family than guests.
We recommend staying here to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayferer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Helen and Mike were the perfect hosts for our one night stopover. We stayed in the cottage next to their house, making it more cosy and less obtrusive, as some B&B's can be. Helen cooked us a delicious lamb roast and freshly roast vegetables from her garden, the perfect last supper in New Zealand. Mike then showed us the farm across the many acres of lamb and cows with stunning views of the mountains in the background. Breakfast was equally as tasty and as per the previous review, we felt we really did leave as friends. Highly recommended for that down-to-earth Kiwi hospitality found abundant throughout the country.

Room Tip: The cottage offer privacy and can accomodate families as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueandTimP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nsw
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

This a great spot approximately 1 hour out of Christchurch near Mt Hutt.
Helen and Mike are great hosts and welcome you to their property and could not do more for you. It is a great location with fantastic views across the farm.
You arrive strangers and leave friends. Helens breakfasts are great, and also offers dinner if you just want to chill out after a days travelling and not go into town (approx 10 minutes) to the restaurants.
There is no hustle or bustle just a relaxed environment where you are truly guests of the house and despite having a farm to run, they spend as much or as little time as you wish with them ( I appreciate this may not always be the case, depending on time of year). This was our last stop before leaving NZ and was a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amotogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Methven
8.0 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
252 reviews
6.2 mi away
Methven Resort Hotel
Methven Resort Hotel
#1 of 2 in Methven
125 reviews
5.9 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 20 in Methven
100 reviews
6.1 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#4 of 20 in Methven
171 reviews
6.1 mi away
Blue Pub Methven
Blue Pub Methven
#3 of 10 in Methven
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Farmstay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Farmstay

Property: Glenview Farmstay
Address: 142 Hart Road, Methven 7782, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Methven
Number of rooms: 51

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing