We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Methven Resort Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Methven
Reviewed 18 March 2013

nice hotel,very light and airy public areas.the owner/manager Mark was a real character, very funny and quirky personality.
our room was good,but was on ground floor and overlooking the carpark.the swimming pool was a lovely surprise,large,clean and plenty of space around it, very welcome on a hot day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0lly1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

Just wanted to thank the folks here for taking us in, we had just completed a 7 hour drive down from Picton after a 3 hour ferry over from Wellington. All the hotels and motels along the way were booked due to local's in Christchurch being forced out of their homes due to the earthquake. This was a very nice resort, clean and the bed was comfortable and very welcomed. :) They booked us in on short notice, 15 minutes.

Thanks again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QuincytheCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We stayed at this resort for a short weekend break during late January. Mark the host is extremely welcoming and hospitable and the accommodation was clean and comfortable. We were very impressed with the pool, which would have to be one of the nicest pools I have swam in at a resort. it was so lovely and warm and the children had plenty of room to play and swim without disturbing other groups in the pool. We will definately come back for another visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chittyNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Arriving weary late at night having not been able to get accommodation in Christchurch at short notice, I was very glad to have such a warm welcome. Mark showed me around, including the heated outdoor pools, & advised on the best options in town for food. The room & bathroom were spotless & spacious, & the bed comfortable. It's less than 5 mins walk into town with plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingKarrieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This was our third visit to this hotel on our way to Wanaka. The staff/owners are very friendly and do their best to make you welcome and can give you very good local information.
The hotel rooms are large, clean and comfortable and of a good New Zealand standard. The food is really excellent!
They have hot thermal pools in the grounds to relax in plus a very good lengths swimming pool. In the winter months it is very convenient for the ski fields.

Room Tip: This hotel is popular for large functions. Just check what is on when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K3ntishmaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

this is the second time we have stayed here and once again it was great. the staff are very friendly and helpful. the meals are great!! the pool is so nice. the rooms are very clean and the bed was comfy with nice pillows. thank you ann and mark!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

The hotel was adequate for our purposes as we had to cross the alps due to a road washout and we booked it at the last minute. Was good value for money, the room was clean and basic. Pool was being used by a swimming camp which meant that it couldn't be used and the weather was hot. Looked at the hotel menu but chose to eat at a local pub. Got the impression it would be busy in the ski season where it would be booked out by groups. Overall had an "institutional feel" exacerbated by the kids on swimming camp. Fine for one night.

Room Tip: I believe that all rooms are studios and the same - the third floor may offer a view, we looked onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossY415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Methven
9.4 mi away
Terrace Downs Resort
Terrace Downs Resort
#1 of 1 in Windwhistle
283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Methven Motels & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Blue Pub Methven
Blue Pub Methven
#9 of 9 in Methven
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brinkley Resort
Brinkley Resort
#3 of 20 in Methven
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ski Time
Ski Time
#1 of 20 in Methven
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skibo house B&B
Skibo house B&B
#1 of 9 in Methven
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Methven Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Methven Resort Hotel

Address: 51 Main Street | Mt. Hutt Village, Methven 7730, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Methven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Methven
Price Range: £60 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Methven Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Methven Resort hotel offers 47 very comfortable en-suite rooms, each with their own flat screen TV, Tea and coffee facilities, Fridge and desk. Wifi is available. The hotel features it's own fully licensed restaurant with affordable dining options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our downstairs bar has relaxed seating, open fire place, poolside and patio access, flat screen tv, pool table and a selection of games for the family to enjoy. We also have a 25 metre outdoor swimming pool, heated during summer months only and 3 luxurious outdoor heated hotpools in operation all year. We look forward to your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Methven Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Methven Hotel Methven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing