We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from The Helicopter Line Mount Cook tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience The Helicopter Line Mount Cook
from US$410.50
More Info
from US$291.20
More Info
from US$336.80
More Info
from US$456.10
More Info
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveller rating
125
24
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
24
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snow landing heli hike minute flight mount cook tasman glacier alpine vista points of interest smooth landing pilot jim an amazing experience professional staff cool experience once in a lifetime amazing views take pictures safety briefing highest peak
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 161 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2018 via mobile

Great check in and briefing experience with Lana. Flight was so smooth. Guides were great. Glacier features took your breathe away.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank grahamblok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2018

Hi There Graham,
Thanks for taking the time to write this fantastic review about our Tasman Glacier Heli Hike. From your photos, it looks like you had a fantastic time and the beauty of the glacier really was showcased to you on this day. We will make sure to pass your thanks on to Lana and the team who, I’m sure, will be thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the trip.
Thanks again and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the Mackenzie Country,
The Team at The Helicopter Line - Mount Cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

I can't thank Lana enough for been so warm and welcoming on arrival and Sara for been such a pleasure to fly with she was superb and very informative.
Chris was a fantastic guide and very informative of all aspects glacier

My husband and I had such an amazing experience and we could recommend the team from the helicopter line any higher they really do go above and beyond.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank LoveTravel825226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Hi there Heidel,

Thank you so for taking the time to write this fantastic review about our staff and your Heli Hike experience. We will be sure to pass this feedback onto Lana, Sara and Chris – it sounds like you had the “dream team” on this day helping to make your experience one to never forget. We are so proud of the products we have to offer, so hearing a review like this is just wonderful and we couldn’t be happier to hear how much you loved your Helicopter Line – Above and Beyond experience.

Cheers,
From the Team at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Had an awesome heli hike with this company. More expensive than the Franz Jozeph one, but worth every penny! The heli flight gives you awesome views and the walk on the glacier is amazing. My guide Chris could tell me a lot about the glacier and stuff and we were so lucky to get into 2 ive caves. If you are looking for an awesome experience really do this one!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Fallon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi There,
Thanks for your fantastic review of the Tasman Glacier Heli Hike. You would’ve experienced a slightly more expensive trip due to our proximity to the Glacier. We are a little bit further away from the Tasman Glacier, meaning you would have experienced a twice as long scenic flight time in to our landing location on the Glacier as you would in Franz Josef. We will make sure to pass your kind words on to Chris, he is a fantastic guide, and like all of our Glacier guides, is incredibly knowledgeable on the Tasman Glacier and surrounding areas.
Once again, thanks for your fantastic review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
The Team at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

A great experience. Good view at all Seats. Good explanation of the pilot. Good
Safety info.
Most stunning scenic view. Landing on the Glacier with enough time to make pictures and see the amazing surrounding.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank B9321CJbrigitteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi Brigitte,
Thanks for your “amazing” response of our scenic helicopter flights. As you mentioned the fleet of AS350 Squirrel helicopters that we operate allow fantastic viewing from all seats and our pilots are all extremely experienced at flying in the mountains and within our alpine environment. The snow landings we provide allow just enough time to take as many pictures as you require without getting too chilly!
Once again, thanks for your awesome review and we’re glad you enjoyed your flight experience with us.
Cheers,
The Team at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

We did the helicopter tour with landing on the snow. The pilot was very friendly and informative. He also took great pictures for us. The views are spectacular but remember the trip is weather dependent. Be prepared for an alternative day in case the weather doesn’t cooperate.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank tjbbackdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hello there,
Thank you for taking the time to give us this fantastic review! As you mentioned, all of our flights include snow landings in the most stunning remote alpine locations. Our pilots are all very talented at what they do and are happy to help you capture the perfect photo. Yes, as you said, the weather can sometimes restrict our flight availability, so we recommend calling us in advance to check the weather forecast so that we can help you to work out when the best time to fly with us might be.
Thanks again for your fantastic review and we hope you continued to enjoy your time in Mount Cook.
Kind Regards,
The Team at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

This experience has topped anything I have ever done. Such a magical experience and I would love to come back and do it again with my family

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank jessec00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi There,
Thanks for the 5-star review of your helicopter experience with us. We are so lucky to be able to share the alpine environment, remote landing sites and beauty right at our backdoor with explorers like yourselves. We hope to see you back in the near future and will welcome your family to enjoy the experiences we have on offer.
Thanks again,
The Team at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews