We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00

Book In Advance

Start Date
End Date
Tours from The Helicopter Line Mount Cook tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience The Helicopter Line Mount Cook
from US$189.89
More Info
from US$337.59
More Info
from US$291.88
More Info
from US$411.44
More Info
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
131
25
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
25
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snow landing heli hike minute flight tasman glacier mount cook pilot jim ground staff new zealand smooth landing scenic flight an amazing experience once in a lifetime amazing views ice cave highest peak his job blue skies
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2019

We went on the Mt Cook Helicopter Flight and Tasman Glacier Walk. Our guide Simon had great glacier knowledge, a good sense of humor, and was an excellent host during our tour. We had very gusty winds, and weren't sure if we were even going to be able to fly, but our pilot Alex maneuvered the heli in a way that made us feel safe and relaxed. Our time exploring the glacier was enthralling. I was surprised by the beauty of the variations in the ice, and how there was such a contrast in colors. This is a must do excursion if you're in the Mt Cook area.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank SoCalQTPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, General Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to write this great review of our Tasman Glacier Heli Hike. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the trip with us. It sounds like you had a blast on the ice with Simon, he’s an excellent guide and we will be sure to pass your kind comments on to him. Safety is always a priority for us, and your pilot Alex has many years of experience flying in the mountains, so you were in very safe hands. You chose a wonderful time of year to visit the glacier, when some of it’s best features can be seen on display, as seen in your photos.
Once again, thanks for this amazing review and for posting some awesome photos. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Kind Regards,
The Team at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2019 via mobile

The staff were lovely and it’s an amazing way to see the area! We got to stop on the snow and get out which was awesome
Our pilot Jim had lots of good information about the area.
We were lucky it was a super clear day so had great views.
There is a cute cafe if you need to wait for your flight which also has a great view.
Highly recommend seeing mt cook via air!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 663samarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, Front Office Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2019

Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this review of your scenic flight experience with our team. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed the trip and from your photos it sure looks like you had a wonderful time. We will be sure to pass your thanks on to Jim. He is super experienced at flying in the Aoraki Mount Cook National Park and knows the area incredibly well.
Thank you too for your kind comments about our Tasman Delta cafe. It sure is the perfect place to have a coffee and take in the view whilst waiting for your flight departure.

Once again, thanks for your review and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time spent in the Mackenzie Region.

Kind Regards,
The Team at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2019

Took the option to get flown up to Tasman, dropped off, hiked for a couple hours, then return. We were well prepared with gear, including crampons. Scenic flight up and back, and very well prepared guide and subsequent hike.Fortunately a sunny warm day made it very easy. we also hiked down into and through a tube in the glacier. A great experience. Shorts are forbidden. Wear gloves.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, General Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2019

Hi Dave,

Thank you for taking the time to write this 5-star review of the Tasman Glacier Heli Hike. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the trip with us. It sounds like you had some lovely weather on the day of your trip. Summer, for us, provides such nice warm and sunny days, even on the glacier! As for the clothing you will need, feel free to talk to the team on the day of the trip. The conditions on the glacier can be variable from day to day and we are always assessing what items of clothing you will need, and are happy to provide you with these things if you don't have them.

Once again, thank you for the review and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Kind regards,

The Team at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2019 via mobile

Ice cave. Massive crevasses. Walking at the foot of Mt Cook, in crampons. Being on the longest glacier in New Zealand. And doing it via helicopter. Rating writes itself. Add on super service and guide...it’s not a rating. It’s about creating a memory which can’t be rated. Incredible time!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Mike54BU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, General Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2019

Hi Mike,
Thanks for your wonderful review of our Tasman Glacier Heli Hike. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed each and every element of your trip. We are stoked to hear of the wonderful memories you created and hope you continued to enjoy the rest of your time in the Aoraki Mount Cook National Park and in New Zealand.
Kind Regards,
The Team at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2019 via mobile

Amazing 35 minute flight with glacier landing. Pilots and ground staff were exceptionally friendly and professional. I highly recommend and would definitely go again.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Fi-Fi4740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, General Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2019

Hi There,
Thanks for taking the time to write this 5-star review of our 35 minute Alpine Explorer scenic flight with snow landing. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience and interactions with the pilots and ground crew. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Kind Regards,
The Team at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2019

This was the highlight of my trip to NZ. Thankfully, we were treated to amazing weather and were able to do a Heli-hike on the Tasman glacier, with a short scenic flight there and back. It was a truly incredible, once in a lifetime experience that I'd recommend to anyone. All the staff were knowledgeable, helpful and just all-round awesome. If you do one outdoor experience in New Zealand, make it this.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TotallyTourism, General Manager at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2019

Hi Lauren,
Thank you for taking the time to write this awesome review of your Tasman Glacier Heli Hike experience. We are pleased to hear we could help to make your holiday in New Zealand a memorable one. Our Heli Hike is such a unique way to experience the Tasman Glacier and Mount Cook with both a scenic flight, and time to hike along the glacier and experience some of the incredible glacial features on offer. We will be sure to pass your thanks on to our Heli Hiking team, they do an awesome job of making sure everyone gets the most out of the experience.
Once again, thank you for the awesome review. We are pleased we could be a part of making your experience here one to remember and hopefully we will see you again sometime in the future.
Kind Regards,
The Team at The Helicopter Line Mount Cook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews