We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at glen tanner was great accommodation and good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
Reviewed 7 January 2014

It was great been able to have room on our own and toilet and sink. Great facilities for the cost.

Very clean and tidy and great facilities in kitchen, dining and great able to leave kids doing puzzles while preparing meals.

Thanks glen tanner for giving our last night in South Island a great experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pebbles6919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (736)
There are newer reviews for Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 561 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We are an NZ family with small children who stayed for a few nights but gave up with lousy weather! The campsite itself is lovely, but a few changes would make it even better for kids. The traffic through the park is too fast. A few speed bumps might slow some of the campervan drivers down as they whizz round.
The kids loved running round outside looking for rabbits and feeding the pheasants. It would've nice to have a kids play area too.
The facilities were fine, the lounge area and bathrooms were always warm. A bit pricey for a powered site, but we enjoyed ourselves except for the weather. We will come back when the forecast is better.

Room Tip: Had a powered site.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glentanner, Marketing Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Glad you and your children had a great time in all our space! Thank you for your comments and suggestions on making our park even more child friendly, these have been passed on to other staff members.

We look forward to seeing you when the weather is nice and settled, hopefully very soon!

Kind Regards,

Kate Ivey and the Team at Glentanner Park Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Mt. Cook is spectacular and definitely worth the visit. Hotels right at Mt. Cook are very expensive and Glentanner, being only 10 minutes away, was a better deal, although still overpriced for what it offers. The rooms are tiny and crowded with so many bunks there's almost no room for luggage. Bathrooms and kitchen are a bit far away but clean. The kitchen is stocked with lots of utensils, pots/pans, etc. and enough refrigerator space. Dining room was very loud when we were there, the place might be great for large groups, but it feels too "industrial" for smaller groups. The café has limited food choices although it's not expensive. We stayed 2 nights and that was plenty. Next time I'd stay in a self-contained unit.

Room Tip: Basic cabins are very small and too crowded with bunks. Go for an upgrade and get a room with bath s...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucysworldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We chose Glentanner as the venue for our wedding and stayed in one of the self contained motel units. The unit was excellent, spotless facilities and the bathroom and kitchen had been renovated since we had last stayed ( I am a repeat customer of Glentanner and have stayed there every time I have visited the region). We also enjoyed the use of the BBQ area where we could share meals with friends and use the BBQ free of charge. Highly recommend staying here and I will again and again!

Room Tip: Self contained motel units are worth the money paid.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glentanner, Marketing Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to have your wedding here! We absolutely loved having you! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

The GT Team

P.S Would love to see your photos?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We booked a basic cabin and found it clean and comfortable for three people. On the day we arrived (26/12) the cafe was unexpectedly closed so we had to go looking for somewhere to eat in Mt Cook. The kitchen utensils were lacking in some regards and we had to ask for spoons which no doubt were being pocketed by travelers. Other than that we found everything else was great, including the showers and toilets.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glentanner, Marketing Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you very much for you review. Great to hear you had such a great time here.

Sorry for the inconvenience caused by our Cafe not being open. I spoke to the team at Tasman Delta Cafe and they pass on their regards. The team had a really busy night on Christmas Day and things were quiet on boxing day, so they closed at 6pm to give their staff a Christmas Break.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Glentanner. We hope to see you back here in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kate Ivey and the Team at Glentanner Park Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in the self contained unit which was good, clean and comfortable. The sofa opened into a queen sized bed, then another queen and a single, so we all fit in fine. It's a tight fit but who cares when the whole idea of Glentanner is to be OUTSIDE! Look at the stars at night ! Walk down to the river! I looked at the shared kitchen facilities and they looked really clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FamilyLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We have booked some over priced bunk beds here which hardly have any matress left. Also the beds are tiny and crammed into a small room. Blankets are not included and for rent for $8 a day. Luckily, you get clean sheet then as well. The kitchen is in a pretty crappy state and greasy as well. There is not enough cutlery. Internet is only available inside the hotspot, and only free for half an hour (but that is quite normal for NZ).

The only thing I liked about the place was the view on the lake with the mountains on the other side.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Piepz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glentanner, Marketing Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review. Very sorry to hear you did not have the best time here at Glentanner but happy to hear your enjoyed the lake and mountain views.

With regards to the beds I have passed this onto the rest of our staff to look into. We seem to have a few comments on the beds in our dorm or standard units recently so we will be looking into it. The kitchen is cleaned daily by our great caretakers and their team – as reflected in our other reviews it is normally perfectly clean and tidy so I can only assume someone messy came in before you! We are sorry for this.

In response to the cutlery, were you here in December? As you may have read in reviews over the last few years we have a key system for the kitchen cupboard key (Pay $10 for the key and get $5 back on return), we get a number of complaints about this. The reason for this system is because in the past everything got taken. So, we took our guests comments on board and tried leaving the kitchen cupboard open, alas by the end of December everything had been taken (including 3 sets of knives, forks and spoons). So I think this may explain your lack of utensils. We have now gone back to the old pay system. We are very sorry for this and hope you can understand our predicament!

We are very proud to be offering the free Wifi for half and hour (especially in our location).

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip

Kind Regards,

Kate Ivey and the Team at Glentanner Park Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
12.5 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,975 reviews
12.2 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
343 reviews
12.2 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
264 reviews
12.2 mi away
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
#3 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
361 reviews
18.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre

Address: State Highway 80 | Glentanner, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range: £61 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glentanner Park Centre, Aoraki/Mount Cook's Holiday Park, Flightseeing and Activity Centre is sited on the shores of Lake Pukaki, with phenomenal views of Aoraki Mount Cook. Boasting the best weather in the region, Glentanner is conveniently located just 18km from Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park. Set amongst a working high country sheep station, Glentanner is kiwi at its best! We offer a range of budget accommodation options including fully equipped self contained units with own kitchenette and bathroom, standard and basic units with shared facilities, dormitory beds, power sites for caravans & camper vans & tent sites. Facilities include a large kitchen, dining and TV lounge, indoor/outdoor BBQ pavilion, laundry, ablution block, computers and WiFi internet (30 min free). In the purpose built centre you will also find a merino retail and souvenir shop and cafe. Outdoor adventure activities include helicopter flights with snow landings, scenic flights, heli-hiking, glacier boat trips, fishing, hunting and world famous walks and hikes. We look forward to welcoming you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glentanner Park Centre (Mount Cook) Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing