We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking views, not bad facilities.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I was very pleased with the service and happy with most of the facilities, however I did find the male showers to be a bit sub standard and think they could use an upgrade. In the first shower cubicle I tried to use the door latch wouldn't budge so there was no way to lock the door, so I went into another cubicle, however after stripping down and turning on the shower I discovered only a few of the jets in the shower head were working. I did travel in winter, so expected cold weather, however I do think that the shower block could also be heated in winter to make it more comfortable for customers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bevan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glentanner, Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

We are very pleased to read you were happy with the service and most of the facilities!
Thank you for letting us know before leaving about the latch on the bathroom door and the heater issue in the mens bathroom Happy to say the latch was fixed the same day!
Unfortunately someone had for some reason turned the heater off in the mens bathroom :( I appreciate you bringing it to our attention before someone else had to enter a cold bathroom, which I agree is not pleasant in the weather months.
Happy to add the shower head is now full flow as well.
Look forward to seeing you back again someday :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great location. We went outside at night and walked down to the edge of Lake Pukaki and sat down and looked up at the stars - an amazing night sky on a clear night. We woke up the next day to a perfect view of Mt Cook and mountain scape.

The cabin was pretty good. Basic, yet perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glentanner, Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you Daniel for your comments. It is great to hear people are making the most of staying here and heading down to the lake, especially on one of our beautiful clear nights!
Come visit again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

They were the most affordable place we could find on our internet search for accommodation in Mt Cook. Its not right in the Mt Cook Village, but not too far away, and totally worth staying here if you are on a budget and want a quiter place to stay.. Place was clean, showers really nice and hot! And a big fire you can light at night, with loads of firewood at the door to keep the common room nice and warm. Only down side was they lock up all the cooking utentils, plates, knives and even cups. So if you are not travelling with a big camper that has all of that you have to pay $10 to get a key (and only give you half back at end of stay). This was not told to us at check in and only just made it to reception before they closed for the night. As we were the only ones with a key, we felt bad locking it up so others could not use- so left it open - even though we were responsible for all of the stuff in there. Just seemed a little ridiculous! It is the only place in our travels in NZ so far that have done this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stacey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glentanner, Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you Stacey for your feedback. We are one of the more affordable accommodation providers in the area and we are pleased you felt it was totally worth staying here :)
I apologise you were not informed about the key to the kitchen cupboard upon check-in and thankfully you made it back to reception before it closed. Rest assured, if the reception had been closed our after hours phone would have got you directly to our camp caretakers who would have happily provided you with the key.
It is a shame we have to charge a hireage fee for the kitchen cupboard, but if we do not lock it up we are having to replace EVERYTHING every three months. We did a trial run around Xmas time of not charging for the key and leaving it unlocked..... and you may guess what happened, our pots and pans and cutlery etc walked out the door. I'm sure you felt you were doing a good thing by the campers leaving it unlocked, unfortunately not everybody is as honest as you are. The $5 fee that we keep is to replace items. Also the fact that we are affordable, as you mentioned, means this extra cost doesn't bite into the budget.
Hopefully we will see you back again one day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As we went in winter there was no water to hook up to motorhome, they turn it off over winter, why I'm not really sure. Also If you go there in winter there is no where to get an Evening meal, unless you want to eat by 5pm.
Shower and toilets although clean could really do with a revamp. Overall disappointed especially when paying upwards of $44 a night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glentanner, Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you Karen for taking the time to review your stay here and we appreciate all feedback placed.
The reason the water is turned off at the powered sites is because here, in the winter, the ground freezes due to severe frosts and snow and if we left the water on, the pipes would burst! In the common area there is a sign on our noticeboard advising that these taps are turned off and that you can get your water from a hose supplied from the bathroom facilities.
You may have noticed it was pretty quiet here too! During the winter time, this is our off season and things get pretty quiet, so it is not feasible for the cafe to be open for evening meals. However, Mt Cook Village is only a 20 minute drive down the road and offers an assortment of cafes, restaurants.
We upgraded our bathrooms last winter and have had wonderful feedback.
We hope you will come again sometime :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

A very affordable accommodation. We stayed in May 2014 the campsite had a few campers to make a very nice camp get together in the common room over a nice cup of tea. All facilities well appointed, friendly customer service and surprisingly very clean.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BOP_Not_Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glentanner, Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we are ecstatic we exceeded your expectations! Tell you friends to come stay and hopefully we will also see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A great place if you want stunning views. Basic facilities and not really much in the way of play grounds for kids. We were here in NZ autumn so there was no horse riding to enjoy. This place served our purpose and we particularly loved the stunning views. It felt like we were really camping here unlike some of the big brand places where campers are packed in closely, this place has plenty of open space.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JManderfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We found this place to be the best of all campervan sites. With all the necessary amenities (except that Water refilling was difficult), it had the cleanest facilities.

It is also not expensive as other campervan sites.

We strongly recommend to anyone who needs a comfortable stay near Mt Cook.

Room Tip: recommended for couples and small family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Srinath C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
12.5 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
2,002 reviews
12.2 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
351 reviews
12.2 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
269 reviews
12.2 mi away
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
Aoraki Mount Cook Alpine Lodge
#3 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
365 reviews
18.6 mi away
Peppers Bluewater Resort
Peppers Bluewater Resort
#3 of 4 in Lake Tekapo
3,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre

Address: State Highway 80 | Glentanner, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7946, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range: £62 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glentanner Park Centre, Aoraki/Mount Cook's Holiday Park, Flightseeing and Activity Centre is sited on the shores of Lake Pukaki, with phenomenal views of Aoraki Mount Cook. Boasting the best weather in the region, Glentanner is conveniently located just 18km from Aoraki/Mount Cook National Park. Set amongst a working high country sheep station, Glentanner is kiwi at its best! We offer a range of budget accommodation options including fully equipped self contained units with own kitchenette and bathroom, standard and basic units with shared facilities, dormitory beds, power sites for caravans & camper vans & tent sites. Facilities include a large kitchen, dining and TV lounge, indoor/outdoor BBQ pavilion, laundry, ablution block, computers and WiFi internet (30 min free). In the purpose built centre you will also find a merino retail and souvenir shop and cafe. Outdoor adventure activities include helicopter flights with snow landings, scenic flights, heli-hiking, glacier boat trips, fishing, hunting and world famous walks and hikes. We look forward to welcoming you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glentanner Park Centre (Mount Cook) Hotel Mt. Cook Village
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing