We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hermitage Hotel(Mt. Cook Village)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Godley Hotel(Lake Tekapo)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveller rating
237
314
154
48
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
314
154
48
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspowered siteholiday parklake pukakibasic cabinbbq areathe kitchencamper vanself contained unitmount cookcamping groundgreat facilitiesshared facilitiesrabbitmin driveclean facilitiesbeautiful sceneryhelicopter ride
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 773 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I was very pleased with the service and happy with most of the facilities, however I did find the male showers to be a bit sub standard and think they could use an upgrade. In the first shower cubicle I tried to use the door latch wouldn't budge so there was no way to lock the door, so I went into another cubicle, however after stripping down and turning on the shower I discovered only a few of the jets in the shower head were working. I did travel in winter, so expected cold weather, however I do think that the shower block could also be heated in winter to make it more comfortable for customers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bevan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glentanner, Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

We are very pleased to read you were happy with the service and most of the facilities!
Thank you for letting us know before leaving about the latch on the bathroom door and the heater issue in the mens bathroom Happy to say the latch was fixed the same day!
Unfortunately someone had for some reason turned the heater off in the mens bathroom :( I appreciate you bringing it to our attention before someone else had to enter a cold bathroom, which I agree is not pleasant in the weather months.
Happy to add the shower head is now full flow as well.
Look forward to seeing you back again someday :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great location. We went outside at night and walked down to the edge of Lake Pukaki and sat down and looked up at the stars - an amazing night sky on a clear night. We woke up the next day to a perfect view of Mt Cook and mountain scape.

The cabin was pretty good. Basic, yet perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glentanner, Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you Daniel for your comments. It is great to hear people are making the most of staying here and heading down to the lake, especially on one of our beautiful clear nights!
Come visit again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

They were the most affordable place we could find on our internet search for accommodation in Mt Cook. Its not right in the Mt Cook Village, but not too far away, and totally worth staying here if you are on a budget and want a quiter place to stay.. Place was clean, showers really nice and hot! And a big fire you can light at night, with loads of firewood at the door to keep the common room nice and warm. Only down side was they lock up all the cooking utentils, plates, knives and even cups. So if you are not travelling with a big camper that has all of that you have to pay $10 to get a key (and only give you half back at end of stay). This was not told to us at check in and only just made it to reception before they closed for the night. As we were the only ones with a key, we felt bad locking it up so others could not use- so left it open - even though we were responsible for all of the stuff in there. Just seemed a little ridiculous! It is the only place in our travels in NZ so far that have done this.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stacey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glentanner, Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you Stacey for your feedback. We are one of the more affordable accommodation providers in the area and we are pleased you felt it was totally worth staying here :)
I apologise you were not informed about the key to the kitchen cupboard upon check-in and thankfully you made it back to reception before it closed. Rest assured, if the reception had been closed our after hours phone would have got you directly to our camp caretakers who would have happily provided you with the key.
It is a shame we have to charge a hireage fee for the kitchen cupboard, but if we do not lock it up we are having to replace EVERYTHING every three months. We did a trial run around Xmas time of not charging for the key and leaving it unlocked..... and you may guess what happened, our pots and pans and cutlery etc walked out the door. I'm sure you felt you were doing a good thing by the campers leaving it unlocked, unfortunately not everybody is as honest as you are. The $5 fee that we keep is to replace items. Also the fact that we are affordable, as you mentioned, means this extra cost doesn't bite into the budget.
Hopefully we will see you back again one day :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

As we went in winter there was no water to hook up to motorhome, they turn it off over winter, why I'm not really sure. Also If you go there in winter there is no where to get an Evening meal, unless you want to eat by 5pm.
Shower and toilets although clean could really do with a revamp. Overall disappointed especially when paying upwards of $44 a night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glentanner, Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you Karen for taking the time to review your stay here and we appreciate all feedback placed.
The reason the water is turned off at the powered sites is because here, in the winter, the ground freezes due to severe frosts and snow and if we left the water on, the pipes would burst! In the common area there is a sign on our noticeboard advising that these taps are turned off and that you can get your water from a hose supplied from the bathroom facilities.
You may have noticed it was pretty quiet here too! During the winter time, this is our off season and things get pretty quiet, so it is not feasible for the cafe to be open for evening meals. However, Mt Cook Village is only a 20 minute drive down the road and offers an assortment of cafes, restaurants.
We upgraded our bathrooms last winter and have had wonderful feedback.
We hope you will come again sometime :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

A very affordable accommodation. We stayed in May 2014 the campsite had a few campers to make a very nice camp get together in the common room over a nice cup of tea. All facilities well appointed, friendly customer service and surprisingly very clean.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BOP_Not_Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glentanner, Manager at Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and we are ecstatic we exceeded your expectations! Tell you friends to come stay and hopefully we will also see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews