We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”

The Panorama Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Winnipeg
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great restaurant and the buffet was fantastic and well worth the money...quite a few choices...you can't beat the scenery either unless your outside or on top of the glacier on Mt. Cook......which we were....awesome view and loved the Kiwi traffic jam afterwards...sheep all around us we weren't going anywhere fast LOL....!! You would definitely enjoy your meal here...if you ever get here that is...........!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank up4it52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    69
    21
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Expensive and too elaborate”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

This restaurant which sets itself up as something special has forgotten what makes a great meal - good fresh ingredients served simply which allows the diner to enjoy each element of the meal and not be bombarded with too many flavours and extras on the plate. Whilst all of our group were impressed with the presentation of the food we all agree that this had been given too high a priority and it distracted us from the taste of the food itself e.g. You do not need to wrap venison in bacon - should have just been served by itself - medium rare with some simple vegetables - the same applied to all the other dishes - seemed the chef was trying to hard to impress and forgot the basics - great. NZ food and produce does not need this treatment - let he food speak for itself

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Don't waste your $”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We ate here for dinner and what a disappointment. There are few dinning options in the area so of course we thought we would try this restaurant as we are on vacation and looking for a nice meal. They must feel that the lack of options gives them a license for poor food and poor service as you have no choice. Well there are other choices and fortunately for us we found them for our next meals.

I can summarize my review in one word. The place is just plain sterile. Sterile atmosphere (sure there is a nice view, but that's about it), sterile service, sterile food, and all for a very high price.

They do offer a "vegas style" buffet at their other dinning room if you are into those. Maybe that is a better option if you feel you must give them your money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank navoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stunning view with excellent food”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

We made reservations during check-in at the hotel, not something we typically do but given the fact that there are not a lot of alternative options we decided to go for it. Not disappointed at all! Friendly waitresses and the food was excellent. Minor downside was the fact that our preferred wine ( Viognier) was not available so we decided to go for a different wine.
Steak was delicious and salmon is also recommended. Monika was our waitress and she was extremely helpful. If you go to Mt. Cook and want a nice dinner with stunning views go there and you are guaranteed to have an unforgettable experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Appletreelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Rude”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My friend and I travel by campervan and we were there very late. we decided to have dinner in restaurant. Then quick look a trip advisor app and found this restaurant.
The man who looks like manager asks us what is our room number. After He knew we travel by camper his face like ....(not welcome) He bring us to the table and ask where u from? We said Auckland as we live here about 5-6 years. I can't not remember all conversation but almost .see what he said!!! - you don't look like Auckland ppl ,ALK ppl looks like me,he said he has indonesian or Filipino wife( I am not sure) and he said she can hold only 1 passport not nz passport. and he didn't stop he said he used to live in auckland at Remuera ( where is rich ppl live )We like "what" We didn't think about nz citizen or something We just want to eat. I feel very sad for this restaurant because you have a staff who have negative attitude.

We actually want to leave but we tried to clam down and don't want to be rude. The foods were good and excellent presentation.However you can have the food like this anywhere !!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krataihai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Panorama Restaurant also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to The Panorama Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing