We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option”

Chamois Bar & Grill
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast
Description: The Chamois Bar & Grill offers a great range of local beers and splendid choice of different foods, from Pizzas and salads to seafood and steaks, there are plenty of meals for everyone's taste buds and dietary requirements. Sit back relax with a beverage and take in the priceless mountain views from your table or soak up the live sport on the big screen TV. Enjoy.
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Recently had a drink and a light meal here, the food was really nice. The service at the bar was very slow, so I was glad we got in just before the big line appeared. This was a good spot to enjoy a drink and a meal, especially considering the limited options in Aoraki/Mt Cook.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kaylee726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, General Manager at Chamois Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Kaylee726

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding our property, pleased you enjoyed your light meal and drinks, you are correct when mentioning the limited dining options but just so other travellers are aware, there are five restaurants total in the Mount Cook village ranging from Bar & Grill, to cafes, buffet and to an A La Carte restaurant. In terms of the slower service this has been mentioned and we are still looking into the best way to resolve this.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 173 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We ate here both nights of our study in Mt Cook. Definitely a better alternative to the overpriced meals at the Hermitage. Friendly staff, yummy meals, service a wee bit slow but a good experience

Thank Kiwisok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, General Manager at Chamois Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Kiwisok

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor and for choosing to dine here during your study time in Mount Cook.
Pleased to hear you enjoyed the overall experience; in terms to the slow service I have looked into this to see what we can do to help speed up the transaction times. I have spoken with the staff and the biggest frustration behind slow service is guests not knowing what they want but yet they stand at the counter holding up everyone else, so thinking cap is on to try and resolve this so all guests including ones that are trying to decide receive good, quick service.

Thank you for your feedback it's very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

With the limited dining options available in the Mount Cook area, this is good value for money. I'm not saying that the food was not good...good food at a reasonable price.

Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, General Manager at Chamois Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Jeff C

Thank you for the time taken to post the review about our property on TripAdvisor, you are correct when you say there are limited options, we certainly don't have a monopoly but as you said there are limited options. Pleased to hear you did enjoy yourself and we hope to see you again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Chamois has a good selection of meals and drinks and the prices are reasonable and there is also a good view to be seen from where you sit. Pancakes for breakfast is also a great choice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PatMacnz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W, General Manager at Chamois Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Patrick M

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our property on TripAdvisor and thank you for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

There’s only three restaurants in Mt Cook and we probably should have tried another. This one is set in a backpackers and is laid out in what seems to be an old refectory. The views are stunning, but the atmosphere is vacant and cheap. Bar staff were good and there’s a decent range of beers. Food was slow and poor. Our wedges took over 35 minutes because after we placed our order, a tour group turned up and they stopped everyone else’s orders just to feed this tour group. We enquired as to our wedges after 25 minutes and were told 2 minutes – 10 minutes later they arrived, badly burnt and clearly over cooked. We were too hungry to complain. We had, alas, already ordered mains while we waited – my Rib Eye was fatty and overcooked with stodgy vegetables, while my friends “Thai inspired curry” was indeed a plain Thai curry. I would look elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank torking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chamois Bar & Grill also viewed

Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Chamois Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing