We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't think so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel
Timaru City, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I don't think so”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at The Hermitage Mt Cook in October. The room was ok but the meal we had was absolutely disgusting.
We had the buffet meal at $62.00 per person and you would think that for that price that the meal would be hot but no the meats were all cold (even the roast meat they were carving) and the veges including the roast veges were all cold as well. When we complained we were told that the tourists keep opening the chafing dishes and that was why they were all cold. This was not true as the chafing dishes were cold and if they had been hot when the veges were put in them they would have stayed hot. You had to open the dishes to see what was inside them. They offered us a complimentary drink to make up for the terrible meal but I turned this down as I was hungry - not thirsty. They offered to heat the meal in the microwave but I didn't want that either as meals heated in the microwave are never as good as a hot meal properly cooked and kept warm. We had been travelling around the south Island for 2 weeks prior to this meal and it was the worst meal we had had on our travels. We certainly wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Helpful?
2 Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    689
    410
    143
    60
See reviews for
371
1,124
75
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in Chalet no 9 as we have read other reviews we had the same problems, the photos on the web sight need to be updated or the rooms need to modernised, the food and drinks are far to expensive, as we have been on holidays for a month in NZ this accommodation was very disappointing and overpriced for this type of accommodation

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Maria C

Thank you for the time you took to review The Chalets.
it is always dissappointing to read that our facilities were not up to our guests' expectations. The Chalets were originally built to provide for more lower priced accommodation at Mt Cook back in the 1970s. Since that time they were always maintained at that position and their fcailities would reflect this point. I would dearly like to enhance them but to do so would demand higher pricing - best to maintain a balance between the Hermitage, the motels and the Chalets.
The Food & Beverage pricing is trypical of comparable New zealand hotels although we are faced with operating expenses not normally experienced by city based hotels. WE operate in a National Park and as such everything we need is freighted in and all of our refuse is freighted out. in addition we have to pay concession fees to the Government department that oversees the Park which in a year is a material sum so to provide the expected services these costs have to be recovered. this may reflect in our pricing but overall does not really differ from any other tourist facility that you would find in such locations as Queenstown or Wanaka or even Auckland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level Contributor
301 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Unlike most reviewers, we stayed in a chalet, number 9, two nights. First day we had the cloud issue with some rain. The chalet, really an "A" frame, was clean. One annoying issue, the plumbing was installed backwards. I turned the right tap and waited unsuccessfully for hot water, both kitchen and bathroom, though shower was correctly done, red on right= hot. The couch looks like it came from a thrift store. At 6'2" i had my knees up to my chin when i sat in it. The cold breakfast worked for us, we were actually surprised at the quality. And due to what seemed like 9o% of the guests being Japanese, you can even use chopsticks to eat your scrambled egg, as amusing as that was to watch. Internet is$5 for 60 consecutive minutes, rather for a 60 minute block of time usable within 24hrs which would be fairer. Yes it is expensive but 6am one morning i sat on the chalet 'porch' with a cup of coffee and watched the mountains awaken..in a perfectly clear blue sky... Priceless
I ticked fitness below, everywhere you go is going to involve an uphill and downhill experience.
Btw there are other accommodation choices within the village

Room Tip: Chalet 8 or 9 have views of Mt Cook from within the rooms themselves. Do NOT ask hotel staff advice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blind River, Canada
Level Contributor
245 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

What a lovely drive to get here, and we were not disappointed in the hotel. We had a mountain view with balcony. Unfortunately it was too cold to enjoy the balcony, but we turned the easy chairs around and sat inside with coffee and enjoyed the view. Having checked the menus, and finding the prices rather steep, we headed into the village and ate at a restaurant there. We had been prepared for an expensive breakfast and brought croissants with us so we were fine there. On our hike the next day we were prepared with energy bars for snacks. Typical mountain weather however and partway into our hike it started raining and the wind really picked up. We persevered and arrived back at the hotel wet through despite raincoats. A nice hot shower fixed us right up. That night we had sausage rolls we had picked up earlier out of the freezer in the gift shop of the hotel plus something for dessert and that did us fine.There is a frig in the room, so I would suggest to people who are on a budget to stop along the way there and pick up some basic groceries and sandwich items.

Room Tip: Try for a mountain view room with a balcony in the main hotel. This way it is easy to see over the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellover795943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I'm not really sure what to say about The Hermitage.... Our first impressions were good. The man on the concierge desk was polite and professional. We stayed in a studio room with mountain views. The room was clean, had the basic amenities and lovely views overlooking the mountains. However the disappointment began to set in the first morning of our stay (which was my birthday I might add) when we awoke to find that we had no running water in our room. We went back to bed, hoping the problem would be fixed soon and an hour later, the water was back on but there was still only luke warm for our showers. We thought we'd pop the TV on for a while, whilst we got ourselves ready for breakfast, however when we switched the TV on, we were greeted with an extremely loud, high pitched buzzing nose and broken picture, which didn't stop when you switched the off button! The TV malfunction continued on intermittently throughout our three day stay and we overheard another guest reporting to hotel staff that theirs had been the same but the staff didn't seem bothered by this or offer him any apologies so we didn't bother to report ours as the staff clearly didn't care. On our way to breakfast, we stopped at the information desk to enquire about having some sandwiches made up for a picnic lunch, as we were hoping to head out on a four hour hike. The attendant at the desk gave us a puzzled look when we asked after picnic food, to the extent that we almost felt like we were speaking a different language. She did offer to make an enquiry and after phoning through to the restaurant, advised us that we could have some sandwiches packed up for us to take out, however there would be a FOUR HOUR wait!! We couldn't believe it!! Four hours for a couple of sandwiches is unheard of! The information in our hotel had advised that during peak season, there could be a wait of up to two hours for picnic food, which we thought was ridiculous enough, however were prepared for. Four hours during off season when the restaurant was really quiet was just unacceptable! We realise that it is in a remote location so were prepared to accommodate this to an extent but FOUR HOURS for two sandwiches! So we went for a short walk to the Old Mountaineers cafe for our breakfast and they advised that they'd make us up a picnic with only a ten minute wait. Thank goodness they were prepared to be helpful and stop us from going hungry! It's a real shame that the Hermitage doesn't live up to it's potential.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We did an overnight stay here.
The location is great, right in the midst of the mountains. Unfortunately we didn't see Mt Cook at all during our stay, as the rain and clouds obscured the view. In the morning however we woke up to snow which was great. Nice drive in also a bonus.
Our room was quite nice, warm, clean and comfortable, and I'm sure there's normally a great view of Mt Cook!
The hotel itself has a monopoly on Mt Cook village, and as a result prices are high. We avoided the buffet due to the prices and based on other reviews, and went over to the Old Moutaineer Cafe for dinner which was great. There is no free WIFI here and they charge a large fee to access this.
At the end of the day you stay at this hotel primarily based on its location, although I think so more inclusions are needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinotNoir_F1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

stayed here 1 night in october hotel is clean and staff are friendly but hotel is soul less and caters for bus tours arrived late and ate from buffet menu which had some good points and also some bad points $62 dollars each was to expensive and some things had been standing a long time and were chewy to say the least, also we sat in the large lounge after eating and the barman asked if we would like another drink to which my wife replied not at that moment , to which he promptly pulled the shutters down time 9.40pm and icing on the cake asked if free wifi but had to pay $15 dollars when even the smallest coffee shop gives free wifi

Room Tip: stay in lake tekapo and travel up to do any activities once you get to the hermitage you are isolate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanfyfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H, General Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Alan

many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent visit. It would be fair to say that a large proportion of or guests are groups from various countries, but that is normal for all tourist hotels.

we are somewhat isolated which is one of the attractions in coming to The Hermitage. I am sorry that you feel that our buffet price is high but as you may realise that being in a pristine National Park has its challenges. not only do we have to accommodate all of or employees we also have to pay a six figure sum to the government Department that oversees the park and everything is freighted in and all of our rubbish is freighted out. - such expenses as these have to be recouped in some form.

Internet charges to the hotel are also high due to the location and cost of the line, all additional expenses for this hotel which are somewhat different to operating in a City. Notwithstanding these unique expenses it is really worth coming to this special place and being so close to the Mountains and Glaciers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
24.6 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
24.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
24.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.4 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Property: The Hermitage Hotel
Address: 89 Terrace Road | Alpine Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, The Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD and Argo Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Mt Cook Village
Hermitage New Zealand
The Hermitage Hotel New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing