We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Retreat On Mount Cook!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hermitage Hotel
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lovely Retreat On Mount Cook!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed at the Chalets instead of main building as we were a party of 3 and the online booking for the main hotel kept saying that they could not accept a party of 2 adults and 1 child (only 2 pax max) - was initially concerned as the chalets were down the road from the main building but we had no regrets at all - a blessing in disguise in fact as it proved to be a really cosy retreat - also right next door to the Mountaineer's Cafe if you wanted an alternative to hotel food.

The Chalets had ample parking, simple and charming inside, there was good heating, deliciously warm electric blankets for the cooler nights and a decent internet connection which unfortunately was paid (not free). Phone lines in the chalet were slightly faulty and sounded like there was a crossed line all the time and the Manuka toiletries (shampoo, conditioner and had wash) had a very unusual unappealing smell that we did not enjoy. But other than that - the kitchen was very equipped for cooking a meal if you wanted one and the accommodations and facilities on the whole went beyond my expectations.

Highly recommend booking the Star Gazing experience at the Edmund Hilary's Centre connected to the Hotel. Also do book the Glacier's Explorer Tour - I rate that the best experience of our visit that. A bit pricey but a really unusual opportunity to see the glacier's up close!

Mount Cook Village is rather short of choice on places to eat. The main Hotel has three restaurants - Panorama, the main buffet restaurant and a casual cafe that is part of the Edmund Hilary Centre. Then around the village is the Back Packers Cafe and the Moutaineer's Cafe. Both decent but close by 8pm so be sure that you are done with dinner by then.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear SimplyFabulicious

Thank you for staying with us at the Hermitage Hotel. We really appreciate your full score given and we are extremely happy to know that the service and facilities have made your stay a great one. I am also pleased you experienced our chalet accommodation, yes it is very close to the hotel and they give you more options regarding dining or cooking yourself, perfect for a family of three.
Our activities are always a big hit with the guests and provide a rare chance to experience new things and the Sir Edmund centre has a great museum and movies showing the history of the area.
Once again thank you for the positive feedback and hope to see you again in the Cook.


Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    687
    410
    142
    60
See reviews for
371
1,121
75
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
250 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

OK so here is the bottom. Resort located with a great view of snow capped peaks including Mt Cook. Select peaks (not necessarily Mt Cook) viewable from many rooms. Rooms are comfortable but nothing special and the bathroom is one person at a time. Restaurant is buffet style. Breakfast is adequate but dinner is poor. Salad bar and dessert bar are good but main course is poor. Ran out of lamb dish by 7:00 pm - the country has 35 million sheep so how does that happen? Beef was over cooked. Side dishes very ordinary. The bar has and adequate selection of wine and beer and offers great views of the mountains through Hugh windows. Resort contains the Edmund Hillary museum but entry fee is a bit high. Plan at least two days so you have time for a couple walk about and to see films on the museum.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rvstraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Rvstraz

Thank you for choosing the Hermitage Hotel for your recent visit to Mt Cook.

I have investigated your issue with the buffet and the Executive Chef remembers speaking to you, apologizing for the delay in the lamb. Yes unfortunately we under estimated, as there was a large number of guest walking in without reservations (fact just over a 100 extra) and the amount consumed more than normal portioning. We typically prepare around 20-25% extra on top of reservations, as we try and keep items as fresh as possible unfortunately the large number of guests caused the delay in fresh lamb coming out. So please accept my apology for the delay and be assured we have worked on a plan to help solve this issue in the future.

Thanks you for your understanding and hope you had a great trip in New Zealand.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manger
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Having stayed at many national park lodges in North America with their warm wood interiors and cozy hearths, I was looking forward to a similar experience at the Hermitage. But with its industrial scale and harsh corporate decor, the hotel has all the charm of an airport terminal -- somewhere you hope to pass through with minimal discomfort, but certainly not a place where you would want to linger longer than necessary.

Blessed with a captive audience of park visitors who have nowhere else to stay, the Hermitage exploits its monopoly to the max, charging 4-5 star rates for 2.5-3 star rooms. And though the service here is uniformly gracious, after shelling out big bucks for my stay, I was very sadly underwhelmed by this charmless, even soulless, property.

The chalets in particular seem to have been almost sadistically designed. Though they sit at the foot of some of New Zealand's most glorious mountains, all but 3 lack mountain views and most have no view at all due to their nearly windowless design and abysmal siting.

Though the Hermitage leaves a lot to be desired, staying there still has its distinct advantages as this location is truly special. To offset the negative vibe, do yourself a favor and avoid the hotel restaurant in favor of the Old Mountaineers Cafe, just a few steps away through the Hermitage parking lot (reception will loan umbrellas if needed). The food there is delicious and the intimacy of dinner by its warm fire is the perfect antidote to the Hermitage's cold ambiance.

Room Tip: The chalets, though not badly appointed, have very small windows. Only 3 chalets have any view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Overhear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Overhear.
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on trip advisor. I do sincerely apologise for our facilities not being to your expectations and the decor not to your liking, we have some plans in the pipeline and I hope that it will renew the future feel of the property.
I am disappointed that you felt that the hotel has no soul as the software, our staff; their friendliness and helpfulness has always been one of our great assets, a common feedback from guests. So hopefully with some new décor and our already great team we would rectify the feelings you experienced during your stay for our future guests.
Built in the early 70's the A frame chalets are self-contained units with three beds and kitchenette all in an open plan designed, unfortunately due to this shape it is difficult to have large windows, unlike our hotel rooms, motels and restaurants. But there is lookout points above the chalets were many guests use for photos.
Hopefully overall you did have a great trip in New Zealand and thanks for your comments and some focus areas for us to address.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiscasset, Maine, USA
Level Contributor
256 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This amazing place is worth the visit and stay. The staff were excellent, and the accommodations were superb. The price was also stratispheric. We were fortunate as the weather cooperated, and Mt. Cook was visible for most of our visit.
Food was excellent. We had the buffet dinner and were delighted, but shocked by the price again.
As a PAYING guest, I was disappointed that the Hillary Museum display closed just after we arrived, and again, the entry fee was exorbitant.
Our evening was lovely, but despite the brochure claiming that the night star viewing was exceptional, two un-shrouded high intensity lamps in the utility area, and the Treckers house were so bright as to cast shadows in our room, and spoil the celestial spectacular.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanRafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear SeanRafter.

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your recent stay with us at the Hermitage Hotel, Aoraki Mt Cook. I am happy the weather was great and you were able enjoy the fantastic views and am delighted that the accommodation and our staff were up to or exceeded your expectations. Our buffets in the Alpine restaurant is one of the highlights of staying at Mt Cook as we often receive excellent reviews on it, we work with our suppliers to ensure produce is fresh, meats are brought in chilled, not frozen and seafood like our mussels are received alive and all carted up on regular bases, unfortunately this philosophy does come at a cost for us. As mentioned your comments are valuable and we do continually look into options of reducing the freight charges.
I have discussed with our activities team on your star gazing experience and we will defiantly look into our set ups.

Once again thank you and have a great day

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Location is magic, the view of Mt Cook would be good.
We where talked into an upgrade to the top floor on arrival , we thought apart from free wifi we would get a nice bottle of wine in with the cost , but No nothing.
The food in the Cafe is awful, we booked the Panorama for dinner , food great , the price for food and wine is expensive. We had no options, the Hotel can charge what they want.
The rooms dated and not worth the price.
My advice would would not to stay here , drive in from Twizel .

Room Tip: Top floor if you can afford it, but really how many days in the year is Mt Cook visible?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne2578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Anne2578

Thank you for posting your feedback on line, we appreciate your comments and I sincerely regret that you were not satisfied with your recent stay.
I must agree the location is magic and our isolation sets the theme as you approach the Cook, unfortunately the weather over the past week has been poor so the mountain view are not been so clear. In fact it is due to this mentioned isolation that charges in some areas are slightly higher as being in a national park we have several major costs not experienced by city hotels from Government charges to daily freighting of products and staff housing to name a few.
Our upgrades of rooms are based more on room type, location and view, but thank you it is something for us to consider moving forward, as we are presently working on cheaper options for our Wifi services (again isolation).
I am happy that you had a great meal in the Panorama room as our new Executive Chef has recently changed the menu and the café menus are in the process so any issue that you had will soon be alleviated.
We hope to have an opportunity to restore your faith in our value and welcome you back to the Hermitage Mount cook in the future.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the chalet and the pictures on the website made it seem a lot nicer than it was. For the price we paid I expected more. It was clean and the staff was nice and friendly. I guess being the only game in town they can charge a lot and get away with it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Annpdx

We appreciate the time you have taken in giving us feedback on trip advisor. I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations in your recent stay with us. Regarding our charges at the hotel, it is more of a reflection of the high costs that we incur due to our isolated location, the major influencer being the six figure concessions to the government for being with in boundaries of the national park, that plus our daily costs does impact both us as well as the consumer. .
Thank you for the comments on the cleanness of the chalets as the housekeeping team work hard to maintain our standards and keep as close as we can to the website photo. The Chalets where first built in the 1970’s and we endeavour to continually upgrade this area with renovations and refurbishments since its inception, defiantly I will now look in to how we can take the next step in refurbishment.
I hope that thou you felt the prices were inflated you had an overall a great holiday in Mt cook and New Zealand.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Well the cloud was down when we arrived and it semi lifted as we left! This didn't spoil our stay at the Hermitage. The staff were out standing.The buffet Dinner and breakfast were exceptional value we will be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sassysalnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney Y, Manager at The Hermitage Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear sassysalnz.

Thank you for choosing the Hermitage hotel, Aoraki Mt Cook for your recent stay. We are truly delighted know that you enjoyed your experience and we are especially happy to hear your praise of our staff and restaurants, as we focus heavily on being great hosts. Your comments will be shared with our team as your satisfaction is the best encouragement for us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future visit to the Cook, please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your future stay more memorable.

Rodney Young
Executive Assistant Manager
The Hermitage Hotel
Aoraki Mt Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mt. Cook Village
24.6 mi away
Aspen Court Franz Josef
Aspen Court Franz Josef
#1 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
24.4 mi away
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
Te Waonui Forest Retreat
#3 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
24.4 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 13 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Scenic Hotel Franz Josef Glacier Hotel
0.4 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
0.4 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hermitage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hermitage Hotel

Property: The Hermitage Hotel
Address: 89 Terrace Road | Alpine Village, Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) 7999, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu) > Mt. Cook Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mt. Cook Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Hermitage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From an intrepid journey through glacial valleys to a mouth-watering culinary dining adventure, The Hermitage Hotel is the perfect 'base camp' to discover your Peak Experience. Choose from premium hotel rooms, motel units or cozy chalets. Add world-class activities such as Glacier Explorers, Tasman Valley 4WD and Argo Tours, Big Sky Stargazing, Encounter Day Walks, scenic flights or the visual extravaganza of the Sir Edmund Hillary Alpine Centre and you have a unique, year-round alpine adventure perfect for the family holiday or your next romantic getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Hermitage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Hotel Mt Cook Village
Hermitage New Zealand
The Hermitage Hotel New Zealand/Mt. Cook Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing